Get Behind Me Satan

  • Record Label: V2 / XL
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 273

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    The White Stripes, like The Strokes are a band who can completely change their sound for one record and it will be just as good as their other work. It's a strangely relaxing album and is a breath of fresh air from 21st century ****
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    While the White Stripes are certainly not the most innovative rock band in history, they are still heads-and-shoulders above almost every other rock band from the last decade or so. While many of us have shared the thought that rock has died, this band has added an asterisk to the end of that thought. Red Rain, Blue Orchid, and Doorbell alone make this album worth a listen.
  3. davo
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    First of all, what the hell does that New York Times quote mean??? This album is very good, but contains no magical properties capable of changing previous albums you have listened to. Jack White has more control over his vocals and Meg continues to be able to hit the drum in a steady rythem. The production is slightly different. That's about it. This isn't their best album, but First of all, what the hell does that New York Times quote mean??? This album is very good, but contains no magical properties capable of changing previous albums you have listened to. Jack White has more control over his vocals and Meg continues to be able to hit the drum in a steady rythem. The production is slightly different. That's about it. This isn't their best album, but it's still a great album. Red Rain is going to truly rock when played live and Denial, Instinct and Take Take Take are some of Jack White's best songs. If you are prepared to listen to the album a couple of times before making your judgement of it or if you like previous White Stripes albums this album is recommended. Expand
  4. ShaunT
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable... like "let it bleed" era Stones with some bluegrass thrown in. Great stuff
  5. ShawnG
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    Probably more like an 8.5. I have to agree with what was said previously about most people who are thrown by this being people who think "Elephant" was all Jack and Meg's previous repertoire. That's not to say there aren't flaws in the album. Some of the material does seem 'too' rushed. Some of the songs weren't even finished when they went into the studio, Probably more like an 8.5. I have to agree with what was said previously about most people who are thrown by this being people who think "Elephant" was all Jack and Meg's previous repertoire. That's not to say there aren't flaws in the album. Some of the material does seem 'too' rushed. Some of the songs weren't even finished when they went into the studio, and one can sense that in a way that wasn't possible in the previous efforts. That said, a good White Stripes album (and this is) is still better than most bands could 'dream' of making. And I think a lot of the reviews publications are making are the long-expected backlash. The opening four tracks are some of the most dizzying and delightful bits of genre-hopping in rock since, well... De Stijl, which this compares more closely with in their catalog than anything else. Is it their best effort? No. But it's intriguing and enjoyable...a very good effort, by any mortal band's standards. Expand
  6. pauld
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    it's what the core of their fans wanted to hear. never before a band was left so untouched by the overwhelming hype. great art.
  7. Gazza
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    All you reviewers out there SHUT IT!! This is a stunning piece of raw Rock and Roll, and can easily be spoken of in the same breath as Exile on Main Street. Buy it, & remember how you felt when you first heard these tortured vocals. And who cares if Meg can't sing.. She's a goddess.
  8. StephenG
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    To me, this is without a doubt the best white stripes album to date-I felt their previous albums were good, although a bit overrated-they just seemed to lack a consistency from the first song to last that made it hard to listen all the way through more than once-luckily, GBMS does not suffer from this problem. Excellent album.
  9. MikaT
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Greetings from Finland. I just have to say that I love it! There are a lot of great songs there. Like the previous albums I felt the more you listen this the more you love it. So don't throw this away after the first listen if you didn't like it ;)
  10. Josh
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Like most Stripes fans, this album caught me off guard and I was a little dissappointed at first. But, like so many are saying, if you keep listening to it for what it is, not what you expect, it's a really unique and cool record. People who enjoyed their garage rock sound the most will be dissapointed, as this album bares very little resemblence to their earlier work, but I think Like most Stripes fans, this album caught me off guard and I was a little dissappointed at first. But, like so many are saying, if you keep listening to it for what it is, not what you expect, it's a really unique and cool record. People who enjoyed their garage rock sound the most will be dissapointed, as this album bares very little resemblence to their earlier work, but I think most people can agree that what you'll find is very interesting, if nothing else. Expand
  11. AndreiC
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This album made me so happy when i heard it just because it's so perfect. It has everything just like previous albums, especially Elephant. Blue orchid is an awsome new 7NA, instinct blues is great just like my doorbell... everything sounds excellent and different... and the lyrics are poetry.
  12. IanR
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    This is a really eclectic, experimental, and all around different album for the White Stripes... but even so, it's definitely a White Stripes album, and it rocks hard, even when it plays it cool.
  13. EricaG
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    I love the White Stripes, and I think there are several great songs on this cd!! There are also a few I can't stand, but I feel the good songs on this cd are better than the good songs on the other cds. So it sort of balances out, I can live with the bad songs because the good ones are so worth it!
  14. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    8
    First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some stuff misses, meaning this is not the best album of the year. Sleater-Kinney the Woods retains that title for now. If you want something safe and predictable, go back to Dave Mathews. Expand
  15. RogH
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    The first track is misleading because you think you're in for a rough, hard riff ride...but in fact, its one of the more diverse albums I've heard in years. Jack really shows his Stripes on this album...
  16. KeseyT
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous guitar riffs, the album as a whole shines with the confidence and inginuity of a musical legend. I can't see the Stripes staying on top commercially with too many more of these relative (to other bands, of course) concept albums, but I for one am willing to eat up anything they're willing to dish out from this point on. Expand
  17. LennonM
    Jun 10, 2005
    7
    Definitely a different sound, but anyone who's listened to the White Stripes realizes this, well unles your one of those idiots who thinks the White Stripes are all about Elephant. As usual Jack changed up the sound, just can't say I really was too impressed. None the less, it's a good album. Give it a 7.
  18. LB
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    Pretty decent album. It will catch you off guard. I didn't think it was that good on first listen and was disappointed by the lack of guitars but, after a few listens, I can tell you that most of the songs are pretty good (Blue Orchid, My Doorbell, Take Take Take, Red Rain and so on). However, some songs are lacking that extra something to put them over the top.
  19. Nikkis
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This cd proves that Jack White is honestly a genius, he never fails to please and excite his fans. His lyrics and his wide range of instrument use is completely unexpected and suprisingly brilliant, and Meg has proven to compliment Jack perfectly. Never underestimate the stripes ever!
  20. KellyW
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    An amazing record that is, quite simply, the best album of the year.
  21. RichardH
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    The best thing i can say about this album is it isnt Elephant 2. Jack White is smart to know you cant top perfection but you can go around it.
  22. MaggieC
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This album is AWESOME! Very different but listen through a couple times and it will blow your mind, as good as Elephant.
  23. Sam
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Probably their best album. Probably polarising (as the comments seem to indicate) but it's an incredible listen. It's reminiscent to me of the great mid-period Stones albums (Beggar's Banquet, Let It Bleed, Sticky Fingers) in mood and style. My favourite album so far this year.
  24. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Jumpin' Jericho Jehosafarts! This record towers over everything released this year. A giant leap forward! Thank Allah for this band. They are rocks true torch bearers. Everyone else in the music biz should just retire now! It
  25. Morgan
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    Doesn't quite deliver the White Stripes' customary knock-out a-side (though it comes close with songs like "My Doorbell" and "Little Ghost"), but then it doesn't slack off as much as some of their earlier albums do on the b-side either. A few tossed-off lyrics aside, hearing this album for the first time is just as exhilarating as first hearing "Elepant" or "The White Stripes."
  26. JonH
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    This album is on another planet from all previous White Stripes albums. The piano-laden ballads almost have an Elliott Smith feel, while the rockers are more rocking than ever. The title track is possibly the band's finest song. The lyrics are also pointier and better crafted than on previous albums. Easily one of the top 5 albums of the year.
  27. LarryW
    Jun 24, 2005
    9
    I thought this puppy blew chunks for the first few days. Then I spent a solid week listening to the previous WS fare, came back to it, and was really blown away.
  28. RickyP
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    I don't understand how anyone could say that this was a step back or that it was undercooked or that it was raw and unprocessed and...all of that is ridiculous. Throughout the album I kept thinking how much the off kilter instrumentation and slightly better production value seemed to fit the White Stripes. I would have liked MORE of it, in fact, but that doesn't mean it I don't understand how anyone could say that this was a step back or that it was undercooked or that it was raw and unprocessed and...all of that is ridiculous. Throughout the album I kept thinking how much the off kilter instrumentation and slightly better production value seemed to fit the White Stripes. I would have liked MORE of it, in fact, but that doesn't mean it isn't there. They keep the energy at a simmer for most of the album and let loose on you at just the right moments (with admittedly a few exceptions, where they could have done a bit more). I don't think some of those reviewers are listening to the same album I am. Expand
  29. Judes
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Simply brilliant and stunning album. The fact that it is not at all moments engaging is honestly what makes it compelling. Lyrically, it's brilliant. Will stand the test of time well, an off the mark classic. Jack White leaves his mark boldly on this collection of songs as I believe he truly wants to, as not just a musician but as an unusually gifted songwriter and visionary. The Simply brilliant and stunning album. The fact that it is not at all moments engaging is honestly what makes it compelling. Lyrically, it's brilliant. Will stand the test of time well, an off the mark classic. Jack White leaves his mark boldly on this collection of songs as I believe he truly wants to, as not just a musician but as an unusually gifted songwriter and visionary. The Marimba on a Stripes record...who would have thought it? Yet it works, it REALLY works. This is THE record that will still be resonating months from now. "My Doorbell" is slated for the next single. Could easily be their biggest hit to date. Highlights after first few listens: The Nurse, My Doorbell, Red Rain, As Ugly As I Seem. I can't get over how breathtaking this album as a whole actually is... Expand
  30. aaronr
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    I hope every "fan" hates this album. get rid of em, the direction is not shocking (listen to cold mountain soundtrack, and to van lear rose), it is perfect. soul never sounded so good.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. The New York Times
    100
    It's an album so strong and so unexpected that it may change the way people hear all its predecessors. And that's just a start. Listen long enough, and this album might change the way you hear lots of other bands, too.
  2. A very strange album, which shreds the old White Stripes rulebook (no bass, just guitar and drums) and pushes into territories way beyond the blues and rock of their previous four records.
  3. A sidestep that’s as easy to admire as it is hard to love.