• Record Label: V2 / XL
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 260

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    The White Stripes, like The Strokes are a band who can completely change their sound for one record and it will be just as good as their other work. It's a strangely relaxing album and is a breath of fresh air from 21st century ****
  2. BillyB
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ 5th... and so on) As a musician, this annoys me. A band that's critically acclaimed and has no talent. Unfortunately, most bands are like that today... Expand
  3. JohnR
    Dec 25, 2006
    3
    Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - add the drummer & they're ruined. Please, someone give her a different instrument & let the band evolve. Attractive she is, a drummer she isn't. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    While the White Stripes are certainly not the most innovative rock band in history, they are still heads-and-shoulders above almost every other rock band from the last decade or so. While many of us have shared the thought that rock has died, this band has added an asterisk to the end of that thought. Red Rain, Blue Orchid, and Doorbell alone make this album worth a listen.
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    5
    Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that.Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that. All In All, I love that they're trying new sounds, but The White Stripes need to stick to their basics. C Expand
  6. JimmyS
    Jun 30, 2005
    3
    Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, at which point I was struggling. Having listened to the album twice, and for the first time in my life with any album, I can't struggle a third. Can't believe this rubbish is getting 4/5 stars in most reviews I read! People are gone insane! Expand
  7. davo
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    First of all, what the hell does that New York Times quote mean??? This album is very good, but contains no magical properties capable of changing previous albums you have listened to. Jack White has more control over his vocals and Meg continues to be able to hit the drum in a steady rythem. The production is slightly different. That's about it. This isn't their best album, but First of all, what the hell does that New York Times quote mean??? This album is very good, but contains no magical properties capable of changing previous albums you have listened to. Jack White has more control over his vocals and Meg continues to be able to hit the drum in a steady rythem. The production is slightly different. That's about it. This isn't their best album, but it's still a great album. Red Rain is going to truly rock when played live and Denial, Instinct and Take Take Take are some of Jack White's best songs. If you are prepared to listen to the album a couple of times before making your judgement of it or if you like previous White Stripes albums this album is recommended. Expand
  8. ShaunT
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable... like "let it bleed" era Stones with some bluegrass thrown in. Great stuff
  9. ShawnG
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    Probably more like an 8.5. I have to agree with what was said previously about most people who are thrown by this being people who think "Elephant" was all Jack and Meg's previous repertoire. That's not to say there aren't flaws in the album. Some of the material does seem 'too' rushed. Some of the songs weren't even finished when they went into the studio, Probably more like an 8.5. I have to agree with what was said previously about most people who are thrown by this being people who think "Elephant" was all Jack and Meg's previous repertoire. That's not to say there aren't flaws in the album. Some of the material does seem 'too' rushed. Some of the songs weren't even finished when they went into the studio, and one can sense that in a way that wasn't possible in the previous efforts. That said, a good White Stripes album (and this is) is still better than most bands could 'dream' of making. And I think a lot of the reviews publications are making are the long-expected backlash. The opening four tracks are some of the most dizzying and delightful bits of genre-hopping in rock since, well... De Stijl, which this compares more closely with in their catalog than anything else. Is it their best effort? No. But it's intriguing and enjoyable...a very good effort, by any mortal band's standards. Expand
  10. pauld
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    it's what the core of their fans wanted to hear. never before a band was left so untouched by the overwhelming hype. great art.
  11. Gazza
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    All you reviewers out there SHUT IT!! This is a stunning piece of raw Rock and Roll, and can easily be spoken of in the same breath as Exile on Main Street. Buy it, & remember how you felt when you first heard these tortured vocals. And who cares if Meg can't sing.. She's a goddess.
  12. StephenG
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    To me, this is without a doubt the best white stripes album to date-I felt their previous albums were good, although a bit overrated-they just seemed to lack a consistency from the first song to last that made it hard to listen all the way through more than once-luckily, GBMS does not suffer from this problem. Excellent album.
  13. EricG
    Jun 10, 2005
    3
    is this a tribute to ledzepplin?
  14. markw
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I wouldn't even waste the bandwidth if I were you... Expand
  15. MikaT
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Greetings from Finland. I just have to say that I love it! There are a lot of great songs there. Like the previous albums I felt the more you listen this the more you love it. So don't throw this away after the first listen if you didn't like it ;)
  16. Josh
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Like most Stripes fans, this album caught me off guard and I was a little dissappointed at first. But, like so many are saying, if you keep listening to it for what it is, not what you expect, it's a really unique and cool record. People who enjoyed their garage rock sound the most will be dissapointed, as this album bares very little resemblence to their earlier work, but I think Like most Stripes fans, this album caught me off guard and I was a little dissappointed at first. But, like so many are saying, if you keep listening to it for what it is, not what you expect, it's a really unique and cool record. People who enjoyed their garage rock sound the most will be dissapointed, as this album bares very little resemblence to their earlier work, but I think most people can agree that what you'll find is very interesting, if nothing else. Expand
  17. AndreiC
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This album made me so happy when i heard it just because it's so perfect. It has everything just like previous albums, especially Elephant. Blue orchid is an awsome new 7NA, instinct blues is great just like my doorbell... everything sounds excellent and different... and the lyrics are poetry.
  18. IanR
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    This is a really eclectic, experimental, and all around different album for the White Stripes... but even so, it's definitely a White Stripes album, and it rocks hard, even when it plays it cool.
  19. sumsh
    Jun 7, 2005
    2
    By far, the WORST White Stripes album.
  20. tibszero
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    I only gave this album a 4 in the hopes that it will grow on me otherwise it seems more like a 2. I adore the White Stripes but sadly I think this will be just an embarrassing side note in their career.
  21. EricaG
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    I love the White Stripes, and I think there are several great songs on this cd!! There are also a few I can't stand, but I feel the good songs on this cd are better than the good songs on the other cds. So it sort of balances out, I can live with the bad songs because the good ones are so worth it!
  22. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    8
    First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some stuff misses, meaning this is not the best album of the year. Sleater-Kinney the Woods retains that title for now. If you want something safe and predictable, go back to Dave Mathews. Expand
  23. RogH
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    The first track is misleading because you think you're in for a rough, hard riff ride...but in fact, its one of the more diverse albums I've heard in years. Jack really shows his Stripes on this album...
  24. KeseyT
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous guitar riffs, the album as a whole shines with the confidence and inginuity of a musical legend. I can't see the Stripes staying on top commercially with too many more of these relative (to other bands, of course) concept albums, but I for one am willing to eat up anything they're willing to dish out from this point on. Expand
  25. LennonM
    Jun 10, 2005
    7
    Definitely a different sound, but anyone who's listened to the White Stripes realizes this, well unles your one of those idiots who thinks the White Stripes are all about Elephant. As usual Jack changed up the sound, just can't say I really was too impressed. None the less, it's a good album. Give it a 7.
  26. LB
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    Pretty decent album. It will catch you off guard. I didn't think it was that good on first listen and was disappointed by the lack of guitars but, after a few listens, I can tell you that most of the songs are pretty good (Blue Orchid, My Doorbell, Take Take Take, Red Rain and so on). However, some songs are lacking that extra something to put them over the top.
  27. Nikkis
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This cd proves that Jack White is honestly a genius, he never fails to please and excite his fans. His lyrics and his wide range of instrument use is completely unexpected and suprisingly brilliant, and Meg has proven to compliment Jack perfectly. Never underestimate the stripes ever!
  28. KellyW
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    An amazing record that is, quite simply, the best album of the year.
  29. RichardH
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    The best thing i can say about this album is it isnt Elephant 2. Jack White is smart to know you cant top perfection but you can go around it.
  30. cjmarke
    Jun 12, 2005
    3
    Really like the band, waited patiently for this album, feel let down. It just isn''t as listeneable as the past two records.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. It's an album so strong and so unexpected that it may change the way people hear all its predecessors. And that's just a start. Listen long enough, and this album might change the way you hear lots of other bands, too.
  2. A very strange album, which shreds the old White Stripes rulebook (no bass, just guitar and drums) and pushes into territories way beyond the blues and rock of their previous four records.
  3. A sidestep that’s as easy to admire as it is hard to love.