• Record Label: V2 / XL
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 260

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2014
    5
    The White Stripes have a style and sound that I've never understood. Is it just me, or do lyrics like "And all the chickens get it, and them singing canaries get it, woo, oh, woo, now even strawberries get it, I want you to get with it, yeah, yeah, I want you to get with it, oh, yeah, I want you to get with it," sound a teeny bit childish and stupid? It's not bad, and there are a handfulThe White Stripes have a style and sound that I've never understood. Is it just me, or do lyrics like "And all the chickens get it, and them singing canaries get it, woo, oh, woo, now even strawberries get it, I want you to get with it, yeah, yeah, I want you to get with it, oh, yeah, I want you to get with it," sound a teeny bit childish and stupid? It's not bad, and there are a handful of good tracks, but gosh, this White Stripes thing is way overhyped. Expand
  2. May 31, 2014
    5
    A few good songs on it but I just didn't care for a majority of this album. Didn't click with me as well as their other work. It's bound to happen I guess.
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Really strong follow up to their mulitple hit spawning Elephant record. This album see's the White Stripes try some new tricks, being experimental while at the same time retaining their blues rock core. Although it doesn't have as many catchy numbers as it's predecessors and it may not always be as consistent as we're used to hearing from them, it's got some of their finest moments on it.Really strong follow up to their mulitple hit spawning Elephant record. This album see's the White Stripes try some new tricks, being experimental while at the same time retaining their blues rock core. Although it doesn't have as many catchy numbers as it's predecessors and it may not always be as consistent as we're used to hearing from them, it's got some of their finest moments on it. Red Rain, Take Take Take, Blue Orchid and The Denial Twist would all walk onto any rock album out there. To compliment those tracks you've got the more peculiar ones like The Nurse and Little Ghost. Much better than it's follow up Icky Thump. Collapse
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Very nicely done! I just adore The White Stripes. Jack White is so amazing, and the songs on this album just do not disappoint. It was very sad to see them break up, but I'm glad that we still have albums like this around.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    6
    There is a reason why in 2005 The White Stripes received a Grammy nomination for Best Pop Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group instead of Best Rock Vocal Performance or Best Rock Song. The opening Blue Orchid may not suggest it but Get Behind Me Satan is the bandâ
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    The White Stripes, like The Strokes are a band who can completely change their sound for one record and it will be just as good as their other work. It's a strangely relaxing album and is a breath of fresh air from 21st century ****
  7. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    7
    An average follow-up to their classic album Elephant. It's like they're trying to pull a Kid A on us and it nearly works. Some of their best songs to date are a product of the record, which include Blue Orchard, Denial Twist, and My Doorbell.
  8. Jan 29, 2011
    5
    Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that.Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that. All In All, I love that they're trying new sounds, but The White Stripes need to stick to their basics. C Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    While the White Stripes are certainly not the most innovative rock band in history, they are still heads-and-shoulders above almost every other rock band from the last decade or so. While many of us have shared the thought that rock has died, this band has added an asterisk to the end of that thought. Red Rain, Blue Orchid, and Doorbell alone make this album worth a listen.
  10. Oligami
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    A stratospheric achievement.
  11. jordanbond
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    This CD is amazing. It has influenced me so much. I keep listening to it again and again. Forever For Her is an superb song, as well as Take, Take, Take.
  12. ixata
    May 6, 2007
    9
    thisis the first album of theirs' i bought.. at first listen, the album sux big tym. but then, i tried listening to it agn in hope of findin light, and it worked! every song holds it moment. my fav track is the denial twist
  13. CaseyRDubya
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Anybody heard their new single? It's amazing. I thought they broke up. But now their better than ever. All Jack White ever does is release something new every year. That's how musicians get a good reputation. To Jack it's all about the music and this is living proof.
  14. BillyB
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ 5th... and so on) As a musician, this annoys me. A band that's critically acclaimed and has no talent. Unfortunately, most bands are like that today... Expand
  15. BenD
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    I just want to listen to it over and over.
  16. GeorgeM
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    Awesome!!
  17. JoeR
    Jan 25, 2007
    8
    as a complete album, it is solid - it adds more range, and does it well. This band is a breath of fresh air in a world of over-produced garbage. i don't know who to like more, the black keys or the white stripes. both two man operations, both incredibly bad ass...
  18. JohnR
    Dec 25, 2006
    3
    Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - add the drummer & they're ruined. Please, someone give her a different instrument & let the band evolve. Attractive she is, a drummer she isn't. Expand
  19. Mars88
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    Amazing, stunning. original. the best album of 2005. and it still baffles me that people can hate the white stripes.
  20. aa
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    the most unique, progressive and greatest album in years. the white stripes are one of the all time greats and this album is a huge and important step not only in the progression of the band but of modern music its self. a true masterpiece
  21. HomieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    this record now is classic, much better than "Elephant" The White Stripes are very talented and can plan blues, bluegrass, rock, all of those. This will definately be played on KSLX in 20 years.
  22. PaulK
    May 26, 2006
    9
    First, to all the people who dislike raw Rock and Roll, I think you're missing a huge point here. Zeppelin I was recorded in 30 hours. Spontenaiety is the the secret to creativity; you must capture it at its height. The Stripes have always done this and to call doing the blues "copying a song" you have much to learn about the tradition and reality of modern music. So while the First, to all the people who dislike raw Rock and Roll, I think you're missing a huge point here. Zeppelin I was recorded in 30 hours. Spontenaiety is the the secret to creativity; you must capture it at its height. The Stripes have always done this and to call doing the blues "copying a song" you have much to learn about the tradition and reality of modern music. So while the Strokes are in the studio for years layering guitars and working on their oh so fab image, Jack White has produced great songs in and out of the stripes. This is a modern classic and if you don't get it, smoke some weed like you did for Dark Side of the Moon-- or maybe you didnt get that either. Expand
  23. CreedB
    May 14, 2006
    10
    This album is awsome just like all the others!!!!
  24. AustinD
    Apr 23, 2006
    9
    This is a great album. There is such a broad spectrum of music on this album. From the heaver stuff like Red Rain to bluesier stuff to (Believe it or not) even a countryish song. A great album and i love it.
  25. KellyK
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I'm a little late coming into the White Stripes butI have to say that I have not enjoyed anything new in a long time but for me this is refreshing. Jack and Meg are just so talented -I can't stop listening to it. I've even been turning my friends (or anyone that will listen) onto it. This Cd is just plaine FUN.
  26. ChrisU
    Apr 14, 2006
    8
    This definitely a departure from their previous two records. Jack White is experimenting with the boundaries of his own songwriting, instead of the distortion through his amplifiers. I am a true White Stripes fan, and really loved the garage rock displayed in their self-titled album as well as De Stijl. So when I listened to this album, I didn't like it at first because I didn't This definitely a departure from their previous two records. Jack White is experimenting with the boundaries of his own songwriting, instead of the distortion through his amplifiers. I am a true White Stripes fan, and really loved the garage rock displayed in their self-titled album as well as De Stijl. So when I listened to this album, I didn't like it at first because I didn't know how to take it. Then, I listened to it again. And again. And after about the fourth spin I realized this is truly a remarkable record. Bravo to Jack White. It's obvious he said fuck all of the loud rock pretensions, and instead decided to take the White Stripes in a completely new direction. There are a couple of iffy songs here, but there are also some simplistic gems, such as "My Doorbell," "The Denial Twist," "Take, Take, Take," "I'm As Ugly As I Seem," "Red Rain," and the album's closer "I'm Lonely..." It's a breath of fresh, if unexpected, air. If you don't already have it, get this album. It will open your eyes. Expand
  27. DeeR.
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing. Each of thier albums outdoes the last. Some fans of previous records won't enjoy it, but it will gain them new ones. Jack White is a master songwriter, and has re-invented his sound for this album, highlighting some of the subtleties that may have been harder to recognize in the harder material.
  28. MattD
    Feb 26, 2006
    8
    some great new stuff on here, suprised me in a few different ways, mostly good, and while its not all gold and not the white stripe's best, in my opinion its still a solid cd
  29. DanielC
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    II just started liking this band, THIS CD IS AWESOME, you should get it if your a fan of White Stripes!!!!!
  30. WSFan
    Jan 24, 2006
    9
    This album is incredible. Jack White is so musically talented and creative that he can create such a real effect to his music. The marimbas and piano were totally unexpected and amazing. There are some low points in the album however, and that's why I give it a measly 9. The only reasons I'm giving it a 9 is the fact that White Moon sucks. It's such a boring song. And This album is incredible. Jack White is so musically talented and creative that he can create such a real effect to his music. The marimbas and piano were totally unexpected and amazing. There are some low points in the album however, and that's why I give it a measly 9. The only reasons I'm giving it a 9 is the fact that White Moon sucks. It's such a boring song. And what's up with this random piece Passive Manipulation? Meg White shouldn't be able to sing in the band. MHO. But some of the great pieces on the album (soon to be classics!) are Blue Orchid, My Doorbell, Take Take Take, I'm Lonely, and The Nurse. Those are all great tunes that any music fan would enjoy. Fantastic album with possibly the best rock duo on Earth. I cannot (Repeat CANNOT) wait for their next big thing! It's gonna be good, and every White Stripes fan will expect that after this. Expand
  31. AlexS
    Jan 1, 2006
    2
    terrible, just terrible. this cd has few, if any redeeming qualities
  32. AllisonN
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    I kind of liked this album, but not as much as the others, because it didn't rock as hard. But my mom really liked it, and she hates everything I like, so...
  33. lowrykun
    Dec 14, 2005
    7
    I hadn't really listened to the White Stripes before getting this album. The first time I listened to it I didn't really like it and didn't understand their popularity. The second time I liked it better. By the third time I went back and bought Elephant. Still - there are some tracks on this album that I really don't like. But the thing is that when the White Stripes I hadn't really listened to the White Stripes before getting this album. The first time I listened to it I didn't really like it and didn't understand their popularity. The second time I liked it better. By the third time I went back and bought Elephant. Still - there are some tracks on this album that I really don't like. But the thing is that when the White Stripes rock, they really rock. They are like a weird mix of Classic rock, Alternative Rock, and Minimalist Progressive Rock. Hard to describe. Expand
  34. lydiaF
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    a really different album. I loved the riff in blue orchid even though bule orchid didnt reallyseem to fit with the rest of the album. A real mixture of unique stuff. A really worthwhile listen
  35. KeseyT
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous guitar riffs, the album as a whole shines with the confidence and inginuity of a musical legend. I can't see the Stripes staying on top commercially with too many more of these relative (to other bands, of course) concept albums, but I for one am willing to eat up anything they're willing to dish out from this point on. Expand
  36. JamesL
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    I never was a stripes fan, primarly beause I never was exposed. After buying this, I immediately went out and bought all their previous works. All of which are almost equally moving.
  37. marshallm
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    9.3 / A- it's an amazingly different album. its definately a must listen/buy. i loved " take, take, take" and "blue orchid". great stuff.
  38. KateL
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Every song on this CD rocks my face off, except for White Moon, which is good, but not as face rocking as the rest. I pity the fool who gives this album less than a 10! Jack and Meg White are just incredible. God, I love them.
  39. JenB
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. Will be thrashing it all summer. Doorbell is standout track. They continue to evolve and surprise. Love it. Highly recommended!
  40. CarlyD
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    This Album is purely amazing, every song just goes so well together, I have never heard anything like it, and I believe thats why I love it so much.
  41. MarkS
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Contender for CD of the year. It took me awhile to fathom why "Blue Orchid" belongs with the rest of the disc, nevertheless, their sound continues to grow, and Meg does her job just fine. She's the perfect ex-wife!
  42. KevinS
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    all the critics that basically dissed the album need to go back to their paper route and learn that just because you dont like the music doesnt mean it isnt any good, white stripes havent dissapointed me at all and i myself think the white stripes are doing good with trying new things, who wants to hear all the same stuff over and over?
  43. salomey
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    great great great collection of tunes instantly make a way to your memory banks to never leave there great choice of sounds thoroughly enjoy it
  44. luciag
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    ......is a little rare but good...it's just diferent!!!
  45. ClaytonC
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    I caught the Stripes live at Red Rocks, where they succeeded in blowing me away. There is no doubting the solidarity of GBMS. Jack and Meg show off there wide range of instrumental talent.
  46. NseE
    Aug 13, 2005
    10
    The White Stripes music has always been raw, stripped down and a sparse energetic affair. `Get behind me satan' is even more sparse; guitars are largely missing from the mix, compensated for by keyboards, marimba and lots of tambourine and it does make for a major difference. As arty and experimental as ever, they dabble into rock (the stomping, racing `Blue Orchid' sung in a The White Stripes music has always been raw, stripped down and a sparse energetic affair. `Get behind me satan' is even more sparse; guitars are largely missing from the mix, compensated for by keyboards, marimba and lots of tambourine and it does make for a major difference. As arty and experimental as ever, they dabble into rock (the stomping, racing `Blue Orchid' sung in a falsetto), blues (`Instant blues'), country (The upbeat tambourine stomp `Little Ghost'), `As ugly as I seem' is an acoustic ballad, and there's even what sounds almost hymnal, `I'm lonely (But I aint that lonely yet)'. `My doorbell' and `The denial twist' are excellent upbeat piano driven rockers, and Meg takes a turn on vocals on the very brief `Passive manipulation', but prize for most outstanding song has got to be `The nurse' featuring marimbas and sudden unexpected bursts of loud guitar and change in tempo. Brilliant! As usual, like nothing else out there today, the songs take a while to grow on you but another excellent release from Jack and Meg White. Expand
  47. JuliusHemisphere
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    I wasn't convinced on GBMS until I saw them live last week. Truly powerful material.
  48. RogH
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    The first track is misleading because you think you're in for a rough, hard riff ride...but in fact, its one of the more diverse albums I've heard in years. Jack really shows his Stripes on this album...
  49. Chelsea
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    Songs that already sound strong on the album are truly amazing live. Who knew Jack was such an outstanding marimba player? How can anyone knock simplicity in the age of over produced music?
  50. sM
    Aug 7, 2005
    8
    Not quite the masterpiece that was "Elephant" but a interesting and wonderfully weird alternative to their usual sound.
  51. HaroldJ
    Jul 31, 2005
    0
    Worst Stripes album ever! I do not know what GBMS is *supposed* to be, but it is NOT a rock album. It is a horrible mess from start to finish. Blue Orchid starts the album out very poorly and the rest of the album is not much better. The White Stripes are capable of much more than GBMS. If you want to hear one of the best albums of all time, buy Elephant. GBMS is trash. Shame on Jack and Worst Stripes album ever! I do not know what GBMS is *supposed* to be, but it is NOT a rock album. It is a horrible mess from start to finish. Blue Orchid starts the album out very poorly and the rest of the album is not much better. The White Stripes are capable of much more than GBMS. If you want to hear one of the best albums of all time, buy Elephant. GBMS is trash. Shame on Jack and Meg for following up Elephant with such a garbage album. Expand
  52. bbb
    Jul 30, 2005
    6
    great musically.......but that voice....
  53. TerrenceO
    Jul 21, 2005
    7
    Often sounds unsure of its self. While its few experiments are noble they are evenly split amongst brilliant successess and brutal failures. As per usual with the White Stripes there are a number of stellar tracks, but there is also more than enough recycled sounding filler to go around... it left my regular rotation with in a week.
  54. DJS
    Jul 20, 2005
    9
    Beautifully different and challenging! A band that changes rather than repeating it's blueprint with less passion!
  55. leighs
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    an amazing album. they just get better and better!
  56. Melissano
    Jul 16, 2005
    9
    Definitely a deviation from past CDs, but still as catchy as ever :)
  57. LauraM
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    This album is great. it takes a few times to get into it completely, but when i got into it, i still havent stopped listening to it, and i got it the day or two or three after it came out from my boyfriend, and i just fell in love with it. my 29 year old brother really got into it the moment i made him listen to Little Ghost. (reccomended for people who are interested in that bluegrass style)
  58. NikolaV
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    The Best! :)
  59. chirsf
    Jul 14, 2005
    8
    You definitely need to listen to this album a few times before you get a taste for it. Its awesome, but I would of liked more rock songs. But all in all I still feel satisfied after I listen to it. 'The Nurse' and 'Red Rain" are very cool experiment rock songs that are so different from anything else out there. Fav tracks: Blue Orchid, The Nurse, Red Rain and Take Take Take.
  60. djadequate
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Don't just listen to the songs, listen to the album. It's brilliantly disconcerting, like a postcard from the twilight zone. The White Stripes have gone from invoking the past, to creating a future that could have been. The use of silence and mistakes--like the amplifier buzz on Wild Orchid--make this music seem unlike, unlike most of the pre-prodessed, surgically-enhanced pop Don't just listen to the songs, listen to the album. It's brilliantly disconcerting, like a postcard from the twilight zone. The White Stripes have gone from invoking the past, to creating a future that could have been. The use of silence and mistakes--like the amplifier buzz on Wild Orchid--make this music seem unlike, unlike most of the pre-prodessed, surgically-enhanced pop music put out these days. Expand
  61. Jodie-LouiseW
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Wicked! Very different i wasn't sure at the beginning but it is sooo addictive! The nurse and my doorbell are the best!
  62. DaveH
    Jul 10, 2005
    3
    I am and will remain a White Stripes admirer. This album, "Shark Sandwich".
  63. SpongeBob
    Jul 10, 2005
    4
    Bizarre. And not in a good way. The White Stripes made their name due to their experimental, simple catchy rock tunes which used only a guitar and drum. So having bought the new album, i was pleased with the first song as this generally followed their pattern. Then came 'The Nurse' and at this point i'm beginning to wonder if the song has a chorus or anything (it Bizarre. And not in a good way. The White Stripes made their name due to their experimental, simple catchy rock tunes which used only a guitar and drum. So having bought the new album, i was pleased with the first song as this generally followed their pattern. Then came 'The Nurse' and at this point i'm beginning to wonder if the song has a chorus or anything (it doesn't). By the time we come to 'Little Ghost' i think that some 90+ folk-singer from Texas must have secrety swapped his album for mine in the shop while i wasn't looking. Nope. It's the (very famous) White Stripes. Quite frankly, if this album was under a different name people wouldn't even look at it twice. Amazing how some can earn millions while strumming a tambourine tunelessly... Expand
  64. joseyb
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Personally I think the White Stripes have outdone themselves, Jack even brought in a little influence from Loretta Lynn, and Meg has proven herself once again. Way to go Stripes!
  65. SeppoK
    Jul 8, 2005
    8
    Pretty good album, best I have heard albums released this year. Little unfinished, but still very enjoyable.
  66. CindyR
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    Was a little unsure about this album when I first heard it because it was sooo different. However, after two or three listens, I was addicted. I hear something new in each of the songs everytime I listen and, at this point, I can't even listen to anything else. "Forever For Her" is probably Jack's most accomplished musical composition (think old Stones) and "Denial Twist" his Was a little unsure about this album when I first heard it because it was sooo different. However, after two or three listens, I was addicted. I hear something new in each of the songs everytime I listen and, at this point, I can't even listen to anything else. "Forever For Her" is probably Jack's most accomplished musical composition (think old Stones) and "Denial Twist" his strongest lyrics to date. I truly believe this guy will go down in history as one of the greatest songwriters of our time. Everyone is entitled to their own taste, but I find it hard to believe that true rock connoisseurs cannot find something to appreciate about this album. Expand
  67. JakeS
    Jul 4, 2005
    8
    Overall outstanding. A couple flat moments, but still better than anything else in 2005. "Take Take Take" is incredible.
  68. PaulH
    Jul 3, 2005
    8
    Not nearly Their best but still some great stuff here, I've been hooked on it for a while even though some of the tracks do seem unfinished.
  69. VIk
    Jul 3, 2005
    8
    An intriguing release from the white stripes; i became a lat fan to the group after elephant which is one amazingly execellent album. GBMS is completely different but in a good way;instead of competing with the perfection of the previous release it moves in a darker direction, has more depht - it takes repeated listenings but is so rich in atmosphere and mystery- the simmering piano An intriguing release from the white stripes; i became a lat fan to the group after elephant which is one amazingly execellent album. GBMS is completely different but in a good way;instead of competing with the perfection of the previous release it moves in a darker direction, has more depht - it takes repeated listenings but is so rich in atmosphere and mystery- the simmering piano ballads, the bluesy distorted guitars, the dark emotions, an exotic instrument or two....no wonder Jack was inspired to marry in the Amazon! May the stripes continue to create great stuff like this! Expand
  70. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    8
    First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some stuff misses, meaning this is not the best album of the year. Sleater-Kinney the Woods retains that title for now. If you want something safe and predictable, go back to Dave Mathews. Expand
  71. Kris
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Simply put, this is the White Stripes finest work.
  72. PabloG
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    Good but it just proves that Jack White needs a new drummer or to start his solo career right now. Meg's preschool drumming worked for their first records, but it's been 5+ years and she still hasn't improved past banging the drums like a little kid and it makes the music sound childish in a bad way. Jack White, get rid of Meg.
  73. AdrianW
    Jul 1, 2005
    5
    Who do they think they are? I think it's possible that the white stripes are trying to be too white stripes. I'd like to think I know a good album when I hear one and I feel this is kind of getting love because it's the white stripes and it SHOULD be good. rather disappointed. and this from a guy who thought elephant was the best release in it's year...
  74. JimmyS
    Jun 30, 2005
    3
    Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, at which point I was struggling. Having listened to the album twice, and for the first time in my life with any album, I can't struggle a third. Can't believe this rubbish is getting 4/5 stars in most reviews I read! People are gone insane! Expand
  75. RichardS
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    GBMS is another step in the ever-evolving sound of the white stripes, but at the same time brings their career full circle with a stronger acknowledgement of their early country and western influences (see their self titled). I can't compare it to Elephant because its a completely different sounding album. Its like asking which is better, Sabbath's Paranoid or Cash's Live GBMS is another step in the ever-evolving sound of the white stripes, but at the same time brings their career full circle with a stronger acknowledgement of their early country and western influences (see their self titled). I can't compare it to Elephant because its a completely different sounding album. Its like asking which is better, Sabbath's Paranoid or Cash's Live at San Quentin. Maybe Jack White is able to recorrd an album in two weeks because he doesnt spend alot (or any) time on polishing the record up with fancy studio tricks, or in dirty Greenwhich Village bars wasting himself away like our friend Julian of Strokes fame. White is also the most talentyed song writer of our generation, and more than likely perfects his craft long before walking through the studio doors. Critics of this record should stop name-dropping (come on! the libertines?), get their noses out of the air, and let themselves enjoy a great rock record. Expand
  76. HarryH
    Jun 28, 2005
    9
    Undoubtedly the Stripes' best album, and good to see them back on form after the blip that was Elephant. Better than De Stijl and White Blood Cells becuase of wittier lyrics and inventive textures - great work Jack!
  77. BrockR
    Jun 28, 2005
    7
    I want to give this album more being a die hard fan but cant. jack distancing himself from the guitar is a noble effort but in the end just not as good as previous albums. I give credit for trying something knew. And what is this about people complaining about the album being rushed???!!! They did Elephant in about the same amount of time and it was terrific! the Strokes? come on! Go pop I want to give this album more being a die hard fan but cant. jack distancing himself from the guitar is a noble effort but in the end just not as good as previous albums. I give credit for trying something knew. And what is this about people complaining about the album being rushed???!!! They did Elephant in about the same amount of time and it was terrific! the Strokes? come on! Go pop in your Flickerstick cd you loser! The cd includes a few great very catchy songs. I'm lonely but I ain't that lonely yet does have a very Elliott Smith feel to it someone mentioned. I truly believe this will be the last White Stripes album as Jack has an album coming out this year with Brenden Benson. (fellow Detroitian who Jack has convered in the past) I think Jack is trapped in his own limitations and I am anxious to see what he can pull off with no envelopes to push. Expand
  78. davedavesuperhero
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    as near to perfect as you are likely to find in an album. this is what jack and meg have been working towards. honest, mature blues and rock n roll to die for. lyrically astounding, we all need a little white stripes in our lives.
  79. Rosie
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    i think this album is something new, its a breath of fresh air and there is not a lot of records out there at the moment like this one. i think it is very individual and jack and meg compilment eachother and make the music what it is on this album. they are different and so i would expect this album to have a bit of an edge. blue orchid is a great first track and i love doorbell, the i think this album is something new, its a breath of fresh air and there is not a lot of records out there at the moment like this one. i think it is very individual and jack and meg compilment eachother and make the music what it is on this album. they are different and so i would expect this album to have a bit of an edge. blue orchid is a great first track and i love doorbell, the nurse and tak, take, take Expand
  80. LarryW
    Jun 24, 2005
    9
    I thought this puppy blew chunks for the first few days. Then I spent a solid week listening to the previous WS fare, came back to it, and was really blown away.
  81. robbieD
    Jun 21, 2005
    4
    i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white just recordes crap because he knows that a bunch of dumbasses that want to be cool will say it is the greatest cd ever. Anyone who says this cd is a gift and is amazing should listen to the strokes- Is this it? or some libertines or even old school the clash. The white stripes are just an embarrasment to this music. Expand
  82. blairt
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    "Get Behind Me Satan" is in my opinion,a very strong album. Example- Blue Orchid has one of the catchiest guitar riffs ever! Take, Take, Take is the sickest song besides Seven Nation Army.
  83. K-Van
    Jun 21, 2005
    6
    I've never heard of Paste Magazine, but their quote says it best. Get Behind Me Satan is easy to admire, but hard to love. I admire Jake White for taking a different direction than the previous albums. It's just too bad that the direction doesn't offer many inspiring tracks. The album has its moments though. I like Blue Orchid, Denial Twist, and Take, Take, Take. The rest I've never heard of Paste Magazine, but their quote says it best. Get Behind Me Satan is easy to admire, but hard to love. I admire Jake White for taking a different direction than the previous albums. It's just too bad that the direction doesn't offer many inspiring tracks. The album has its moments though. I like Blue Orchid, Denial Twist, and Take, Take, Take. The rest of the songs pass in one ear and out the other. This album does get better with repeated listens, but I can't shake that it feels incomplete and is void of the memorable songs that made Elephant a hit. Expand
  84. GabeF
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    I really think this is their best album!!!!so....Far!!!!
  85. JonH
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    This album is on another planet from all previous White Stripes albums. The piano-laden ballads almost have an Elliott Smith feel, while the rockers are more rocking than ever. The title track is possibly the band's finest song. The lyrics are also pointier and better crafted than on previous albums. Easily one of the top 5 albums of the year.
  86. mattl
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    Takes a couple listens to warm up too, then you are hooked
  87. HaslynR
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    Simply Put--This is the best cd of 2005. It's a brilliant piece of work.
  88. Morgan
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    Doesn't quite deliver the White Stripes' customary knock-out a-side (though it comes close with songs like "My Doorbell" and "Little Ghost"), but then it doesn't slack off as much as some of their earlier albums do on the b-side either. A few tossed-off lyrics aside, hearing this album for the first time is just as exhilarating as first hearing "Elepant" or "The White Stripes."
  89. JoeD
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    almost as good as elephant! more guitar next time!
  90. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Jumpin' Jericho Jehosafarts! This record towers over everything released this year. A giant leap forward! Thank Allah for this band. They are rocks true torch bearers. Everyone else in the music biz should just retire now! It
  91. markw
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I wouldn't even waste the bandwidth if I were you... Expand
  92. Amanda
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    I love this new album. The music and lyrics are so cool. It ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  93. MattT
    Jun 16, 2005
    7
    There are some great songs on this album, but overall it feels more experimental and less classic than elephant
  94. Sam
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Probably their best album. Probably polarising (as the comments seem to indicate) but it's an incredible listen. It's reminiscent to me of the great mid-period Stones albums (Beggar's Banquet, Let It Bleed, Sticky Fingers) in mood and style. My favourite album so far this year.
  95. LockneO
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    The White Stripes' latest album, "Get Behind me Satan", is unbelievably produced. Very good album! I wasn't expecting such a good album after "Elephant" was so successful, but this proves that the White Stripes should never be doubted.
  96. StephenG
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    To me, this is without a doubt the best white stripes album to date-I felt their previous albums were good, although a bit overrated-they just seemed to lack a consistency from the first song to last that made it hard to listen all the way through more than once-luckily, GBMS does not suffer from this problem. Excellent album.
  97. GabrielK
    Jun 15, 2005
    0
    overrated much!
  98. Gazza
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    All you reviewers out there SHUT IT!! This is a stunning piece of raw Rock and Roll, and can easily be spoken of in the same breath as Exile on Main Street. Buy it, & remember how you felt when you first heard these tortured vocals. And who cares if Meg can't sing.. She's a goddess.
  99. matta
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    Really amazing stuff. Better than white blood cells and easily as good as Elephant, with the stripes expanding their style but sticking with the low-key production, which suits them perfectly and makes this album that much more special and deserving of your purchase.
  100. pauld
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    it's what the core of their fans wanted to hear. never before a band was left so untouched by the overwhelming hype. great art.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. It's an album so strong and so unexpected that it may change the way people hear all its predecessors. And that's just a start. Listen long enough, and this album might change the way you hear lots of other bands, too.
  2. A very strange album, which shreds the old White Stripes rulebook (no bass, just guitar and drums) and pushes into territories way beyond the blues and rock of their previous four records.
  3. A sidestep that’s as easy to admire as it is hard to love.