Get Behind Me Satan

  • Record Label: V2 / XL
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 267 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 267

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    The White Stripes, like The Strokes are a band who can completely change their sound for one record and it will be just as good as their other work. It's a strangely relaxing album and is a breath of fresh air from 21st century ****
  2. BillyB
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ 5th... and so on) As a musician, this annoys me. A band that's critically acclaimed and has no talent. Unfortunately, most bands are like that today... Expand
  3. JohnR
    Dec 25, 2006
    3
    Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - add the drummer & they're ruined. Please, someone give her a different instrument & let the band evolve. Attractive she is, a drummer she isn't. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    While the White Stripes are certainly not the most innovative rock band in history, they are still heads-and-shoulders above almost every other rock band from the last decade or so. While many of us have shared the thought that rock has died, this band has added an asterisk to the end of that thought. Red Rain, Blue Orchid, and Doorbell alone make this album worth a listen.
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    5
    Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that.Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that. All In All, I love that they're trying new sounds, but The White Stripes need to stick to their basics. C Expand
  6. JimmyS
    Jun 30, 2005
    3
    Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, at which point I was struggling. Having listened to the album twice, and for the first time in my life with any album, I can't struggle a third. Can't believe this rubbish is getting 4/5 stars in most reviews I read! People are gone insane! Expand
  7. davo
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    First of all, what the hell does that New York Times quote mean??? This album is very good, but contains no magical properties capable of changing previous albums you have listened to. Jack White has more control over his vocals and Meg continues to be able to hit the drum in a steady rythem. The production is slightly different. That's about it. This isn't their best album, but First of all, what the hell does that New York Times quote mean??? This album is very good, but contains no magical properties capable of changing previous albums you have listened to. Jack White has more control over his vocals and Meg continues to be able to hit the drum in a steady rythem. The production is slightly different. That's about it. This isn't their best album, but it's still a great album. Red Rain is going to truly rock when played live and Denial, Instinct and Take Take Take are some of Jack White's best songs. If you are prepared to listen to the album a couple of times before making your judgement of it or if you like previous White Stripes albums this album is recommended. Expand
  8. ShaunT
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable... like "let it bleed" era Stones with some bluegrass thrown in. Great stuff
  9. ShawnG
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    Probably more like an 8.5. I have to agree with what was said previously about most people who are thrown by this being people who think "Elephant" was all Jack and Meg's previous repertoire. That's not to say there aren't flaws in the album. Some of the material does seem 'too' rushed. Some of the songs weren't even finished when they went into the studio, Probably more like an 8.5. I have to agree with what was said previously about most people who are thrown by this being people who think "Elephant" was all Jack and Meg's previous repertoire. That's not to say there aren't flaws in the album. Some of the material does seem 'too' rushed. Some of the songs weren't even finished when they went into the studio, and one can sense that in a way that wasn't possible in the previous efforts. That said, a good White Stripes album (and this is) is still better than most bands could 'dream' of making. And I think a lot of the reviews publications are making are the long-expected backlash. The opening four tracks are some of the most dizzying and delightful bits of genre-hopping in rock since, well... De Stijl, which this compares more closely with in their catalog than anything else. Is it their best effort? No. But it's intriguing and enjoyable...a very good effort, by any mortal band's standards. Expand
  10. pauld
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    it's what the core of their fans wanted to hear. never before a band was left so untouched by the overwhelming hype. great art.
  11. Gazza
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    All you reviewers out there SHUT IT!! This is a stunning piece of raw Rock and Roll, and can easily be spoken of in the same breath as Exile on Main Street. Buy it, & remember how you felt when you first heard these tortured vocals. And who cares if Meg can't sing.. She's a goddess.
  12. StephenG
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    To me, this is without a doubt the best white stripes album to date-I felt their previous albums were good, although a bit overrated-they just seemed to lack a consistency from the first song to last that made it hard to listen all the way through more than once-luckily, GBMS does not suffer from this problem. Excellent album.
  13. EricG
    Jun 10, 2005
    3
    is this a tribute to ledzepplin?
  14. markw
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I wouldn't even waste the bandwidth if I were you... Expand
  15. MikaT
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Greetings from Finland. I just have to say that I love it! There are a lot of great songs there. Like the previous albums I felt the more you listen this the more you love it. So don't throw this away after the first listen if you didn't like it ;)
  16. Josh
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Like most Stripes fans, this album caught me off guard and I was a little dissappointed at first. But, like so many are saying, if you keep listening to it for what it is, not what you expect, it's a really unique and cool record. People who enjoyed their garage rock sound the most will be dissapointed, as this album bares very little resemblence to their earlier work, but I think Like most Stripes fans, this album caught me off guard and I was a little dissappointed at first. But, like so many are saying, if you keep listening to it for what it is, not what you expect, it's a really unique and cool record. People who enjoyed their garage rock sound the most will be dissapointed, as this album bares very little resemblence to their earlier work, but I think most people can agree that what you'll find is very interesting, if nothing else. Expand
  17. AndreiC
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This album made me so happy when i heard it just because it's so perfect. It has everything just like previous albums, especially Elephant. Blue orchid is an awsome new 7NA, instinct blues is great just like my doorbell... everything sounds excellent and different... and the lyrics are poetry.
  18. IanR
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    This is a really eclectic, experimental, and all around different album for the White Stripes... but even so, it's definitely a White Stripes album, and it rocks hard, even when it plays it cool.
  19. sumsh
    Jun 7, 2005
    2
    By far, the WORST White Stripes album.
  20. tibszero
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    I only gave this album a 4 in the hopes that it will grow on me otherwise it seems more like a 2. I adore the White Stripes but sadly I think this will be just an embarrassing side note in their career.
  21. EricaG
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    I love the White Stripes, and I think there are several great songs on this cd!! There are also a few I can't stand, but I feel the good songs on this cd are better than the good songs on the other cds. So it sort of balances out, I can live with the bad songs because the good ones are so worth it!
  22. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    8
    First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some First off, this album is very good but not great. I love the experimentation, it's better than Elephant because it's not mainstream. You won't hear a single one of these songs at the MTV beach party which means retarded frat boys don't get it. The rough edges and stripped down, underproduced sound are welcome in the age of American Idol fecal matter. That said, some stuff misses, meaning this is not the best album of the year. Sleater-Kinney the Woods retains that title for now. If you want something safe and predictable, go back to Dave Mathews. Expand
  23. RogH
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    The first track is misleading because you think you're in for a rough, hard riff ride...but in fact, its one of the more diverse albums I've heard in years. Jack really shows his Stripes on this album...
  24. KeseyT
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous The Stripes are the only major label band in existance today that can take such giant steps in every direction and still come out on top. Moments like Little Ghost, which is hard to digest for even the most die-hard fans, envokes in the least a solid respect for Jack White and his deep set passion and knowledge for all that is or ever was music. While missing much of Jack's imfamous guitar riffs, the album as a whole shines with the confidence and inginuity of a musical legend. I can't see the Stripes staying on top commercially with too many more of these relative (to other bands, of course) concept albums, but I for one am willing to eat up anything they're willing to dish out from this point on. Expand
  25. LennonM
    Jun 10, 2005
    7
    Definitely a different sound, but anyone who's listened to the White Stripes realizes this, well unles your one of those idiots who thinks the White Stripes are all about Elephant. As usual Jack changed up the sound, just can't say I really was too impressed. None the less, it's a good album. Give it a 7.
  26. LB
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    Pretty decent album. It will catch you off guard. I didn't think it was that good on first listen and was disappointed by the lack of guitars but, after a few listens, I can tell you that most of the songs are pretty good (Blue Orchid, My Doorbell, Take Take Take, Red Rain and so on). However, some songs are lacking that extra something to put them over the top.
  27. Nikkis
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This cd proves that Jack White is honestly a genius, he never fails to please and excite his fans. His lyrics and his wide range of instrument use is completely unexpected and suprisingly brilliant, and Meg has proven to compliment Jack perfectly. Never underestimate the stripes ever!
  28. KellyW
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    An amazing record that is, quite simply, the best album of the year.
  29. RichardH
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    The best thing i can say about this album is it isnt Elephant 2. Jack White is smart to know you cant top perfection but you can go around it.
  30. cjmarke
    Jun 12, 2005
    3
    Really like the band, waited patiently for this album, feel let down. It just isn''t as listeneable as the past two records.
  31. MaggieC
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This album is AWESOME! Very different but listen through a couple times and it will blow your mind, as good as Elephant.
  32. GabrielK
    Jun 15, 2005
    0
    overrated much!
  33. Sam
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Probably their best album. Probably polarising (as the comments seem to indicate) but it's an incredible listen. It's reminiscent to me of the great mid-period Stones albums (Beggar's Banquet, Let It Bleed, Sticky Fingers) in mood and style. My favourite album so far this year.
  34. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Jumpin' Jericho Jehosafarts! This record towers over everything released this year. A giant leap forward! Thank Allah for this band. They are rocks true torch bearers. Everyone else in the music biz should just retire now! It
  35. Morgan
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    Doesn't quite deliver the White Stripes' customary knock-out a-side (though it comes close with songs like "My Doorbell" and "Little Ghost"), but then it doesn't slack off as much as some of their earlier albums do on the b-side either. A few tossed-off lyrics aside, hearing this album for the first time is just as exhilarating as first hearing "Elepant" or "The White Stripes."
  36. JonH
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    This album is on another planet from all previous White Stripes albums. The piano-laden ballads almost have an Elliott Smith feel, while the rockers are more rocking than ever. The title track is possibly the band's finest song. The lyrics are also pointier and better crafted than on previous albums. Easily one of the top 5 albums of the year.
  37. LarryW
    Jun 24, 2005
    9
    I thought this puppy blew chunks for the first few days. Then I spent a solid week listening to the previous WS fare, came back to it, and was really blown away.
  38. RickyP
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    I don't understand how anyone could say that this was a step back or that it was undercooked or that it was raw and unprocessed and...all of that is ridiculous. Throughout the album I kept thinking how much the off kilter instrumentation and slightly better production value seemed to fit the White Stripes. I would have liked MORE of it, in fact, but that doesn't mean it I don't understand how anyone could say that this was a step back or that it was undercooked or that it was raw and unprocessed and...all of that is ridiculous. Throughout the album I kept thinking how much the off kilter instrumentation and slightly better production value seemed to fit the White Stripes. I would have liked MORE of it, in fact, but that doesn't mean it isn't there. They keep the energy at a simmer for most of the album and let loose on you at just the right moments (with admittedly a few exceptions, where they could have done a bit more). I don't think some of those reviewers are listening to the same album I am. Expand
  39. Judes
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Simply brilliant and stunning album. The fact that it is not at all moments engaging is honestly what makes it compelling. Lyrically, it's brilliant. Will stand the test of time well, an off the mark classic. Jack White leaves his mark boldly on this collection of songs as I believe he truly wants to, as not just a musician but as an unusually gifted songwriter and visionary. The Simply brilliant and stunning album. The fact that it is not at all moments engaging is honestly what makes it compelling. Lyrically, it's brilliant. Will stand the test of time well, an off the mark classic. Jack White leaves his mark boldly on this collection of songs as I believe he truly wants to, as not just a musician but as an unusually gifted songwriter and visionary. The Marimba on a Stripes record...who would have thought it? Yet it works, it REALLY works. This is THE record that will still be resonating months from now. "My Doorbell" is slated for the next single. Could easily be their biggest hit to date. Highlights after first few listens: The Nurse, My Doorbell, Red Rain, As Ugly As I Seem. I can't get over how breathtaking this album as a whole actually is... Expand
  40. aaronr
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    I hope every "fan" hates this album. get rid of em, the direction is not shocking (listen to cold mountain soundtrack, and to van lear rose), it is perfect. soul never sounded so good.
  41. NielsR
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    This is a first impression score, although it may get higher with more listens. this album is certainly different, but in line with the Loretta Lynne work and other stuff jack W has been involved with, This is the best wide distribution band in the world right now, and I think critics judge their work at a higher standard than most everyone else, which is somewhat justified since they are This is a first impression score, although it may get higher with more listens. this album is certainly different, but in line with the Loretta Lynne work and other stuff jack W has been involved with, This is the best wide distribution band in the world right now, and I think critics judge their work at a higher standard than most everyone else, which is somewhat justified since they are 1 or 2 more great albums from legendary status. Expand
  42. IanS
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    It
  43. ChrisC
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Get Behind Me Satan is fully of more extremely energetic, well crafted songs. But, the White Stripes branch out musically and do more experimentation than in their previous records, so people who hate it when bands change their sound will hate this album. Open minded music fans, on the other hand, should love it. One of the best of the year.
  44. NofsGrrl
    Jun 7, 2005
    4
    It KILLS me to say this, because from one album to the next these guys have continued to impress and entertain. But this album has none of the brilliance that the rest do. Get Behind me Satan sound like two people who are trying to imitate the White Stripes and failing miserably. Maybe Jack didn't put enough effort into this one... maybe he put too much. Whatever it is, I hope It KILLS me to say this, because from one album to the next these guys have continued to impress and entertain. But this album has none of the brilliance that the rest do. Get Behind me Satan sound like two people who are trying to imitate the White Stripes and failing miserably. Maybe Jack didn't put enough effort into this one... maybe he put too much. Whatever it is, I hope it's fixed by the next album. Expand
  45. BDW
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    A phenominal album that is held back from being a classic by an inferior middle section. Any of tracks 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, or 13 could be thrown into any part of any mix CD and instantly take a compilation to the next level. Some great artists make totally new albums each time out; other great artists make the same album again and again...you could make a case for the White Stripes belonging A phenominal album that is held back from being a classic by an inferior middle section. Any of tracks 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, or 13 could be thrown into any part of any mix CD and instantly take a compilation to the next level. Some great artists make totally new albums each time out; other great artists make the same album again and again...you could make a case for the White Stripes belonging in either category (which is a testament to their ability to expand and contract their boundries within a single moment). Well worth the $8 Meijer is currently charging. Expand
  46. Matt
    Jun 7, 2005
    6
    Disappointed. Only a few interesting songs. Most of them are easy to get bored of, overal sound of the white stripes are repetitive and easy to get bored of in my opinion.
  47. Joe
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    Somehow Jack White stays years ahead of other songwriters by taking his musical cues from older artists. The Stripes have made an album that is strange, unnerving and beautiful all at once and Jack's vocals sound like he has been possessed by the devil himself at times. This album is a welcome departure from their other records, and as long as the Stripes keep doing their own thing Somehow Jack White stays years ahead of other songwriters by taking his musical cues from older artists. The Stripes have made an album that is strange, unnerving and beautiful all at once and Jack's vocals sound like he has been possessed by the devil himself at times. This album is a welcome departure from their other records, and as long as the Stripes keep doing their own thing they will keep making great music! Expand
  48. Jax
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    It took me a bit of time to warm up to Get Behind Me Satan, as it seemed a bit sparse but after a dozen listens it is clear that The White Stripes are the only real straight-up American rock band out there right now. Perhaps that be overstating a bit but this album is a wonder. I expect it will not get the praise it deserves because I doubt many critics will take the necessary time to absorb it.
  49. Clint
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    Although it contains a lot of strong material, I think it's telling that of my three favourite songs on the album, two are electric guitar-based ('instinct blues' and 'red rain', the other one is 'the denial twist'). When I buy a record by the White Stripes, I expect to buy a record by a rock band. That problably explains my initial disappointment (I Although it contains a lot of strong material, I think it's telling that of my three favourite songs on the album, two are electric guitar-based ('instinct blues' and 'red rain', the other one is 'the denial twist'). When I buy a record by the White Stripes, I expect to buy a record by a rock band. That problably explains my initial disappointment (I think that's called cognitive dissonance or something...). I'm still a little frustrated by the lack of the phenomenal electric guitar-driven songs that made the WS' reputation and, to me more importantly, made me love and admire their music so much. But the wealth of the material on display here compensates for a lot. PS: What the hell is 'passive manipulation' doing on there? It is just as self-indulgent and superfluous as 'in the cold, cold night' was on elephant (and I think the latter kinda had a nice vibe and atmosphere going thanks to the guitarline that supported Meg's terrible voice, but this time round it sucks and annoys all the way). Expand
  50. JeffW
    Jun 8, 2005
    8
    This album is a must have for any fan of music in general and is much better than other new releases this week... *cough* Coldplay *cough*. It lacks The killer songs like Ball and Biscuit, True we love.... and Seven Nation Army off of Elephant but it makes up for that with Little Ghost, Denial Twist, Take Take Take and I'm Lonely. I Think Elephant is a better album so thats why I This album is a must have for any fan of music in general and is much better than other new releases this week... *cough* Coldplay *cough*. It lacks The killer songs like Ball and Biscuit, True we love.... and Seven Nation Army off of Elephant but it makes up for that with Little Ghost, Denial Twist, Take Take Take and I'm Lonely. I Think Elephant is a better album so thats why I only gave it an 8 but this is the must buy before X and Y Expand
  51. cleopatraj
    Jun 8, 2005
    8
    i was beginning to think after "elephant" that jack white was running out of ideas. he perfected his spontaneous, no nonsense blues-rock on de stijl and seemed to be re-hashing the same formula on the subsequent releases. well, ole jack proved me wrong with this one. the new direction, if not absolutely necessary, is intriguing and fun. the same "press the record button as soon as you get i was beginning to think after "elephant" that jack white was running out of ideas. he perfected his spontaneous, no nonsense blues-rock on de stijl and seemed to be re-hashing the same formula on the subsequent releases. well, ole jack proved me wrong with this one. the new direction, if not absolutely necessary, is intriguing and fun. the same "press the record button as soon as you get in the studio" creative process of all their prior releases continues along with sharp and witty songwriting. the only difference is that the instruments have changed, which in turn transform the tone and mood. jack white is all about honesty, which is precisely why he purposefully recorded an album in a short amount of time. the most important part of his music is taking the first thing that pops into his head and stretching it into something--a song, a lyrical idea, a bridge...not to mention i would be pretty depressed if the stripes spent more time on their albums for obvious reasons. i'm sorry craig, but sitting in the studio for 10 months and crafing intricate soundscapes does not qualify your band as superior songwriters (actually in the beatles case, george martin who did all the studio work...or in pink floyd's case, a lot of engineers...the beatles didn't even have to play live for god sakes when they were camping out in the studio)...besides i love the beatles white album the best, which was hurried, raw, a mess, interesting and fun solely because of it. don't get me wrong, studio craftemanship and provocative uses of technology are fantastic but thank god that's not the only way for people to make a rock album. who says rock has to be polished anyway? wasn't that the whole point of it back in the early days? (robert johnson, muddy waters, early stones, etc.). i mean, sometimes i get tired of hearing thom yorke's voice through ten thousand effect filters and just want to hear a naked, raspy jack white wail. the point is to express that haphazard human spirit the best way it knows how: through nuance, imperfection, and honesty. Collapse
  52. briand
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    At first listen I was like what the f*&( is this garbage. After 4 listens, I think it is going to be a masterpiece. Once the initial shock wears off, people will truly appreciate this work of art. Look it could be like the new Coldplay album that took a thousand years and puts you to sleep after three songs. In your face, pure energy, from Jack's soul; just with a new outlet.
  53. JaneC
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    This one rocks. A nice combo of previous sounds- some De Stijl-type mixes, blues, bluegrass, and piano stompers.
  54. andrew
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    If you don't like it, you just don't get it. That's not your fault, it's just that you probably aren't even one of those who the Stripes HOPE get it. You probably want something more accessible and safe. And that's fine - go pick up another bland offering from Coldplay instead.
  55. arnabm
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    very confident song-writing and recording, and the songs grow you quite quickly. i bought this at the same time as x&y, and this record represents all that x&y could have been: ballsy, experimentative, and catchy. take, take, take is my favorite song so far. get it.
  56. MarkR
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Best yet from the White Stripes, and obviously the best CD of 2005 (only dwarfed in the decade by American Idiot)
  57. ross
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    A great album and definitely the best of a class collection which this band have given us. Not only does it unite fans with the classic sound of the white stripes but also takes another step in evolving as a band. Blows all competition out of the water and even destroys their own previous records. Best stripes album ever (until the next one!!!)
  58. AdrianW
    Jul 1, 2005
    5
    Who do they think they are? I think it's possible that the white stripes are trying to be too white stripes. I'd like to think I know a good album when I hear one and I feel this is kind of getting love because it's the white stripes and it SHOULD be good. rather disappointed. and this from a guy who thought elephant was the best release in it's year...
  59. PabloG
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    Good but it just proves that Jack White needs a new drummer or to start his solo career right now. Meg's preschool drumming worked for their first records, but it's been 5+ years and she still hasn't improved past banging the drums like a little kid and it makes the music sound childish in a bad way. Jack White, get rid of Meg.
  60. DaveH
    Jul 10, 2005
    3
    I am and will remain a White Stripes admirer. This album, "Shark Sandwich".
  61. djadequate
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Don't just listen to the songs, listen to the album. It's brilliantly disconcerting, like a postcard from the twilight zone. The White Stripes have gone from invoking the past, to creating a future that could have been. The use of silence and mistakes--like the amplifier buzz on Wild Orchid--make this music seem unlike, unlike most of the pre-prodessed, surgically-enhanced pop Don't just listen to the songs, listen to the album. It's brilliantly disconcerting, like a postcard from the twilight zone. The White Stripes have gone from invoking the past, to creating a future that could have been. The use of silence and mistakes--like the amplifier buzz on Wild Orchid--make this music seem unlike, unlike most of the pre-prodessed, surgically-enhanced pop music put out these days. Expand
  62. chirsf
    Jul 14, 2005
    8
    You definitely need to listen to this album a few times before you get a taste for it. Its awesome, but I would of liked more rock songs. But all in all I still feel satisfied after I listen to it. 'The Nurse' and 'Red Rain" are very cool experiment rock songs that are so different from anything else out there. Fav tracks: Blue Orchid, The Nurse, Red Rain and Take Take Take.
  63. NikolaV
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    The Best! :)
  64. leighs
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    an amazing album. they just get better and better!
  65. TerrenceO
    Jul 21, 2005
    7
    Often sounds unsure of its self. While its few experiments are noble they are evenly split amongst brilliant successess and brutal failures. As per usual with the White Stripes there are a number of stellar tracks, but there is also more than enough recycled sounding filler to go around... it left my regular rotation with in a week.
  66. DJS
    Jul 20, 2005
    9
    Beautifully different and challenging! A band that changes rather than repeating it's blueprint with less passion!
  67. VIk
    Jul 3, 2005
    8
    An intriguing release from the white stripes; i became a lat fan to the group after elephant which is one amazingly execellent album. GBMS is completely different but in a good way;instead of competing with the perfection of the previous release it moves in a darker direction, has more depht - it takes repeated listenings but is so rich in atmosphere and mystery- the simmering piano An intriguing release from the white stripes; i became a lat fan to the group after elephant which is one amazingly execellent album. GBMS is completely different but in a good way;instead of competing with the perfection of the previous release it moves in a darker direction, has more depht - it takes repeated listenings but is so rich in atmosphere and mystery- the simmering piano ballads, the bluesy distorted guitars, the dark emotions, an exotic instrument or two....no wonder Jack was inspired to marry in the Amazon! May the stripes continue to create great stuff like this! Expand
  68. JakeS
    Jul 4, 2005
    8
    Overall outstanding. A couple flat moments, but still better than anything else in 2005. "Take Take Take" is incredible.
  69. CindyR
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    Was a little unsure about this album when I first heard it because it was sooo different. However, after two or three listens, I was addicted. I hear something new in each of the songs everytime I listen and, at this point, I can't even listen to anything else. "Forever For Her" is probably Jack's most accomplished musical composition (think old Stones) and "Denial Twist" his Was a little unsure about this album when I first heard it because it was sooo different. However, after two or three listens, I was addicted. I hear something new in each of the songs everytime I listen and, at this point, I can't even listen to anything else. "Forever For Her" is probably Jack's most accomplished musical composition (think old Stones) and "Denial Twist" his strongest lyrics to date. I truly believe this guy will go down in history as one of the greatest songwriters of our time. Everyone is entitled to their own taste, but I find it hard to believe that true rock connoisseurs cannot find something to appreciate about this album. Expand
  70. SeppoK
    Jul 8, 2005
    8
    Pretty good album, best I have heard albums released this year. Little unfinished, but still very enjoyable.
  71. joseyb
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Personally I think the White Stripes have outdone themselves, Jack even brought in a little influence from Loretta Lynn, and Meg has proven herself once again. Way to go Stripes!
  72. Chelsea
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    Songs that already sound strong on the album are truly amazing live. Who knew Jack was such an outstanding marimba player? How can anyone knock simplicity in the age of over produced music?
  73. luciag
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    ......is a little rare but good...it's just diferent!!!
  74. KevinS
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    all the critics that basically dissed the album need to go back to their paper route and learn that just because you dont like the music doesnt mean it isnt any good, white stripes havent dissapointed me at all and i myself think the white stripes are doing good with trying new things, who wants to hear all the same stuff over and over?
  75. BenD
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    I just want to listen to it over and over.
  76. ixata
    May 6, 2007
    9
    thisis the first album of theirs' i bought.. at first listen, the album sux big tym. but then, i tried listening to it agn in hope of findin light, and it worked! every song holds it moment. my fav track is the denial twist
  77. jordanbond
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    This CD is amazing. It has influenced me so much. I keep listening to it again and again. Forever For Her is an superb song, as well as Take, Take, Take.
  78. JenB
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. Will be thrashing it all summer. Doorbell is standout track. They continue to evolve and surprise. Love it. Highly recommended!
  79. lydiaF
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    a really different album. I loved the riff in blue orchid even though bule orchid didnt reallyseem to fit with the rest of the album. A real mixture of unique stuff. A really worthwhile listen
  80. KateL
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Every song on this CD rocks my face off, except for White Moon, which is good, but not as face rocking as the rest. I pity the fool who gives this album less than a 10! Jack and Meg White are just incredible. God, I love them.
  81. JamesL
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    I never was a stripes fan, primarly beause I never was exposed. After buying this, I immediately went out and bought all their previous works. All of which are almost equally moving.
  82. BernieB
    Jun 10, 2005
    2
    The White Stripes have over-reached well beyond their capacity on this record. They have previously excelled at making simple, pared-down, blues-rock--copping a variety of moves from throughout blues history and running with it. Completely unoriginal, but they made some good records (De Stijl stands out). However, Jack is by no means a genious (a great imitator, at best), and Meg is a The White Stripes have over-reached well beyond their capacity on this record. They have previously excelled at making simple, pared-down, blues-rock--copping a variety of moves from throughout blues history and running with it. Completely unoriginal, but they made some good records (De Stijl stands out). However, Jack is by no means a genious (a great imitator, at best), and Meg is a barely serviceable drummer (even in the Moe Tucker school), and as a result, they released four samey-sounding discs steeped in influences and tradition (albeit fairly decent ones). Now, Jack's ego fueled by acclaim, they reach, reach, reach, but grab nothing. Jacks voice is grating, the arrangements are rushed, songs seem unfinished, and the charming levity that the Stripes previously brought to the table is completely gone. I think a lot of people desperately want to like GBMS and Jack and Meg, but after five records the gimmicks and constraints are old, so we're left with actual content. And this record is just bad. Expand
  83. [Anonymous]
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    This might be the best White Stripes album.
  84. NeilP
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    A great new sound for the white stripes. But i do sort of miss the elephant sound.
  85. ElizaB
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    This is an infectious collection of songs. The brilliance is in the subtleties and the ability of this album to grow on you more and more with each and every listen. The Stripes have mastered a stunning album. All are highlights, blinding highlights are Forever for Her, Ugly As I Seem, I'm Lonely, My Doorbell and Red Rain.
  86. matta
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    Really amazing stuff. Better than white blood cells and easily as good as Elephant, with the stripes expanding their style but sticking with the low-key production, which suits them perfectly and makes this album that much more special and deserving of your purchase.
  87. MattT
    Jun 16, 2005
    7
    There are some great songs on this album, but overall it feels more experimental and less classic than elephant
  88. JoeD
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    almost as good as elephant! more guitar next time!
  89. robbieD
    Jun 21, 2005
    4
    i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white just recordes crap because he knows that a bunch of dumbasses that want to be cool will say it is the greatest cd ever. Anyone who says this cd is a gift and is amazing should listen to the strokes- Is this it? or some libertines or even old school the clash. The white stripes are just an embarrasment to this music. Expand
  90. GabeF
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    I really think this is their best album!!!!so....Far!!!!
  91. Rosie
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    i think this album is something new, its a breath of fresh air and there is not a lot of records out there at the moment like this one. i think it is very individual and jack and meg compilment eachother and make the music what it is on this album. they are different and so i would expect this album to have a bit of an edge. blue orchid is a great first track and i love doorbell, the i think this album is something new, its a breath of fresh air and there is not a lot of records out there at the moment like this one. i think it is very individual and jack and meg compilment eachother and make the music what it is on this album. they are different and so i would expect this album to have a bit of an edge. blue orchid is a great first track and i love doorbell, the nurse and tak, take, take Expand
  92. davedavesuperhero
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    as near to perfect as you are likely to find in an album. this is what jack and meg have been working towards. honest, mature blues and rock n roll to die for. lyrically astounding, we all need a little white stripes in our lives.
  93. BrockR
    Jun 28, 2005
    7
    I want to give this album more being a die hard fan but cant. jack distancing himself from the guitar is a noble effort but in the end just not as good as previous albums. I give credit for trying something knew. And what is this about people complaining about the album being rushed???!!! They did Elephant in about the same amount of time and it was terrific! the Strokes? come on! Go pop I want to give this album more being a die hard fan but cant. jack distancing himself from the guitar is a noble effort but in the end just not as good as previous albums. I give credit for trying something knew. And what is this about people complaining about the album being rushed???!!! They did Elephant in about the same amount of time and it was terrific! the Strokes? come on! Go pop in your Flickerstick cd you loser! The cd includes a few great very catchy songs. I'm lonely but I ain't that lonely yet does have a very Elliott Smith feel to it someone mentioned. I truly believe this will be the last White Stripes album as Jack has an album coming out this year with Brenden Benson. (fellow Detroitian who Jack has convered in the past) I think Jack is trapped in his own limitations and I am anxious to see what he can pull off with no envelopes to push. Expand
  94. LeonardoF
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    I wanted to give the album an 11, but that's not possible. This is the best, most compelling and experimental album the White Stripes have released. "The Nurse", "Take Take Take" and "Red Rain" are the highlights.
  95. cristianp
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    BUENISIMO!
  96. PhillipD
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    The brilliance continues ...
  97. Ruth
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    This is not the best album the Stripes have come out with, but it's solid and I'm enjoying it. The White Stripes fan community is pretty divided over the new direction the band is headed, but I'm all for it. Jack's work with the electric guitar is amazing, but I've always loved his piano ballads and his acoustic stuff as well, so I'm fine with the fact that This is not the best album the Stripes have come out with, but it's solid and I'm enjoying it. The White Stripes fan community is pretty divided over the new direction the band is headed, but I'm all for it. Jack's work with the electric guitar is amazing, but I've always loved his piano ballads and his acoustic stuff as well, so I'm fine with the fact that there are only 3 tracks with the electric guitar (notice the number 3). The marimba is a nice addition on "The Nurse." "My Doorbell" has a nice motown feel, different from anything the Stripes have done before. "Instinct Blues" parallels "Ball and Biscuit" and "Death Letter" nicely. "I'm Lonely (But I Ain't That Lonely Yet)" ends the album perfectly. Meg hasn't gotten any better and that's fine with me. It's well worth your time and money to purchase this album. Expand
  98. giuliac
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    The Rolling Stone review of this album is dead on. The White Stripes have every other rock band in modern music beaten to a pulp. On "Get Behind me Satan" they are as creative, original and intriguing as they always have been. It may not beat "Elephant", but that doesn't matter--it's not trying to. Definitely the best album of the year so far.
  99. Craig
    Jun 7, 2005
    3
    Welcome to the de-evolution of rock and roll. Just because a band doesn't sound like anyone else that doesn't make them great. There was a time when people eagerly awaited the next masterpiece by The Beatles or Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd. Those bands (especially The Beatles and Pink Floyd) worked meticulously in the studio to master their craft and push the sonic boundaries of Welcome to the de-evolution of rock and roll. Just because a band doesn't sound like anyone else that doesn't make them great. There was a time when people eagerly awaited the next masterpiece by The Beatles or Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd. Those bands (especially The Beatles and Pink Floyd) worked meticulously in the studio to master their craft and push the sonic boundaries of music. Radiohead would be a more modern example. This clown goes into a studio for two weeks with his crappy drummer and hurries through a bunch of songs and it's a masterpiece? Most of these songs sound undeveloped and sloppy. Apparently it's cool to like this band, but I'm sorry I don't see the genius in this record at all. Expand
  100. DaveD
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    It kind of ticks me off that this record is so good. It's a masterpiece, blah blah blah, the Jack White seems invigorated from working with Loretta, blah blah, there isn't a weak track here, blah blah. The White Stripes have released the best album of the year. How boring. Is this 2001?
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. The New York Times
    100
    It's an album so strong and so unexpected that it may change the way people hear all its predecessors. And that's just a start. Listen long enough, and this album might change the way you hear lots of other bands, too.
  2. A very strange album, which shreds the old White Stripes rulebook (no bass, just guitar and drums) and pushes into territories way beyond the blues and rock of their previous four records.
  3. A sidestep that’s as easy to admire as it is hard to love.