Get Born

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 10 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    Chill out pitchfork, it's just a bit of fun xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  2. JoelS
    Oct 26, 2003
    9
    Great fun! Rock the way it should be. Loud, raucous, snotty and yet thoughtful and with depth. Great first album ... assuming better things in the future, as they grow.
  3. Rydia
    Nov 10, 2003
    2
    Like a nail through the noggin, a rusty poorly hooked nail.
  4. Ishii
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    This is good if you like kings of leon. Rock on.
  5. jacj
    Nov 28, 2003
    8
    very refreshing; thoroughly enjoyed it! Ta! go Jet luv Jac xoxo
  6. ranxeroxs
    Dec 10, 2003
    2
    a sorry knock off of 70's rock. without the coolness. i mean really the singer and drummer look like some "london leather" dudes from the 70's. this band does lick ballz.
  7. Luca
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    great album
  8. Ashley
    Jan 27, 2004
    8
    The albums good but there's a few songs that are kinda boring
  9. Vicky
    Feb 8, 2004
    8
    No synthetics here. An ear pleasing rock n' roll band, without annoying sounds like some bands of today.
  10. RandyL
    May 6, 2004
    8
    Great stuff, Jet manages to mix elements from other bands and morph it into their own distinctive style. 'Get Born' gets catchy, but also slows down the tempo for music of a more somber mood. Good to see Australian bands making it in the US as well, terrific garage rock.
  11. JoshC
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Good bands are scarce these days.
  12. oprahwinfrey
    Jul 2, 2004
    8
    its a great album, that takes a long time to get bored of.
  13. DomT
    Jul 22, 2004
    10
    Enticing lyrics, memorable songs, and you will most definitely find yourself banging your head to songs like Roll Over and Cold Hard B****. And you will sob right along with Timothy and Look What you've Done. Those into this thing will love it!
  14. TommyH
    Aug 22, 2004
    9
    This album just rocks!!!! These boys have got what it takes to make it to the top, and stay there. No doubt about it.
  15. FrankM
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    It's got those songs on it that are just hard to not like. (favorite-Lazy Gun, Look What you've done
  16. cameronh
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    this album was the best ...............yeah.............
  17. MattA
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    I think this CD is one of the best that i've heard for a long time. Im happy that some bands are actually still upbeat and like to rock, instead of being so emo and punk. It's good to get back in touch with the old.
  18. SeanD
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    I can listen to this album over and over and never get bored. A must have!!!!!!!!!
  19. jp
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    every single song on this cd is amazing. good stuff, jet.
  20. BrittZ
    Feb 9, 2004
    9
    Finally, some good music comes out of the stagnant stream of others. They go through fast and slow songs, and rock the whole way through. With this album, Jet's future looks pretty promising. And it's only 9$, so what are you waiting for?
  21. Lisa
    Dec 23, 2003
    3
    At least,finally, there's some good music in this dying world......
  22. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    Awesome songs like Are you gonna be my girl, lazy gun, and roll over dj.
  23. saraho
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    this album rocks its a great mix of the fun rock with the solemn rock.
  24. chris
    Jan 17, 2005
    0
    when most of jets fans (and it will be sooner than later) get sick of these souless retreds i will still be listening to sexy sadie.
  25. MarkF
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    Hey pure magic - great varying moods and some real kicking rock thats just great when in the care with the volume cranked up! "Cold Hard Bitch" is just truly superb, great stuff! Ok so you do tend to hear similarities to The Rolling Stones and The Beatles but what does that matter? Everyone gets influenced by something and what is produced is always an outcome of that. This album is one Hey pure magic - great varying moods and some real kicking rock thats just great when in the care with the volume cranked up! "Cold Hard Bitch" is just truly superb, great stuff! Ok so you do tend to hear similarities to The Rolling Stones and The Beatles but what does that matter? Everyone gets influenced by something and what is produced is always an outcome of that. This album is one of 2 albums which I believe are the best for 2 years and one of the best for many years. The other album is Snow Patrols "Final Straw" Expand
  26. JohnC
    May 1, 2005
    0
    if i was an idiot that gave this album a ten on this site and knew nothing about music, i would hang myself.
  27. luterano-
    Jun 12, 2005
    8
    The sobas' songs are a little bored, but when they caught the speed... uuuuuffffffffffffffff.
  28. SteveE
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    I like it!!! Excellent drinking musc! You can hear so many different influences in this album from Pink Floyd to (undeniably) the beatles. LOVE IT!!
  29. MarshallM
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    i love it! there was one song that didn't REALLY do it for me, but other then that, absoluetly great! ( don't listen to John C., he's the idiot.)
  30. Timothy
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    A great cd.
  31. angela
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    great guitars, the best combiantion of AC/DC and The Beatles i've ever heard
  32. AllanA
    Aug 18, 2006
    0
    There's a difference between being influenced by great bands, and just blatanly ripping them off. And when i say "ripping off", i mean it in the most derogatory and worst way. You'd be better off making a mixtape of all the original songs. This band is an embarassment to real fans of rock and roll. Scratch that, this band is just an embarassment.
  33. SeanM
    Oct 2, 2006
    0
    I would give this album a "monkey drinking its own urine," but apparantly zero is the lowest you can go.
  34. maxj
    Feb 7, 2009
    7
    Theres a good explanation why jet are getting the cash. the hit's such as "rollover dj" and "are you gonna be my girl" must have been huge and this album got big which i think off these traks should have made more.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Comes off as a mix between the White Stripes' bluesy insouciance and AC/DC's cockeyed swagger.
  2. A quartet that lives, dies and drinks to Exile on Main Street.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    The overall aesthetic is young, loud, and snotty. [17 Oct 2003, p.82]