Get Guilty

  • Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricC
    Mar 2, 2009
    8
    I wasn't a big fan of the Porno's quieter sound on Challengers, and the first time I heard a few of these songs, I wasn't too hopeful. But now that I've spent some time with this album and actually dug in to Newman's subtle and honest songwriting, I'm definately going to be returning to Challengers. Newman doesn't get the credit he deserves for being one I wasn't a big fan of the Porno's quieter sound on Challengers, and the first time I heard a few of these songs, I wasn't too hopeful. But now that I've spent some time with this album and actually dug in to Newman's subtle and honest songwriting, I'm definately going to be returning to Challengers. Newman doesn't get the credit he deserves for being one of indie's top songwriters, mainly because the artsy kids are too busy fawning over Dan Bejar (not that Bejar and Destroyer aren't awesome). But I hope this album, while not his best batch of songs, will help get him in the much deserved spotlight. Expand
  2. JeffP
    Feb 9, 2009
    9
    I think the album is a grower (took me two listens to totally dig it), but like most of Newman's music, once it catches on, it sticks and you can't get it out of your head. Also, with each listen, something new is discovered and a new song becomes my favorite each time. A.C. Newman once again proves he is one of the best songwriters of the decade. Dynamite album and the first I think the album is a grower (took me two listens to totally dig it), but like most of Newman's music, once it catches on, it sticks and you can't get it out of your head. Also, with each listen, something new is discovered and a new song becomes my favorite each time. A.C. Newman once again proves he is one of the best songwriters of the decade. Dynamite album and the first great release of 2009. Expand
  3. tomm.
    Feb 7, 2009
    8
    Generally agree with cokemachineglow, but they got the review dead wrong with this effort. Similar in feel to the slow wonder, slower and more introspective than new pornographers, but hardly grasping for ideas.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Feb 7, 2009
    8
    This album both suffers and benefits in the same way that all New Pornographers albums do: they take a few plays to really catch you. Sure enough, when I listened to this disc for the first time I was left with a feeling of, "Oh, is that all?" with only two songs sticking out as "decent" to my ears. But after a couple more chances (which I'm always willing to give to an artist I This album both suffers and benefits in the same way that all New Pornographers albums do: they take a few plays to really catch you. Sure enough, when I listened to this disc for the first time I was left with a feeling of, "Oh, is that all?" with only two songs sticking out as "decent" to my ears. But after a couple more chances (which I'm always willing to give to an artist I admire...), a lot of the latent greatness was revealed, and soon enough five or six songs were getting stuck in my head throughout the day. In other words, I suggest that before anyone judges "Get Guilty", they listen to it three times on separate occasions. It's a strange kind of alchemy Newman has that causes his songwriting to be the equivalent of a timed-release pain-killer: it doesn't feel like much at first, but eventually the full brunt is felt. The album has its weak points, sure, but its strengths certainly outnumber them. Expand
  5. Jesse
    Jan 25, 2009
    8
    A pleasant solo outing by this Canadian musical stalwart. Oh, why can't he move home?
  6. DAVEG
    Jan 24, 2009
    8
    How do the critics complain about this music? Great arrangements, lyrics, a tight band, and catchy songs-- this is almost unarguably an "A" album, even if it isn't quite as inspired some of Newman's previous work or push boundaries like some of his contemporaries. If you're looking for something to turn on while you shoot the breeze, give this a shot!
  7. TylerK.
    Jan 22, 2009
    8
    Not quite slow wonder, but well-crafted. Too many slow numbers.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 60
    ven the weaker material is nothing worse than pleasant, but it outweighs and obscures the better-than-pleasant; the middle of the album dissolves into an anonymously sweet haze.
  2. Get Guilty isn't quite as consistent as a typical Pornographers record, but the arrangements are lusher. And like all Newman records, it shows off his smarts and maintains a strong hook quotient.
  3. 70
    Get Guilty dwells on the past, and that pensive reflection mutes the second half, turning Newman's boast into a wistful memory.