Get Lonely

  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: Aug 22, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TBOne
    Oct 2, 2006
    2
    Funny thing, I started listening to this album and imagined a middle aged hippy lighting incense in their house, jamming to this. Then song 3 comes on, "It was raining outside, so I cleaned house today. Spent half of the morning throwing old things away". I pretty much mailed it in after that. If it's that predictable and cliche, I'll just go pick up some Bob Denver vinyl instead.
  2. manson
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    although not as good as the sunset tree musically, lyrically it surpasses all of Darnielle's previous works. a masterpiece
  3. KingHarvest
    Aug 24, 2006
    3
    This album is absolutely atrocious. The lyrics sound incredibly forced and phony (or maybe just amateurish)... even to someone who should supposedly relate to them. The vocals are whiny and obnoxious. Every track sounds virtually the same -- slow, melancholy, with similar melody, progressions, etc throughout. Nothing uptempo to cut through the monotony of it all. The first track is This album is absolutely atrocious. The lyrics sound incredibly forced and phony (or maybe just amateurish)... even to someone who should supposedly relate to them. The vocals are whiny and obnoxious. Every track sounds virtually the same -- slow, melancholy, with similar melody, progressions, etc throughout. Nothing uptempo to cut through the monotony of it all. The first track is probably the strongest (which is not saying much), and it's downhill from there. Boring. Expand
  4. johnmc
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Involving and beautiful.
  5. Cables
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    Haunting and depressing. This album is definately a period peice. If you're in the right state of mind, it bites harder than just about any other record out there. Either/Or and ElectroShock Blues come to mind when thinking of similar albums or moods.
  6. matta
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    This is okay, but has to be considered one of Darnielle's weaker moments, especially considering how strong his last two albums were. And sorry N C, no offense but if KingHarvest is critical of this album's lyrics and vocals, chances are he hates Coldplay/Keane/Muse even more. Nice try though.
  7. HZ
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    bittersweet
  8. chris
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    If you come to this album expecting something along the lines of, well - any of todays thoroughly crappy modern rock, you will not like it. If you come to this album expecting up-tempo pop songs - then just go away. Seriously. It's not uptempo - it's title is GET LONELY. Don't look for pop here. Now, if you come to this open minded, you will find a series of beautiful, If you come to this album expecting something along the lines of, well - any of todays thoroughly crappy modern rock, you will not like it. If you come to this album expecting up-tempo pop songs - then just go away. Seriously. It's not uptempo - it's title is GET LONELY. Don't look for pop here. Now, if you come to this open minded, you will find a series of beautiful, sharply written, heart-felt songs. Darnielle weaves a beautiful, emotional image. As for the lyrics being "amateurish" - that would be the rantings of someone who thinks the chili peppers (who have thoroughly ripped off other artists) are the height of song-writing. Darnielle's lyrics are intricate, touching, and, probably, the best song-writing out there right now. This is a great record, and worth getting - as long as you know it's not going to be whatever _other_ reviewer was looking for. (i.e crap). Expand
  9. Adrian
    Aug 27, 2006
    9
    A beautiful album packed full of classics...I imagine it'll be my soundtrack to the autumn.
  10. PatS.
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    Pretty brilliant, but tough listening.
  11. NC
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    This album is one of the best of the year. And the strings add a nice touch to the already great songwriting. The lyrics are raw and real. It's no wonder why Darnielle's name keeps getting brought up for being one of the best songwriters today. His vocals are a little off at times, but that's him being him. Genuine. And yes, KingHarvest is probably into Keane/Coldplay/Muse. This album is one of the best of the year. And the strings add a nice touch to the already great songwriting. The lyrics are raw and real. It's no wonder why Darnielle's name keeps getting brought up for being one of the best songwriters today. His vocals are a little off at times, but that's him being him. Genuine. And yes, KingHarvest is probably into Keane/Coldplay/Muse. He has no clue. Expand
  12. PeterH
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    I love this album. From the opening chords of "wild sage" to the sweeping piano of "song for lonely giants" to the beautiful, sad, fragile but brilliant finale that is "in corolla" (my favourite mountain goats track.) Although some miss the former lo-fi sound of previous MG albums I think that Darnielle has utilised the professional studio to create something really special.
  13. danm
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    These guys are my faves for sure. I saw them in Sydney in July and they are returning in Jan 2007. Have my tix already. I love this album. Darnielle just does it for me. So insightful, cutting, intelligent and beautiful at the same time. Right up there with The Sunset Tree and Tallahassee for its gut-wrenching appeal. A stand out for 2006 in my humble view.
  14. Aug 14, 2011
    7
    I can't give it a low rating, because there isn't a bad song on it, and Half Dead and Woke Up New are as good songs as John Darnielle has ever created - however, unlike his other albums there is a certain monotony to it that makes it difficult to listen to all the way through. So I'll give the album a '7', even though I would rate any individual song on it higher than that.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Get Lonely is the product of a tunesmith on autopilot.
  2. Though the tunes themselves seem unassuming, based on conventional chord progressions and strumming patterns, that simplicity draws attention to Darnielle's fine songwriting.
  3. Uncut
    80
    There's a kind of redemptive comfort even in the album's bleakest moments. [Sep 2006, p.91]