User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 288

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamJ
    Feb 9, 2005
    3
    This isn't a bad album. But this is not the savior or rap, nor does rap really need a savior at the moment. Even dolts like this can sell 6 million copies. 50 cent wasn't a hot name for many years for a reason: He's a decent enough rapper but he's far from ever turning out anything classic, lyrically or musically. The guy just isn't a classic flow. He's spent This isn't a bad album. But this is not the savior or rap, nor does rap really need a savior at the moment. Even dolts like this can sell 6 million copies. 50 cent wasn't a hot name for many years for a reason: He's a decent enough rapper but he's far from ever turning out anything classic, lyrically or musically. The guy just isn't a classic flow. He's spent years going after Ja Rule, apparently because Ja Rule's men both shot AND stabbed him, but his public persona is "gangsta" when pretty much everyone who can remember "Boo Boo" knows better. Columbia let him go because they didn't see a future for him. His albums flopped and flopped again until his name got hooked into Eminem's and now he's riding Eminem's quickly declining star of fame. 50 will sell a couple million more here, but very quickly he's going ot become the 50 cent the public at first rejected, and for a reason: His flow sometimes falls behind any beat too challenging, his rhymes are juvenile, and as we can see with Candy Shop, he's now ripping off a formula he spent two years ridiculing (With the help of Eminem- truth be known, Eminem is the one who ripped Ja apart, not 50 cent.). All in all, a forgettable, pop rap album. Expand
  2. ronron
    May 5, 2003
    0
    There will be a rapper who has the skills of Tupac and Biggie combined but I think that 50cent will never measure of to them because their too deep and they can rap good, my opinion. Ja rule compared to him is a better rapper.
  3. BrentP
    Feb 10, 2004
    3
    There are only 2 good tracks on this album ("Many Men" and Don't Push Me"). First of all, Ja Rule and 50 are both alike on the fact that they are stereotypical manstreemers. The only reason guys like the album because Em and Dre are involved and the only reason girls like the album is because he is good looking. I agree that the production on the album is exeptional but 50 just There are only 2 good tracks on this album ("Many Men" and Don't Push Me"). First of all, Ja Rule and 50 are both alike on the fact that they are stereotypical manstreemers. The only reason guys like the album because Em and Dre are involved and the only reason girls like the album is because he is good looking. I agree that the production on the album is exeptional but 50 just spoils the tracks with rhymes that lack creativity. He is not even the best in G-Unit. Lloyd Banks is incredible on "Dont Push Me." If there were any justice in this world, artist like Lloyd and Canibus would be getting these lucrative contracts instead of 50 and Rule. 3/10 at best mainly because of production. Expand
  4. PhilB
    Nov 12, 2004
    3
    horrible........hes a fake, yea you sold drugs but who in the hood dont??? i give him props for survivin gettin shot but, it takes a man to do the shootin any1 can get shot. bout time he has a good album, no1 heard his first, it was terrible, he has eminem (one of the best lyricist ever) and dr dre (best producer in hip-hop) he gets a popular album but he dont get no street credit cause horrible........hes a fake, yea you sold drugs but who in the hood dont??? i give him props for survivin gettin shot but, it takes a man to do the shootin any1 can get shot. bout time he has a good album, no1 heard his first, it was terrible, he has eminem (one of the best lyricist ever) and dr dre (best producer in hip-hop) he gets a popular album but he dont get no street credit cause all aeropstale ppl bought it Expand
  5. TimL
    May 3, 2003
    1
    I think this cd should be rated #1 because it is so good and that 50 cent just rocks the house when he rocks
  6. ur
    May 5, 2003
    0
    the songs sound cheap, his rapping bores me, and he's ugly as h***. I don't think he's gonna make it. Yall say he's the shit but I know that there's a better rapper out there that is waiting come out, and soon you all will be bored with 50 cent because that's all he's worth.
  7. heyhey
    Jun 15, 2003
    0
    "Get rich or die tryin'? honestly.. what message is this sending to out children?
  8. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    durh ah'm stoopid, wow... this guy is such an illiterate fool
  9. chelseya
    Apr 11, 2003
    1
    i think this cd should be rated #1because it is off the hook the music is tight the beat is bumpin and 50cent is so FINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!its my favorite cd well gotta bounce lataz chelsey!
  10. annas
    Jul 3, 2003
    0
    How many kids are going to listen to this garbage?Besides you don't want to buy it at all!!!
  11. jonnya
    Jan 5, 2004
    4
    with rhymes like .. "we can do what you like cuz i know you like that" this album is way too hyped and straight comercial
  12. SamD
    Oct 3, 2005
    1
    he seems like such a nice guy, yet he writes this shit!?! i miss when rap meant something, then it only sucked. now it sucks with a vengence
  13. ShawnJ
    Feb 20, 2003
    1
    This guy's flow skills suck. However I like what he is saying. But he should never ever be compared to Tupac and Biggie. The guy just doesn't sound good. Just because he sells millions of CD's and talks about gangsta @#$%, it doesn't mean that this dude can rap. Let's just be honest and not sit up here and lie about how great he raps. Keep It Real
  14. heyhey
    Jun 15, 2003
    0
    "Get rich or die tryin'? honestly.. what message is this sending to out children?
  15. davidfuckyou
    Mar 12, 2005
    0
    fuck 50, hes a weak artist,but a great businessman. still he's destroying what men like tupac, rakim, BIG, nas, grand masterflash etc. built!!
  16. ReinholdW
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    Hip Hop in general is ridicolous.
  17. 50CentSucks
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Let me clear up a few things... 1. Getting shot is NOT COOL. Damnit, no one freakin cares that you were a drug dealer or whatever who got shot 50 times! 2. Get the tattooos off you. They're gross. They're digusting. They make me want to puke. 3. Stop paying anorexic girls to act like they like you. If I ever met a UGLY guy like 50 Cent at a club, I'd mace him, not rub my Let me clear up a few things... 1. Getting shot is NOT COOL. Damnit, no one freakin cares that you were a drug dealer or whatever who got shot 50 times! 2. Get the tattooos off you. They're gross. They're digusting. They make me want to puke. 3. Stop paying anorexic girls to act like they like you. If I ever met a UGLY guy like 50 Cent at a club, I'd mace him, not rub my botty on him and let him F me! 4. Stop showing off. Yes, we know you have money due to your mindless fans! Ne need to rub it in. 5. Get offm y TV. Seriousley, get out and take your skinny girls with you. This is horrible. Absolute trash. Hip hop should die out and soon! Expand
  18. StormieH.
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    '50 Cent is the shit'? Yeah, he certainley is complete BULL SHIT!
  19. coreym.
    May 11, 2007
    1
    50 cent 1 what kind of names that two it the worst music ever der who the hell want to hear that shit fuck you
  20. kc
    Nov 7, 2003
    0
    some day the world will wake up and realize that 50 cent isnt even rapping, HE IS TALKING PEOPLE!!50 cent is lyrically and vocally one of the worst rappers in the history of his genre. Even macho man randy savage's rap cd is better.
  21. denisee
    Apr 24, 2003
    1
    I don't like him at all. And is so ugly but i just like the song 21 Question.
  22. fitysient
    Jun 26, 2003
    1
    lack of any creativity, humor or anything. 50 cent has no more talent then the average rapper. You'll only be buying this if you want to be part of a trend. 50 cent is hottest steam piece of shit. I give it a 1 because it was not worth my money, then i sold it for 9 bucks on ebay. At least I wasn't the only person who bought into the hype, so i only lost 5 bucks.
  23. Andres
    Apr 17, 2004
    4
    Its a very good album i enjoyed all the sounds especially patiently waitin and backdown but i also enjoyed ja's albums the same they are both talent artist.but they keep concenstratenin on being like pac,they need to set there own image.i mean is ok to admire someone but if u gonna diss another about being a wannabe dont be a wanna be urself like 50.look at it this way u r a fan of Its a very good album i enjoyed all the sounds especially patiently waitin and backdown but i also enjoyed ja's albums the same they are both talent artist.but they keep concenstratenin on being like pac,they need to set there own image.i mean is ok to admire someone but if u gonna diss another about being a wannabe dont be a wanna be urself like 50.look at it this way u r a fan of 50 if he die's and u become a rapper u will prolly dress like him becuz u admire him how would it feel for someone to come out of no wear and dissin u sayin u wanna be 50 and using 50's song to diss u like 50 did in reallest killaz. Expand
  24. No3l
    Oct 25, 2005
    0
    50 cents music sucks badly and his whole cd is garbage hes garbage and the whole g unit is wack THE GAME IS THE BEST
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Unless you are the president of the NRA or addicted to Cops-type tales, 50 Cent's debut is strictly small change.
  2. More sonically adventurous than its mainstream look suggests.
  3. Only intermittently justifies the buzz surrounding the rapper's career.