Get Rich Or Die Tryin'

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 313

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CrystalM
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    50 cent is so fine a no matter what that b**** Ja Rule has to say about him I still love his fine ass!
  2. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Along with Marshall Matters Lp, Blueprint, Eminem Show, College Dropout, This few albums were the only classic hip hop albums released in the 2000s. 50cent took the music industry with surprise with this album but bigger thanks to Eminem and Dr Dre, i believe anyone who rides with Em and Dre cant lose. Classic !!!!!
  3. rubenf
    Mar 10, 2005
    7
    for the new comer 50 cent eminiems prodege, this album is really good. the beats are bumpin and the songs are very impresive. accept for the tired shots taken at ja rule this album pretty good.
  4. MarcL
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    Dis cd here kicks ass so much, whoever don't have it now u have to get it.
  5. shayvoniar
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    I love 50. I was with him when he 1st came out. I love his voice. his lyrics are so real. I know eminem is so pleased he found a winner in 50 cent
  6. K.C.Summers
    Apr 3, 2003
    9
    Get Rich or Die Tryin is the hottest album out.
  7. ErnestK-H
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    it go hard
  8. joesmokin
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    vey gd 1of mi favs
  9. bucky
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    this cd is awsome. curtis (aka 50 cent) is the shit man i met him hes cool fuck game man he is no good for nothin man same with ja rule man i heard about the sex tape with ja rule and the game fuckin fags man ill kill both of yah
  10. JesseA
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    this is my favourite music CD. its great!!! the first day i got it i listened to it 3 wholes times in one day!!! it could be a little better, if it had more songs with eminem and g-unit in.
  11. stingaj
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Off the hook!
  12. JeffD
    Feb 22, 2003
    10
    Love it!
  13. YeseniaA
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    I gonna give dis CD a perfect 10, beacuse i loved the work 50 Cents had put in dis CD, and da way he had rapped wit other like Emimem and Dr.Dre, and G-unit. I love 50 Cents for being him.Im jus sayin dat dis album is da best out of my years.
  14. JoshD
    Feb 26, 2003
    10
    50 Cent is the shit. His CD sounds a lot like something Tupac might release.
  15. jesseg
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    this cd is awesome i wish that 50 cent would come up with new songs because he has some potential and a good voice that he shouldnt waste.
  16. JajairaO
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    This album was the jump off for real. 50's album was heard all over the streets. Man listen 50 is that man he blew up.
  17. TihanaT
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    50 cent is all that
  18. LaToyaT
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    This album that 50 released is to mutherfucking hard and real ass a bitch. Ain't nobody on his mutherfucking level, that's why that artificial ass nigga ja rule hating cause he been in the rap game longer but aint near 50. Fuck all haters and keep doing your Thug thizzell.
  19. johnnyg
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    dis is one of the hottest albums in the country
  20. SueTurpening
    May 18, 2003
    10
    this album rocks!!!!!!!!
  21. mookruibart
    May 3, 2003
    10
    50 is da shit!!!!
  22. AdamG
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    I'll give it a ten because of the song "21 Questions."
  23. jimjim
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    very good album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  24. jimmya
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    50 is the best,,,, G UNIT
  25. Figz
    Mar 16, 2005
    7
    lets juss say his first C.D. is way better then his secound C.D. The massacre 2 much love songs a 100% pure garbage unlike Get Rich it is better not 11times plantinum plus worthy but better
  26. JoseG
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    One of the best CD;s ever made!!!! Truly outstanding, & screw that bitch Game.
  27. Tyrone
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest albums I have ever listened to. 50 cent is a little bit of BIG,Tupac, and Big L which explains his confidence/cockness noticible in every verse he spits. This album is a definite classic.
  28. DanteS
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    this is 50 Cent in his Prime. Before all the fame 50 was an amazing rapper tearing up mixtapes in every city. Guess Whos Back was filled with sick beats and even better lyric. Get Rich or Die Tryin' 1 ups Guess Whos Back with quite possibly the best collabo in Hip-Hop for its time: Dr. Dre & 50 Cent. Sure 50 sucks now but dont hate on this album full of instant classics and 50 cent this is 50 Cent in his Prime. Before all the fame 50 was an amazing rapper tearing up mixtapes in every city. Guess Whos Back was filled with sick beats and even better lyric. Get Rich or Die Tryin' 1 ups Guess Whos Back with quite possibly the best collabo in Hip-Hop for its time: Dr. Dre & 50 Cent. Sure 50 sucks now but dont hate on this album full of instant classics and 50 cent at his prime Expand
  29. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    He's not pac or big, but who cares. The beats on this album make it a classic, and he is a talented lyricist even if the gangsta themes are repetitive. Underrated artist, fuck haters.
  30. RamzeezeB
    May 4, 2007
    10
    One of the best of all time!
  31. MikeM.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    This is the most solid cd i have heard, Very rarely do i put a cd in and actually listen to every song without having to skip one. One of my top 3 albums of all time. Look out for Detox, September 2007. Same time as 50's new album: Curtis
  32. NeilL.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    It is very rare that I put a disc into my player without skipping a single track.
  33. Mac
    Feb 12, 2003
    7
    Pretty good, especially the non-commercial tracks. It's a nice break from the crazy, brutal rap artists we hear so much of today. Oh - and Rolling Stone gave it four stars, not 4 1/2. Just to let you all know... Which makes more sense. It's good, but not THAT good.
  34. RachelleDavies
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  35. RainP
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    "50" is one of the greatest rappers ever.
  36. georgew
    Mar 20, 2003
    9
    This cd is the best cd of the year. I would by it in a heart beat. he is the realest rapper out right now.
  37. katrinaw
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    this was a great albam from the first song to the last on I hope his next albam be as great
  38. jacquelinep
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    this cd was all that
  39. ShawtyR
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    I liked this cd because i like 50cent period. 50cent is my future baby daddy. I LOVE 50cent!!!!
  40. juang
    Mar 28, 2003
    10
    thashitwastight
  41. ajdogg
    Apr 22, 2003
    10
    no one is near 50 cent, no wonder Jarule is saying shit about him....jealousy...50 keep it like this playa....hala chu boy... wanksta is ma favorate..... keep it this way nigger....
  42. CammyW
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    50 cent is so0o0o damn fine!!!!!!!
  43. T.O.Speaks
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This is the best damn cd ever!!!!! I listened to it at my friend jakes house and we fell in love with it. 50 cent is better than any otha rappa out there he kixx major ASS
  44. brandonj
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    the album is tight has some cructial songs like many men
  45. stretchstretch
    May 14, 2003
    10
    50 is tha hottest nigga to eva rap
  46. RobC
    May 21, 2003
    10
    50 is kick ass
  47. DrewMoody
    May 26, 2003
    10
    Its the Best
  48. LidiaP
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    hey your CD is the shit...
  49. jacim
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    this cd is the best cd i have ever listened to (this and eminem) he is also SOOO sexy, who ever doesn't like this cd is a fag and doesn't deserve to live. GGG G-UNIT!
  50. shataradonmore
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    I love this cd.
  51. ryanv
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    this album has something for everyone, alot of songs on this album didnt get the credit they deserved becausethe popular one were on the radio 24/7, the harder songs like blood hound and back down are masterpeices in them selves, this album is a work of art about one mans struggle on the streets of new york, who rose to greatness, its the one of the alltime best albums
  52. BH
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Yo, Get Rich or Die Tryin is a classic!!!! It goes harder then any debut albums from anyone. It is the hip-hop Thriller. Expect big things to come from 50. He will be one of the greatest rappers only to be surpassed by eminem. Dats wats up......G-Unit!!!
  53. 25Cent
    Jul 28, 2004
    9
    I Think This CD Was Good.People Just say it isnt because they wanna hate.I dont dissagree that Lloyd Banks Is Nice But EVERYONE IN G UNIT IS NICE.
  54. MickeyBlueEyes
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    50 flipped the rap world upside down with this album,he has set himself a high standard to beat for his next album but with Em and Dre behind him,its best to just get outta his way,he's unstoppable!!
  55. JNolasen
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    People saying hip hop sucks are foolish and ignorant. This was a great album reflecting outstanding production from the likes of Dre, Eminem, etc. 50 Cent was a refreshment of the documentary style lyrics of the gang life he came from. He does not glorify it....he merely tells a story. And he tells it well. You think he was a pimp? Ofcourse not...he combines lyrical prowess, humour, and People saying hip hop sucks are foolish and ignorant. This was a great album reflecting outstanding production from the likes of Dre, Eminem, etc. 50 Cent was a refreshment of the documentary style lyrics of the gang life he came from. He does not glorify it....he merely tells a story. And he tells it well. You think he was a pimp? Ofcourse not...he combines lyrical prowess, humour, and what he's SEEN to create a lyrical documentary that will be a hip hop classic. Till next time you can find me in da club ;) Expand
  56. dildudemanna
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    this is so awsome
  57. LakshmiK
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    This was an amazing album! I love 50 cent !!!!! he totally rocks!!!!!!
  58. stephaniem
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    i loved this cd aswell 50 cent is amazing ******
  59. NickA.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    C'mon man... This record is hot...
  60. jaylejj
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    this cd was off the hook, i really enjoyed listening to it.
  61. RonnieD.
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    This CD Is off the hook It is the best CD of the year................
  62. winstondjanred
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    50 cent obviously isnt as good as tupac but then no one is and no one ever will be but judged on his own merits this album his excellent
  63. stanleyc
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    this cd is hot keep them coming 50
  64. ThomasH
    Mar 15, 2003
    10
    50 cent da best!
  65. RobertoM
    Mar 18, 2003
    10
    It's Great! I Love Every Song! 50Cent Rules!
  66. MandiE
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    I think that this is awsome nothing better and I also think 50cent is sexy as h*ll and I think is #1
  67. TRICEYJ
    May 15, 2003
    10
    50 baby all you gotta do is shake the hatters off.You know what I'm talking bout.Keep doing ya damn thing .You see what I gave you.Holla!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  68. G-Units
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    Too nice!!! I love it!!! That's real rap man!!
  69. Jun 8, 2011
    7
    50 Cent is FAR from being called the best Rapper. His flow is great but his lyrics aren't that great. Before he got shot and his tougue was swollen, 50 could rap great, but now he is nothing but a melody Rapper. Power of the Dollar was his best Album. Production was suberb on the Album and thats why it is remembered but come on. Take the beats from the song and have 50 rap this song you50 Cent is FAR from being called the best Rapper. His flow is great but his lyrics aren't that great. Before he got shot and his tougue was swollen, 50 could rap great, but now he is nothing but a melody Rapper. Power of the Dollar was his best Album. Production was suberb on the Album and thats why it is remembered but come on. Take the beats from the song and have 50 rap this song you would see how terrible he is. Expand
  70. May 5, 2012
    10
    $Yeeeeeuuuuhhhuuhhuueeeahhhh ma boi fiddy bump hard! ya' heard!$
  71. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    The production in this album is a straight 10. while i believe 50's lyrics are half assed for most of the album, the production simply cannot me ignored.
  72. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    This is by far 50's best album ever. Classic rap at it's best!! Dope beats and heavy bass when you blast this in your car. I've been a huge fan of 50 cent ever since I was a teenager. Two specific tracks to listen to is high all the time and won't back down.
  73. Mar 26, 2015
    7
    7.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  74. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    This is one of the greatest albums in the history of hip-hop. You can listen the whole entire album without skipping a song. The production on this album is great and what 50 Cent tells his stories of being shot nine times and being a drug dealer in great detail. 50 Cent definitely lived up to the hype that surrounded this album.
  75. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    This album is perfect.Not a single bad track on this project.I remember hearing songs like In da club,PIMP,21 questions and so on in the kindergarten so I think that gives an answer how memorable this album is.This is in my opinion top 10 rap albums of all time.Production is incredible,50s flow on point and although this album isn't lyrical,50 gives enough wordplay you can ask.
  76. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    Arguably 50's best work, Get rich or die tryin' is a hip-hop classic you can't miss. 50 is passionate, aggressive and on fire when he spits his angry rhymes. Also having an extra sharp Dre and Em production and guest features from the G-Unit crew and Eminem, GODT proves that all of the songs on the album have their place. The 2003 NY gangsta and club sound will leave you craving for more.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Unless you are the president of the NRA or addicted to Cops-type tales, 50 Cent's debut is strictly small change.
  2. More sonically adventurous than its mainstream look suggests.
  3. Only intermittently justifies the buzz surrounding the rapper's career.