User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 288

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2015
    9
    Arguably 50's best work, Get rich or die tryin' is a hip-hop classic you can't miss. 50 is passionate, aggressive and on fire when he spits his angry rhymes. Also having an extra sharp Dre and Em production and guest features from the G-Unit crew and Eminem, GODT proves that all of the songs on the album have their place. The 2003 NY gangsta and club sound will leave you craving for more.
  2. Mar 26, 2015
    7
    7.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  3. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    This is by far 50's best album ever. Classic rap at it's best!! Dope beats and heavy bass when you blast this in your car. I've been a huge fan of 50 cent ever since I was a teenager. Two specific tracks to listen to is high all the time and won't back down.
  4. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    This is one of the greatest albums in the history of hip-hop. You can listen the whole entire album without skipping a song. The production on this album is great and what 50 Cent tells his stories of being shot nine times and being a drug dealer in great detail. 50 Cent definitely lived up to the hype that surrounded this album.
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    The music and lyrics are okay, but for me, the production is somewhat not quite there yet. I love hip hop and 50 Cent is definitely talented. It's just that the album as a set feels static for me, not as special as I expected it to be.
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    The production in this album is a straight 10. while i believe 50's lyrics are half assed for most of the album, the production simply cannot me ignored.
  7. May 5, 2012
    10
    $Yeeeeeuuuuhhhuuhhuueeeahhhh ma boi fiddy bump hard! ya' heard!$
  8. Jun 8, 2011
    7
    50 Cent is FAR from being called the best Rapper. His flow is great but his lyrics aren't that great. Before he got shot and his tougue was swollen, 50 could rap great, but now he is nothing but a melody Rapper. Power of the Dollar was his best Album. Production was suberb on the Album and thats why it is remembered but come on. Take the beats from the song and have 50 rap this song you50 Cent is FAR from being called the best Rapper. His flow is great but his lyrics aren't that great. Before he got shot and his tougue was swollen, 50 could rap great, but now he is nothing but a melody Rapper. Power of the Dollar was his best Album. Production was suberb on the Album and thats why it is remembered but come on. Take the beats from the song and have 50 rap this song you would see how terrible he is. Collapse
  9. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Along with Marshall Matters Lp, Blueprint, Eminem Show, College Dropout, This few albums were the only classic hip hop albums released in the 2000s. 50cent took the music industry with surprise with this album but bigger thanks to Eminem and Dr Dre, i believe anyone who rides with Em and Dre cant lose. Classic !!!!!
  10. NickA.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    C'mon man... This record is hot...
  11. NeilL.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    It is very rare that I put a disc into my player without skipping a single track.
  12. DanA.
    Sep 23, 2007
    6
    Every moment 50 spends hitting new ground, he spends two more losing it. Songs like P.I.M.P. ask for praising him with no reason or justification why. It's like he thinks he's the shit just because two big names are behind him. Aside from a handful of tracks the production feels like stuff Em and Dre tosses aside because they couldn't work with it. 50's lyricism is Every moment 50 spends hitting new ground, he spends two more losing it. Songs like P.I.M.P. ask for praising him with no reason or justification why. It's like he thinks he's the shit just because two big names are behind him. Aside from a handful of tracks the production feels like stuff Em and Dre tosses aside because they couldn't work with it. 50's lyricism is comparable to that of Cam'Ron or Ja Rule, but he ends up appealing because of his thug gimmick. Expand
  13. MikeM.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    This is the most solid cd i have heard, Very rarely do i put a cd in and actually listen to every song without having to skip one. One of my top 3 albums of all time. Look out for Detox, September 2007. Same time as 50's new album: Curtis
  14. coreym.
    May 11, 2007
    1
    50 cent 1 what kind of names that two it the worst music ever der who the hell want to hear that shit fuck you
  15. RamzeezeB
    May 4, 2007
    10
    One of the best of all time!
  16. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    He's not pac or big, but who cares. The beats on this album make it a classic, and he is a talented lyricist even if the gangsta themes are repetitive. Underrated artist, fuck haters.
  17. bucky
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    this cd is awsome. curtis (aka 50 cent) is the shit man i met him hes cool fuck game man he is no good for nothin man same with ja rule man i heard about the sex tape with ja rule and the game fuckin fags man ill kill both of yah
  18. stephaniem
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    i loved this cd aswell 50 cent is amazing ******
  19. JoseG
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    One of the best CD;s ever made!!!! Truly outstanding, & screw that bitch Game.
  20. DanteS
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    this is 50 Cent in his Prime. Before all the fame 50 was an amazing rapper tearing up mixtapes in every city. Guess Whos Back was filled with sick beats and even better lyric. Get Rich or Die Tryin' 1 ups Guess Whos Back with quite possibly the best collabo in Hip-Hop for its time: Dr. Dre & 50 Cent. Sure 50 sucks now but dont hate on this album full of instant classics and 50 cent this is 50 Cent in his Prime. Before all the fame 50 was an amazing rapper tearing up mixtapes in every city. Guess Whos Back was filled with sick beats and even better lyric. Get Rich or Die Tryin' 1 ups Guess Whos Back with quite possibly the best collabo in Hip-Hop for its time: Dr. Dre & 50 Cent. Sure 50 sucks now but dont hate on this album full of instant classics and 50 cent at his prime Expand
  21. Tyrone
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest albums I have ever listened to. 50 cent is a little bit of BIG,Tupac, and Big L which explains his confidence/cockness noticible in every verse he spits. This album is a definite classic.
  22. joesmokin
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    vey gd 1of mi favs
  23. LakshmiK
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    This was an amazing album! I love 50 cent !!!!! he totally rocks!!!!!!
  24. No3l
    Oct 25, 2005
    0
    50 cents music sucks badly and his whole cd is garbage hes garbage and the whole g unit is wack THE GAME IS THE BEST
  25. JNolasen
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    People saying hip hop sucks are foolish and ignorant. This was a great album reflecting outstanding production from the likes of Dre, Eminem, etc. 50 Cent was a refreshment of the documentary style lyrics of the gang life he came from. He does not glorify it....he merely tells a story. And he tells it well. You think he was a pimp? Ofcourse not...he combines lyrical prowess, humour, and People saying hip hop sucks are foolish and ignorant. This was a great album reflecting outstanding production from the likes of Dre, Eminem, etc. 50 Cent was a refreshment of the documentary style lyrics of the gang life he came from. He does not glorify it....he merely tells a story. And he tells it well. You think he was a pimp? Ofcourse not...he combines lyrical prowess, humour, and what he's SEEN to create a lyrical documentary that will be a hip hop classic. Till next time you can find me in da club ;) Expand
  26. SamD
    Oct 3, 2005
    1
    he seems like such a nice guy, yet he writes this shit!?! i miss when rap meant something, then it only sucked. now it sucks with a vengence
  27. StormieH.
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    '50 Cent is the shit'? Yeah, he certainley is complete BULL SHIT!
  28. 50CentSucks
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Let me clear up a few things... 1. Getting shot is NOT COOL. Damnit, no one freakin cares that you were a drug dealer or whatever who got shot 50 times! 2. Get the tattooos off you. They're gross. They're digusting. They make me want to puke. 3. Stop paying anorexic girls to act like they like you. If I ever met a UGLY guy like 50 Cent at a club, I'd mace him, not rub my Let me clear up a few things... 1. Getting shot is NOT COOL. Damnit, no one freakin cares that you were a drug dealer or whatever who got shot 50 times! 2. Get the tattooos off you. They're gross. They're digusting. They make me want to puke. 3. Stop paying anorexic girls to act like they like you. If I ever met a UGLY guy like 50 Cent at a club, I'd mace him, not rub my botty on him and let him F me! 4. Stop showing off. Yes, we know you have money due to your mindless fans! Ne need to rub it in. 5. Get offm y TV. Seriousley, get out and take your skinny girls with you. This is horrible. Absolute trash. Hip hop should die out and soon! Expand
  29. dildudemanna
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    this is so awsome
  30. ReinholdW
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    Hip Hop in general is ridicolous.
  31. Figz
    Mar 16, 2005
    7
    lets juss say his first C.D. is way better then his secound C.D. The massacre 2 much love songs a 100% pure garbage unlike Get Rich it is better not 11times plantinum plus worthy but better
  32. davidfuckyou
    Mar 12, 2005
    0
    fuck 50, hes a weak artist,but a great businessman. still he's destroying what men like tupac, rakim, BIG, nas, grand masterflash etc. built!!
  33. rubenf
    Mar 10, 2005
    7
    for the new comer 50 cent eminiems prodege, this album is really good. the beats are bumpin and the songs are very impresive. accept for the tired shots taken at ja rule this album pretty good.
  34. ChrisM
    Feb 22, 2005
    5
    its ok. nothing great like jay-z's black albumn
  35. jimmya
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    50 is the best,,,, G UNIT
  36. AdamJ
    Feb 9, 2005
    3
    This isn't a bad album. But this is not the savior or rap, nor does rap really need a savior at the moment. Even dolts like this can sell 6 million copies. 50 cent wasn't a hot name for many years for a reason: He's a decent enough rapper but he's far from ever turning out anything classic, lyrically or musically. The guy just isn't a classic flow. He's spent This isn't a bad album. But this is not the savior or rap, nor does rap really need a savior at the moment. Even dolts like this can sell 6 million copies. 50 cent wasn't a hot name for many years for a reason: He's a decent enough rapper but he's far from ever turning out anything classic, lyrically or musically. The guy just isn't a classic flow. He's spent years going after Ja Rule, apparently because Ja Rule's men both shot AND stabbed him, but his public persona is "gangsta" when pretty much everyone who can remember "Boo Boo" knows better. Columbia let him go because they didn't see a future for him. His albums flopped and flopped again until his name got hooked into Eminem's and now he's riding Eminem's quickly declining star of fame. 50 will sell a couple million more here, but very quickly he's going ot become the 50 cent the public at first rejected, and for a reason: His flow sometimes falls behind any beat too challenging, his rhymes are juvenile, and as we can see with Candy Shop, he's now ripping off a formula he spent two years ridiculing (With the help of Eminem- truth be known, Eminem is the one who ripped Ja apart, not 50 cent.). All in all, a forgettable, pop rap album. Expand
  37. PhilB
    Nov 12, 2004
    3
    horrible........hes a fake, yea you sold drugs but who in the hood dont??? i give him props for survivin gettin shot but, it takes a man to do the shootin any1 can get shot. bout time he has a good album, no1 heard his first, it was terrible, he has eminem (one of the best lyricist ever) and dr dre (best producer in hip-hop) he gets a popular album but he dont get no street credit cause horrible........hes a fake, yea you sold drugs but who in the hood dont??? i give him props for survivin gettin shot but, it takes a man to do the shootin any1 can get shot. bout time he has a good album, no1 heard his first, it was terrible, he has eminem (one of the best lyricist ever) and dr dre (best producer in hip-hop) he gets a popular album but he dont get no street credit cause all aeropstale ppl bought it Expand
  38. jimjim
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    very good album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  39. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    durh ah'm stoopid, wow... this guy is such an illiterate fool
  40. MickeyBlueEyes
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    50 flipped the rap world upside down with this album,he has set himself a high standard to beat for his next album but with Em and Dre behind him,its best to just get outta his way,he's unstoppable!!
  41. 25Cent
    Jul 28, 2004
    9
    I Think This CD Was Good.People Just say it isnt because they wanna hate.I dont dissagree that Lloyd Banks Is Nice But EVERYONE IN G UNIT IS NICE.
  42. BH
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Yo, Get Rich or Die Tryin is a classic!!!! It goes harder then any debut albums from anyone. It is the hip-hop Thriller. Expect big things to come from 50. He will be one of the greatest rappers only to be surpassed by eminem. Dats wats up......G-Unit!!!
  43. Andres
    Apr 17, 2004
    4
    Its a very good album i enjoyed all the sounds especially patiently waitin and backdown but i also enjoyed ja's albums the same they are both talent artist.but they keep concenstratenin on being like pac,they need to set there own image.i mean is ok to admire someone but if u gonna diss another about being a wannabe dont be a wanna be urself like 50.look at it this way u r a fan of Its a very good album i enjoyed all the sounds especially patiently waitin and backdown but i also enjoyed ja's albums the same they are both talent artist.but they keep concenstratenin on being like pac,they need to set there own image.i mean is ok to admire someone but if u gonna diss another about being a wannabe dont be a wanna be urself like 50.look at it this way u r a fan of 50 if he die's and u become a rapper u will prolly dress like him becuz u admire him how would it feel for someone to come out of no wear and dissin u sayin u wanna be 50 and using 50's song to diss u like 50 did in reallest killaz. Expand
  44. ryanv
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    this album has something for everyone, alot of songs on this album didnt get the credit they deserved becausethe popular one were on the radio 24/7, the harder songs like blood hound and back down are masterpeices in them selves, this album is a work of art about one mans struggle on the streets of new york, who rose to greatness, its the one of the alltime best albums
  45. BrentP
    Feb 10, 2004
    3
    There are only 2 good tracks on this album ("Many Men" and Don't Push Me"). First of all, Ja Rule and 50 are both alike on the fact that they are stereotypical manstreemers. The only reason guys like the album because Em and Dre are involved and the only reason girls like the album is because he is good looking. I agree that the production on the album is exeptional but 50 just There are only 2 good tracks on this album ("Many Men" and Don't Push Me"). First of all, Ja Rule and 50 are both alike on the fact that they are stereotypical manstreemers. The only reason guys like the album because Em and Dre are involved and the only reason girls like the album is because he is good looking. I agree that the production on the album is exeptional but 50 just spoils the tracks with rhymes that lack creativity. He is not even the best in G-Unit. Lloyd Banks is incredible on "Dont Push Me." If there were any justice in this world, artist like Lloyd and Canibus would be getting these lucrative contracts instead of 50 and Rule. 3/10 at best mainly because of production. Expand
  46. ErnestK-H
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    it go hard
  47. G-Units
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    Too nice!!! I love it!!! That's real rap man!!
  48. jonnya
    Jan 5, 2004
    4
    with rhymes like .. "we can do what you like cuz i know you like that" this album is way too hyped and straight comercial
  49. jaylejj
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    this cd was off the hook, i really enjoyed listening to it.
  50. JesseA
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    this is my favourite music CD. its great!!! the first day i got it i listened to it 3 wholes times in one day!!! it could be a little better, if it had more songs with eminem and g-unit in.
  51. stingaj
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Off the hook!
  52. kc
    Nov 7, 2003
    0
    some day the world will wake up and realize that 50 cent isnt even rapping, HE IS TALKING PEOPLE!!50 cent is lyrically and vocally one of the worst rappers in the history of his genre. Even macho man randy savage's rap cd is better.
  53. TarynN
    Aug 19, 2003
    10
    this album is hot i think anybody who doesnt like this cd just dont know good music from bad but i am only 12 so what do i know? 50 cent is hot but not as hot as eminem this cd is the bomb!
  54. gsdsgdf
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    this is 1 ov my faverate cds it is f at
  55. BitBurn
    Jul 15, 2003
    6
    I'm definitely not racist here but there's just too much of this rap crap and 50Cents is just one too many. It?s Redundant, boring, clichéd, super-polished images/videos. Rap and Hip-Hop definitely needs a change cuz we've seen it all and I'm tires of it.
  56. AaronB
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    He did very good on this c.d. That is why i give him a 10 i still think Ja-rule is a bitch
  57. shataradonmore
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    I love this cd.
  58. RachelleDavies
    Jul 7, 2003
    9
    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  59. annas
    Jul 3, 2003
    0
    How many kids are going to listen to this garbage?Besides you don't want to buy it at all!!!
  60. fitysient
    Jun 26, 2003
    1
    lack of any creativity, humor or anything. 50 cent has no more talent then the average rapper. You'll only be buying this if you want to be part of a trend. 50 cent is hottest steam piece of shit. I give it a 1 because it was not worth my money, then i sold it for 9 bucks on ebay. At least I wasn't the only person who bought into the hype, so i only lost 5 bucks.
  61. YunaisisP
    Jun 22, 2003
    10
    It is the hottest thing for me and 50 cent is so so hot that i wish he was my man for life. YOU HOTT 50 LOVE ALWAYS YUNAISIS
  62. LeonelI
    Jun 22, 2003
    10
    This is the hottest album out. I've had this cd in my car deck without taking it out for months. Congratulations to 50, g-unit, eminem, and Dre. Keep making it hott.
  63. kaelar
    Jun 15, 2003
    10
    I love me some 50cent. He cd is so hot! 50 is the hottest rapper around. He is better than Ja-Rule all the way. Ja is so out dated becuz all of his songs are wack. I have a burned copy of 50's cd. Now im gonna buy the actuall cd becuz its worth $17.00.
  64. heyhey
    Jun 15, 2003
    0
    "Get rich or die tryin'? honestly.. what message is this sending to out children?
  65. heyhey
    Jun 15, 2003
    0
    "Get rich or die tryin'? honestly.. what message is this sending to out children?
  66. kirstenc
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    itz kool i realy like it
  67. AdamG
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    I'll give it a ten because of the song "21 Questions."
  68. helenj
    Jun 5, 2003
    10
    Wicked
  69. jacim
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    this cd is the best cd i have ever listened to (this and eminem) he is also SOOO sexy, who ever doesn't like this cd is a fag and doesn't deserve to live. GGG G-UNIT!
  70. LidiaP
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    hey your CD is the shit...
  71. 50'SWife
    May 27, 2003
    10
    50-Ja's lil punk ass aint s***! Ain't no one got nothin on you! Keep doin da damn thing and dont forget to Holla at ya girl!!!
  72. FreakyPeaches
    May 27, 2003
    10
    this shit is mother fucking tight fuck all who dout it? motherfucking Haters!!!!! Bitches
  73. DrewMoody
    May 26, 2003
    10
    Its the Best
  74. AbdullahX
    May 22, 2003
    10
    this is the hottest album out since all eyes on me by 2pac
  75. RobC
    May 21, 2003
    10
    50 is kick ass
  76. SueTurpening
    May 18, 2003
    10
    this album rocks!!!!!!!!
  77. terrenceimpak
    May 15, 2003
    10
    thats whats up
  78. TRICEYJ
    May 15, 2003
    10
    50 baby all you gotta do is shake the hatters off.You know what I'm talking bout.Keep doing ya damn thing .You see what I gave you.Holla!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  79. stretchstretch
    May 14, 2003
    10
    50 is tha hottest nigga to eva rap
  80. TashaR
    May 13, 2003
    10
    I love 50 he is so sexy exspecially with al them tattoos on his body. And hismusic is just like his image gangsta. I LOVE YOU 50!!!!!!!
  81. LatoiaC
    May 12, 2003
    10
    50 is tha best so for anyone who gave this CD less then 10 is nuten but hatters ggg-gunit all tha way babe 50 i luv u
  82. meganc
    May 10, 2003
    10
    fifty cebt is a good cd to listen to and it has a lot of songs that people would listen to
  83. TruloryT
    May 9, 2003
    9
    This is really good, plus he is gorgeous doing it
  84. kabaalucyber
    May 7, 2003
    10
    This c.d is the coolest. 50 cent should get an award as as the best up coming singer and his album is the best of the year.
  85. ronron
    May 5, 2003
    0
    There will be a rapper who has the skills of Tupac and Biggie combined but I think that 50cent will never measure of to them because their too deep and they can rap good, my opinion. Ja rule compared to him is a better rapper.
  86. ur
    May 5, 2003
    0
    the songs sound cheap, his rapping bores me, and he's ugly as h***. I don't think he's gonna make it. Yall say he's the shit but I know that there's a better rapper out there that is waiting come out, and soon you all will be bored with 50 cent because that's all he's worth.
  87. mookruibart
    May 3, 2003
    10
    50 is da shit!!!!
  88. TimL
    May 3, 2003
    1
    I think this cd should be rated #1 because it is so good and that 50 cent just rocks the house when he rocks
  89. denisee
    Apr 24, 2003
    1
    I don't like him at all. And is so ugly but i just like the song 21 Question.
  90. T.O.Speaks
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This is the best damn cd ever!!!!! I listened to it at my friend jakes house and we fell in love with it. 50 cent is better than any otha rappa out there he kixx major ASS
  91. CammyW
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    50 cent is so0o0o damn fine!!!!!!!
  92. ajdogg
    Apr 22, 2003
    10
    no one is near 50 cent, no wonder Jarule is saying shit about him....jealousy...50 keep it like this playa....hala chu boy... wanksta is ma favorate..... keep it this way nigger....
  93. SafeequahT
    Apr 20, 2003
    10
    that s a real bangin cd
  94. LaToyaT
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    This album that 50 released is to mutherfucking hard and real ass a bitch. Ain't nobody on his mutherfucking level, that's why that artificial ass nigga ja rule hating cause he been in the rap game longer but aint near 50. Fuck all haters and keep doing your Thug thizzell.
  95. MandiE
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    I think that this is awsome nothing better and I also think 50cent is sexy as h*ll and I think is #1
  96. AriellP.
    Apr 14, 2003
    9
    this album coulndn't be any better, he's keeping it real and coming hard core from the streets
  97. chelseya
    Apr 11, 2003
    1
    i think this cd should be rated #1because it is off the hook the music is tight the beat is bumpin and 50cent is so FINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!its my favorite cd well gotta bounce lataz chelsey!
  98. brandonj
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    the album is tight has some cructial songs like many men
  99. johnnyg
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    dis is one of the hottest albums in the country
  100. AudraonaB
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    This is a piece of history. He is just describing his emotions through his raps. He lyrically a genius.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Unless you are the president of the NRA or addicted to Cops-type tales, 50 Cent's debut is strictly small change.
  2. More sonically adventurous than its mainstream look suggests.
  3. Only intermittently justifies the buzz surrounding the rapper's career.