• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Gettin' In Over My Head Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: These thirteen tracks mark just the third solo disc for the former Beach Boys songwriter, and include songs that Wilson has written over the past two decades. Paul McCartney, Eric Clapton and Elton John guest. (Sorry, no Snoop Dogg or Missy Elliott.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. An unexpected but dazzling return to the top form of the later Beach Boys years.
  2. He has rediscovered the knack of making Beach Boys records again. And make no mistake, in sound if not personnel, this is a Beach Boys record. [Aug 2004, p.119]
  3. 70
    A valuable addition to his catalogue: the most consistent and sympathetically constructed solo album he's made. [Jul 2004, p.96]
  4. His voice is rough, the melodies fall flat, and there's even a guitar solo by Eric Clapton.
  5. If you've followed Wilson's treacherous saga, it's heartening how upbeat Getting' in Over My Head sounds, even with a fair number of tracks misfiring.
  6. 40
    He's labored, bombastic and pitch-challenged.... The lyrics are embarrassing. [Aug 2004, p.143]
  7. Everyone wants Brian Wilson's story to have a happy ending. The worst thing about Gettin' In Over My Head - far worse than the mediocre songs and the MOR guest appearances - is that it doesn't sound terribly happy.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. sallyl
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    a really good album dont care that much for the freind like you song
  2. alk
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    i really love this album!!
  3. jimrays
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    one othe best of the year
  4. ScottS
    Jun 26, 2004
    8
    Quit comparing everything Brian Wilson does to past glories. It blow away a lot of what current bands have been doing.
  5. JimA
    Aug 8, 2004
    8
    These songs that people are calling weak are better than 90% of music that has been released by anyone in the last 10 years. Shame on all of These songs that people are calling weak are better than 90% of music that has been released by anyone in the last 10 years. Shame on all of you for thinking that the 24yr old Brian Wilson still exists, he's still tremendously gifted and still can produce beautiful music. Lyrically its obviously simple, but so what... he's one of the all time greats, when is the last time Paul McCartney or the Rolling Stones had a good album?? He's still incredible. Expand
  6. SeamusS
    Mar 30, 2006
    6
    I, as many die hard Brian Wilson fans, can recognize his genius from his fun stuff. This is fun stuff, straight up. There's not alot of I, as many die hard Brian Wilson fans, can recognize his genius from his fun stuff. This is fun stuff, straight up. There's not alot of depth to it. It's got a nice feeling and gives you (somewhat) of an Idea as to what he's going to do on smile. There's some humor and some beauty. Not enough beauty to be a masterpeice though. Expand
  7. AdamG
    Jul 14, 2004
    2
    As a die-hard Wilson/Beach Boys fan for over 25 years, it tears me up to realize that this is one of the five single-worst Beach Boys-related As a die-hard Wilson/Beach Boys fan for over 25 years, it tears me up to realize that this is one of the five single-worst Beach Boys-related albums ever released. That makes two (1998's 'Imagination') bad albums in a row. The ONLY saving grace is the duet with Carl on "Soul Searchin'" and even THAT was better on bootlegs with The Beach Boys' backing vocals. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews