Ghosts I-IV

  • Record Label: N/A
  • Release Date: Apr 8, 2008
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    People who can't appreciate ambient music... Well, they can't appreciate ambient music. This is a terrific album, with relatively no flaws. No complaints. None.
  2. AlanL.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Whatever Reznor touches turns to gold! This release proves hes a level higher than almost anyone else. Hes one of the most ambicious, imaginative and concerned musicians today. This is the kind of record you woukld like to have with you on a desert highway at dusk. He just keeps getting closer to God!
  3. JasonL.
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Great album which evokes memories of The Fragile.
  4. BradleyH.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    I never write reviews and I look at the site daily. I have to state that who ever these music critics are and their opinions and critiques of artist work never reflects the true nature of the album being review. Trent Reznor makes art. These critics are writers and perhaps want-to-be musicians. We should all listen to each other when deciding to purchase a record. Who are these critics I never write reviews and I look at the site daily. I have to state that who ever these music critics are and their opinions and critiques of artist work never reflects the true nature of the album being review. Trent Reznor makes art. These critics are writers and perhaps want-to-be musicians. We should all listen to each other when deciding to purchase a record. Who are these critics anyway, what are there qualifications and why do we even care about their opinions. Music is art. Trent Reznor stands alone. Expand
  5. BobS.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Ghosts is Amazing! Trent is the most vital artist in the music industry today. The man is a f*cking genius!
  6. Brandon
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    Definitely an amazing instrumental album. Even if you're not a fan of NIN, and you respect creative artists who travel outside the box for true music, than you will definitely understand this album. Metacritic could have done a better job in the description...maybe by saying how the business model of this album blew Radiohead's In Rainbows out of the water. There's no doubt Definitely an amazing instrumental album. Even if you're not a fan of NIN, and you respect creative artists who travel outside the box for true music, than you will definitely understand this album. Metacritic could have done a better job in the description...maybe by saying how the business model of this album blew Radiohead's In Rainbows out of the water. There's no doubt he'll keep releasing his standard albums with vocals, but this is definitely refreshing to hear, especially if you were ever a fan of the instrumentals on The Fragile - this totally blows that away. Expand
  7. CharlesW.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Listening to this album was a definite and profound experience unlike anything else I've done or felt. Two good friends and I went out late at night in silence, listened to it as we watched the moon set and smoked cigarettes. Words can't fully describe this.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing album.
  9. AlvaroG.
    Apr 23, 2008
    8
    I don't like NIN, but this instrumental ambient-industrial album amused me. oh, and metacritic: according to http://ghosts.nin.com, ALL of the tracks are licensed under a Creative Commons license.
  10. JimmyR.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    This is really different, and that is a good thing.
  11. ElioS.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    The best album of the year.
  12. BarryC.
    Apr 9, 2008
    8
    As Reznor stated in a previous interview, Ghosts I-IV is indeed a soundtrack to a daydream. The album starts slowly through Ghosts I, which is mostly comprised of piano sections. II and III become something much more sinister with eerie moments of melodrama. IV concludes the album in only a way that Nine Inch Nails can, the last 6 or so tracks are some of the best on the album. The album As Reznor stated in a previous interview, Ghosts I-IV is indeed a soundtrack to a daydream. The album starts slowly through Ghosts I, which is mostly comprised of piano sections. II and III become something much more sinister with eerie moments of melodrama. IV concludes the album in only a way that Nine Inch Nails can, the last 6 or so tracks are some of the best on the album. The album performs best as background music, and would serve as an excellent soundtrack to a gritty film. While the album entertains, and introduces some new elements, it would be so much more with a vocal track by Reznor. Expand
  13. SimonN.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Different, but brilliant.
  14. EricC.
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    I'm not a NIN fan (I don't have anything against Reznor or his music, I just never took the time to get in to him) I am a huge fan of instrumental music. So I decided to pick up my first NIN album, and I really am surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I know NIN is supposed to be the tough guy's experimental music, but at times this album was simply beautiful. And when those I'm not a NIN fan (I don't have anything against Reznor or his music, I just never took the time to get in to him) I am a huge fan of instrumental music. So I decided to pick up my first NIN album, and I really am surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I know NIN is supposed to be the tough guy's experimental music, but at times this album was simply beautiful. And when those rough drones and menacing pianos get going, it only gets better. It may not be the high point of Reznor's career, but Ghosts is a very moody and pleasantly dark album that I would recommend to most people. It's far from perfect and may not be the most intellectually engaging album (look to Autechre for your artsy experimental epic) but it's definately worth checking out and is easy to appreciate. Expand
  15. KevinP.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Great album to do work to, some of the tracks are absolutely amazing, while others lack personality. Over 2 hours of music, very melodic, and totally worth the 5 dollar download fee.
  16. Wil
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    Its a great idea that was carried through a great way of sticking it to the man, not only does this make a great statement against the music industry but it equally makes an impression in the musical world itself: it is filled with varying worlds of sonic bliss. From blisteringly haunting tracks to slower, dense compositions that engulf the listener in awe. It is a remarkable work of art Its a great idea that was carried through a great way of sticking it to the man, not only does this make a great statement against the music industry but it equally makes an impression in the musical world itself: it is filled with varying worlds of sonic bliss. From blisteringly haunting tracks to slower, dense compositions that engulf the listener in awe. It is a remarkable work of art and is not a stunted, filtered version of label-restricting material. get it as soon as possible if you are one that can appreciate this effort. Expand
  17. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Just awesome sauce and not 150 characters long oh my r r r
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. At 36 tracks, Ghosts is as impressively ambitious as it is uneven and stunted.
  2. He shows here that he is much more than the swagger and smut of some of his previous releases. He has made it clear to the world that he has real vision and dexterity.
  3. Reznor's own hyperdetailed language defines the set: heaving synthesizers, doleful piano, alien-insect noises.