Ghosts I-IV - Nine Inch Nails
Ghosts I-IV Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nine Inch Nails releases a mostly instrumental album, with some tracks falling under the Creative Commons License instead of being copyrighted.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Finer minds than mine may find these pieces worthy of continuous attention. I say they're background music, there waiting when your mind drifts speakerward, just distracting enough to change up your mood in a useful way.
  2. 80
    A stunning collection of 36 instrumental tracks that is one of the most varied and ambitious releases of Reznor's career. [May 2008, p.104]
  3. 80
    Without Reznor's shouting, they're more hypnotic, even, at times, soothing. [June 2008, p.98]
  4. It's basically a minimalist record that coasts on one's predilection for NINoise.
  5. At 36 tracks, Ghosts is as impressively ambitious as it is uneven and stunted.
  6. This album is surely a success, its just there is a lot of things that a great album like 'My Life in the Bush of The Ghosts' (which Ghosts sincerely seems indebted to) have that are missing here.
  7. It's meant to be taken as surface, perhaps skimmed for samples, but generally to be used as mildly unsettling mood music--a specialty of Reznor's, to be sure, but he's better and scarier when his ideas are more finely honed than they are here.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. BobS.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Ghosts is Amazing! Trent is the most vital artist in the music industry today. The man is a f*cking genius!
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Just awesome sauce and not 150 characters long oh my r r r Expand
  3. BradleyH.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    I never write reviews and I look at the site daily. I have to state that who ever these music critics are and their opinions and critiques of artist work never reflects the true nature of the album being review. Trent Reznor makes art. These critics are writers and perhaps want-to-be musicians. We should all listen to each other when deciding to purchase a record. Who are these critics anyway, what are there qualifications and why do we even care about their opinions. Music is art. Trent Reznor stands alone. Expand
  4. KevinP.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Great album to do work to, some of the tracks are absolutely amazing, while others lack personality. Over 2 hours of music, very melodic, and totally worth the 5 dollar download fee. Collapse
  5. JasonL.
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Great album which evokes memories of The Fragile.
  6. AlvaroG.
    Apr 23, 2008
    8
    I don't like NIN, but this instrumental ambient-industrial album amused me. oh, and metacritic: according to http://ghosts.nin.com, ALL of the tracks are licensed under a Creative Commons license. Expand
  7. SquiddyM.
    Apr 12, 2008
    2
    An awful affront to the senses. If you could take a 10 car pile up and turn it into abstract noise with a rudimentary beat, it would be this album. The tracks are all very similar, and a good most of them are absolute rubbish, which is probably why we've been provided with so many of them. Quality over quantity is what you want from an album, especially when NIN have proven time and again that they are capable of quality works that don't make your ears bleed. Ghosts leaves you with a feeling that just about anyone could have made these tracks, and you can certainly find a lot of better broody instrumentals for free, which begs the question, if Ghosts wasn't NIN, would anyone pay for it? At the end of the day Ghosts fails to satisfy, though if you're into the sound of heavily distorted noise mixed with a dial tone, you may just find it listenable. Everyone else would find their money better spent on a hooker with a venereal disease. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews