Ghosts Of The Great Highway

  • Record Label: Jet Set
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2003
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jarvisp
    Jan 9, 2004
    10
    This is what Ryan Adams, Wilco, and all the Ben's have been trying to make, and cannot. The loud jangles and crisp vocals of Kozelek are unmatched as this surpasses all his previous outputs (incl. RHP)
  2. RobC
    May 24, 2004
    8
    Excellent work from Kozalek and co. Many superlatives have been used to sum up his RHP work and his newer stuff. Suffice to stay haunting and emotional always rise to the top. For anyone who favours the long term rewards that come from listening to albums of this quality, you will not be disappointed. I was a bit surprised by the Spanish influences though.
  3. NealK
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    I gave this album a 10 because it has a beautiful sentiment to it which brings life through emotion to your bones. It has litterally filled me with joy musically and lyrically. It has a magic quality and I guess that is because I've followed Mark down through the years and this Perfect album sums up his back catalogue. It is a truly wonderful album. Just makes you think how fortunate I gave this album a 10 because it has a beautiful sentiment to it which brings life through emotion to your bones. It has litterally filled me with joy musically and lyrically. It has a magic quality and I guess that is because I've followed Mark down through the years and this Perfect album sums up his back catalogue. It is a truly wonderful album. Just makes you think how fortunate we are to be alive and not having closed our eyes to the stars. Expand
  4. TomJ
    Dec 9, 2003
    10
    There is no music that I own that evokes more emotion than that of Mark Kozelek. "Ghosts..." keeps that trend alive.
  5. peten
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    Haunting at times, brimming with beauty the next.
  6. JuggyT
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    Personal favorite of 2000's so far. Can't wait for his next.
  7. IanC
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    This is a great album, from the guitar playing to the lyrics. The album as a whole is like a soft blanket pulled over you, it feels good.
  8. KimH
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    Two years later, and I still cannot get enough of this album. Every time I play "Carry Me, Ohio" for someone who has never heard of them, I gain an instant fan. The melodies are beautiful, the lyrics haunting, and Kozelek's voice is ethereal.
  9. MichaelM
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    This is my life support record, one of the best albums I'll ever hear, I'm sure.
  10. Darryl
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    His voice is so soaring that the harmonies tend to bury the clever lyrics and most capable accompanying bandmates. Nothing's missing here. Great songs, great singer, great band. Gentle Moon burys the entire state catalogue of Tennessee.
  11. PaulRocks
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    The is possibly Kozeleks best and most consistant body of work. It is an album of stunning melodies merging acoustic and electric to beautiful effect as he recalls the "Ghosts" of the titles. It culminates in the mighty Duk Koo Kim which weighs in at 14 minutes ( and is apparently the number of rounds the boxer of the title fought in his tragic fight that claimed his life)
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The net result is a crisp, sometimes crunchy, and often lush collection of songs that show Kozelek at his best since... Songs for a Blue Guitar.
  2. Alternative Press
    70
    A refreshing slice of acoustic rock from an indie icon. [Nov 2003, p.114]
  3. Ghosts Of The Great Highway is all soft spots but no weak spots.