User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 104
  2. Negative: 1 out of 104

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2010
    I go through phases with this album, but the last few months it has been fantastic. 'Infinite Pet' is unfortunately filler and deadly boring, 'was it you?' meanders and never finds itself - the same could be said about 'never got you' but the hand-claps at the end are irresistible. 'My mathematical mind' and 'the beast, the dragon, adored' build to satisfying rocky fuzz conclusions. piano and drum loops in 'Merchants of soul' are catchy, and who can ignore the guitar romps of 'sister jack' and 'turn my camera on' that are typical of the album, and highlights of both the record and spoons whole discography Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    Every person who likes rock should own this album. Dark, polished, concise, crafty, witty. Is it Britt Daniel or John Lennon singing on this album? Man, does he have a great voice! All songs on this album are amazing. Great guitar riffs and pop classic feel to this album. My favorite Spoon song is on this album... I Summon You. This is my favorite Spoon album (that is saying a lot), one of the decade's best overall. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    Gimme Fiction was the start of a new Spoon. Kill The Moonlight was like an art punk album. Gimme Fiction is going for more of the Avant Garde sound. The songs are a little bit longer and drawn out but every track on this album is great. It's a more mature Spoon album that I'm sure fans of Spoon will appreciate. A-

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. The overall effect can be vaguely schizo -- many of these tracks seem more like cool fragments than true songs.
  2. There is no "The Way We Get By" on this record, as this is far more an album of interlocking pieces than an album of singles that neither makes a naked grab for the turnstiles nor an uprecedented reach for reinvention. [#9]
  3. It is phenomenal.