Girl on Fire - Alicia Keys
Girl on Fire Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth release for the R&B singer features co-written with such artists as Babyface, Gary Clark Jr., Dr. Dre, John Legend, Bruno Mars, Frank Ocean, and Emeli Sandé.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    86
    Her fifth and arguably most consistent album to date.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    Keys has rarely ever sounded so at ease, so downright sensual, as she does as her latest.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    75
    Like Stevie Wonder--who could throw together cloying ballads, funky grooves and reggae homages--Keys is willing to probe her oeuvre and now her own self for songs that resonate beneath the surface.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    After a pair of bombastic anthems--including the oddly written "Girl on Fire," which has her "living in a world, and it's on fire," then "on top of the world" with "both feet on the ground" and "our head in the clouds"--the album loses its grip.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    No flame then, but her light shows no sign of going out. [Jan 2013, p.112]
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Girl on Fire is less a portrait of Keys's womanhood at a crossroads as it is another extension of a career spent predominantly navigating straight down the middle of the road.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Ultimately, though, it still cleaves too close to the polite piano soul with which Keys has filled 10 years.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Alicia once again, prove why is one of the most and greatest artists of new generation... This album is amazing. Every track... every lyric... it's crazy!! We felling the emotion of his voice. She's so wonderful... I love her.

    My favorite song? ALL, for sure.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Her vocal style and musicianship get better and better with each album. I would have assumed that a pop artist like her would get more and more generic, but instead she keeps pouring out her heart in new and creative ways. The way she hits those keys and uses that voice is just unbelievable. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this album very much. Its creative and interesting, while going back to her roots at the same time. Her vocals, as usual, are amazing and dynamic. Im a huge fan of Alicia Keys, but bad song writing, and over the top poppy producing seem to get in the way of simply enjoying her voice. This time around I can say it is Alicia Keys who shines through, and she has never sounded better. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    A Great Album! One Of Alicia' Best Albums!
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    I like this album, great songs, Keys comes with kinda of different sound (like New Day, Girl on fire, Limitedless), but she sounds good on slower-piano ballads: Like Brand new me, listen your heart, fire we make, Not Even the King... Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    7
    Maybe on the cover is written Girl on Fire, but this is an album by woman and for woman.

    It is beautiful, strong, and so grown up. From
    fierce ballad "Brand New Me", almost jazzy ambiental "When it’s All Over" and "Listen to Your Heart" to upbeat "New Day" and Inferno version of "Girl on Fire" with Nicki Minaj to set of four ballads: "Fire We Make" (duet with Maxwell), "Tears Always Win", "Not Even the King" and "That’s When I Knew". Album ends with Beyonce-sque "Limitedless", soft ballads "One Thing" and "101" with hidden outro.

    It is a bit different from her previous albums (as intro "De Novo Adagio" warns me of that), but I like it very much. Thing that got my attention is cohesiveness of album which (to me) gives appearance of “spilling” songs into each other which is amazing. Also like it is divided into three parts – first six songs being first, block of ballads being second and last three songs with outro last one.
    First part really carries the album, where we met this new, strong and independent woman who is learned to learn from her mistakes, who is satisfied with herself and does not want to waste time. She wants it all, and she wants it now. This part peaks with Inferno version of Girl on Fire dominated by drum beat and Nicki Minay raping. And I must say I adore the way Alicia says fire – like two-syllable damn =). I am slowly beginning to be addicted to this song.
    Second part is more like old Alicia. Piano and Alicia, accurately. Well, and Maxwell in "Fire We Make". Just to calm things a bit before goes third part and "Limitedless" shakes us up. Last song on album is "101" and magnificently massive outro which could easily be part of Don Davis’ Matrix.
    Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    This is one of the worst songs I think I have ever heard. There is no creativity in this song. What's happening in the music biz, very selective artists are left with true talent. Now back to muse. That's creativity. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews