Girl on Fire - Alicia Keys
Girl on Fire Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth release for the R&B singer features co-written with such artists as Babyface, Gary Clark Jr., Dr. Dre, John Legend, Bruno Mars, Frank Ocean, and Emeli Sandé.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    86
    Her fifth and arguably most consistent album to date.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    Keys has rarely ever sounded so at ease, so downright sensual, as she does as her latest.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    75
    Like Stevie Wonder--who could throw together cloying ballads, funky grooves and reggae homages--Keys is willing to probe her oeuvre and now her own self for songs that resonate beneath the surface.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    After a pair of bombastic anthems--including the oddly written "Girl on Fire," which has her "living in a world, and it's on fire," then "on top of the world" with "both feet on the ground" and "our head in the clouds"--the album loses its grip.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    No flame then, but her light shows no sign of going out. [Jan 2013, p.112]
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Girl on Fire is less a portrait of Keys's womanhood at a crossroads as it is another extension of a career spent predominantly navigating straight down the middle of the road.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Ultimately, though, it still cleaves too close to the polite piano soul with which Keys has filled 10 years.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this album very much. Its creative and interesting, while going back to her roots at the same time. Her vocals, as usual, are amazing and dynamic. Im a huge fan of Alicia Keys, but bad song writing, and over the top poppy producing seem to get in the way of simply enjoying her voice. This time around I can say it is Alicia Keys who shines through, and she has never sounded better. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    From the intimacy of NEAK, BNM, and 101 to the midtempos of When Its All Over, Listen to Your Heart, and Limitedless, GOF gives its listeners everything and then some. Perfect album from an amazing musician. I couldnt ask for more, but maybe more songs! Collapse
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Alicia once again, prove why is one of the most and greatest artists of new generation... This album is amazing. Every track... every lyric... it's crazy!! We felling the emotion of his voice. She's so wonderful... I love her.

    My favorite song? ALL, for sure.
    Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    I really like it. It is totally beautiful Alicia Keys awesomeness. Well written songs paired with a few songs catered for the radio.The critics must be tripping on something. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    I like this album, great songs, Keys comes with kinda of different sound (like New Day, Girl on fire, Limitedless), but she sounds good on slower-piano ballads: Like Brand new me, listen your heart, fire we make, Not Even the King... Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Good album from very talented Alicia, i liked it. It was not as amazing as some of her previous work, but still good. Girl on fire is the best song, even with Nicki Minaj, and Brand new me is also very good. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    This is one of the worst songs I think I have ever heard. There is no creativity in this song. What's happening in the music biz, very selective artists are left with true talent. Now back to muse. That's creativity. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews