Give Up

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Feb 18, 2003
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 127

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2015
    10
    Easily one of the greatest albums I have ever heard in my life. It is a shame these guys will never reunite for a follow up of this. I love every song on this album, but "Clark Gable" and "We Will Become Silhouettes" are my two personal favorites.
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Unique, pure, astonishing and original. This is the only album that The Postal Service has ever released, but it's an absolute work of art. With its unique synthesized tracks to it's well written songs delivered by the lead singer from Death Cab For Cutie. Sadly, this album as well as the artist is not as well known as it should be, they get credibility for their most famous song "SuchUnique, pure, astonishing and original. This is the only album that The Postal Service has ever released, but it's an absolute work of art. With its unique synthesized tracks to it's well written songs delivered by the lead singer from Death Cab For Cutie. Sadly, this album as well as the artist is not as well known as it should be, they get credibility for their most famous song "Such Great Heights" and pretty much nothing else. This album combines melancholy with happiness and the two mix perfectly, and create some of the most absurdly catch tracks I have ever had the pleasure of hearing. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    For an album made almost a decade ago, this is still some of the most original material I have ever heard. The light and conscious lyricism, the various blips and bleeps make it so fun to listen to. Everything feels like it was put together one piece at a time, but of all the things that have been done like that, this feels RIGHT. The vocals are relaxing, perfect for any time of the day.For an album made almost a decade ago, this is still some of the most original material I have ever heard. The light and conscious lyricism, the various blips and bleeps make it so fun to listen to. Everything feels like it was put together one piece at a time, but of all the things that have been done like that, this feels RIGHT. The vocals are relaxing, perfect for any time of the day. This makes a definite top 5 for myself personally. Haven't listened to it? Go buy it and be a cool person. Collapse
  4. May 25, 2011
    10
    One of the few albums I still regularly listen to after nearly 5 years of owning it. I'm so glad I found this; I only wish I'd found it earlier. Brilliant.
  5. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Give Up is really different. Nothing you'll ever hear. It's a beautiful album. Ben Gibbard's smooth lyrics and vocals go perfectly with the pop synth beats. The opener "The District Sleeps Alone Tonight" is a wonderful track to start the album off with. "Sleeping In" and Such Great Heights" Are also great songs. Each song really stands out. All In All, The tracks are amazing and the synthGive Up is really different. Nothing you'll ever hear. It's a beautiful album. Ben Gibbard's smooth lyrics and vocals go perfectly with the pop synth beats. The opener "The District Sleeps Alone Tonight" is a wonderful track to start the album off with. "Sleeping In" and Such Great Heights" Are also great songs. Each song really stands out. All In All, The tracks are amazing and the synth beats will stay in your head. A- Expand
  6. VladimirL.
    Jul 15, 2009
    7
    Awesome music. Decent vocals. Horrendous lyrics. Annoying fans. The kind of album you never let anyone know you actually like.
  7. alexf
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    Great album
  8. LukasF
    Jul 24, 2007
    9
    Not only is the technopop beat addictive, but the vocals blend wonderfully into each song. Absolutely amazing.
  9. PeterK
    May 8, 2007
    8
    A really good album that can easily become addictive. However some of the lyrics can be a real turnoff.. If it were not for the killer minimal electro beats and composition this album would not be worth an 8
  10. SigurðurE
    Mar 31, 2007
    9
    One of the best album i know from genius
  11. AlexS
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Brilliant!
  12. LuddeP
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    Best voice ever, lyrics that do mean something, and addictive rhythms.
  13. AE
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    ben gibbard = brilliant. love him love him love him. what amazing music
  14. EmmaM
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    I really enjoy this album-it has the perfect balance of indie edge, but also has a soft side to it. Jolly good gents!
  15. JennaP.
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    So I normally reserve my '10s' for Sufjan Stevens and..well that's about it but I must say that Give Up most definitely deserves it. There truly isn't a weak link in the chain. To the contrary of what some critics say, I believe this is a classic and a touchstone in electronica/indie pop music.
  16. MattJ
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    Put it this way, its been in my car for 2 years!
  17. MarlaS
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    It was an immediate attraction from hearing clips in some great indie films such as wicker park, imaginary heroes and the sweetfilled lyrics of such great heights whispered from iron and wine in garden state. Who is this? what is this?!?!?! I MUST HAVE IT. mmm my most precious cd in my collection. the one that never lets me down and cant seem to stay away from my player. The lyrics are so It was an immediate attraction from hearing clips in some great indie films such as wicker park, imaginary heroes and the sweetfilled lyrics of such great heights whispered from iron and wine in garden state. Who is this? what is this?!?!?! I MUST HAVE IT. mmm my most precious cd in my collection. the one that never lets me down and cant seem to stay away from my player. The lyrics are so true but spoken in terms not most commonly used.i had never heard anything so unique and i indulge more in the postal service than i do with Gibbards death cab. Expand
  18. ArmandoA
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    Simple often means better. This album shows this at a new level. One of the few albums I can listen to again and again without skipping tracks. Simply the best there is in indi/electronica music.
  19. DavidM
    Jan 24, 2006
    9
    One great pop song after another. Every time I turn my back it's found it's way back in the CD player. Pure osmosis.
  20. MacT
    Jan 9, 2006
    9
    Gibbard needed something. This was it.
  21. ToddJ
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    This Album is just amazing
  22. marshalls
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    i absolutely love this album. i enjoy to listening to a variety of music and albums, mixing things up... but there was a 3 week period where this was all i listened to. magnificent duo.
  23. IsraelB
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    best indie pop album for 2003
  24. KevinW
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    Very beautiful, subtle music, especially This Place is a Prison and Nothing Better. Such Great Heights is also a great pop song.
  25. MichaelB
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    There is something about the music... it's great
  26. MarkS
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    This a terriffic album with some of the best songs I've heard in ages. Tamborello is a real talent in creating textures that are at once rough and lovely, and richly rewarding on close listening. The only weakness is the uneven quality of the lyrics which range from the sublime (as in The District Sleeps Alone Tonight) to the, er, less sublime (Nothing Better), sometimes in the same This a terriffic album with some of the best songs I've heard in ages. Tamborello is a real talent in creating textures that are at once rough and lovely, and richly rewarding on close listening. The only weakness is the uneven quality of the lyrics which range from the sublime (as in The District Sleeps Alone Tonight) to the, er, less sublime (Nothing Better), sometimes in the same song (Such Great Heights). Expand
  27. LuisI
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    one of the best
  28. AlexandraA
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    the postal service is amazing! its addicting i just have to listen to it. i know no other that can come close to the postal service
  29. PaulH
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    Highly addictive stuff that's already starting to spawn off copy-cats ( Digital Ash...).
  30. BenD
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    When you put Ben Gibbard and Jenny Lewis (Two of the best voices in indie rock) together along with the infectious beats of Jimmy Tamborello, only good things will come out of it
  31. AlexanderA
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
  32. KevinL
    May 31, 2005
    10
    LOVE IT!!! it's the best music for me so far
  33. DaveP
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Don't be told this is depressing - this is dreamy hope at its best. The combination of Gibbard's naive, innocent lyrics and voice and Tamborello's sophisticated electronica beats mix into something wonderful. I've recommended this to so many people - and now you too!
  34. Clare
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    I love this CD. It is my drug.
  35. Mo
    Mar 14, 2005
    10
    I can't stop listening to this CD. It's definitely the best I have heard in a long time. Love Ben Gibbard's voice and coupled with the synth style of Jimmy Tamborello, the package is superb!
  36. Monica
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    I love this CD-- I can relate to all of the songs so well its the perfect emo cd and u have to check out their new single Be Still My Heart its great
  37. yikut
    Mar 10, 2005
    1
    after dntel's 'life is full of possiblites' and 'evan & chan' i had such high hopes for this. it was such a disappointment. ive tried several times to listen to it but for me, it lacks any sort of strength or reason. i was expecting something with the emotional force of 'evan and chan' and a little more of dntel in there. i was also disappointed that the after dntel's 'life is full of possiblites' and 'evan & chan' i had such high hopes for this. it was such a disappointment. ive tried several times to listen to it but for me, it lacks any sort of strength or reason. i was expecting something with the emotional force of 'evan and chan' and a little more of dntel in there. i was also disappointed that the idm elements of dntel were all watered down. it was more figurine than dntel. im glad that so many people liked it and will maybe go back and find some dntel. for me, i just couldnt get into it. Expand
  38. andyc
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    give up is one of the greatest albums i have ever heard. ever time i listen to one of the songs it sounds just as amazing as the first time i heard it.
  39. jacks
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    This album is the best I have ever heard. Nuff said.
  40. slinkykittyjo
    Jan 15, 2005
    9
    Just introduced to this cd and it caught my ears. I love the synth and the beat machine. the melancholic melodies and harmonies. present feelings with an '80's flavor.
  41. LawrenceP
    Dec 26, 2004
    8
    8 really amazing songs with "we will become silhouettes" being the best.
  42. Jeremy
    Dec 9, 2004
    6
    Very catchy and poppy. But the sounds design is a little simple. Every sound feels like it comes straight from a synthesizer with no manipulation whatsoever. Tons of basic wave formations, and every drum sound comes directly from that machine that your little brother has. If more emphasis was put on the sound design, would be amazing.
  43. DerekB
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    This cd has been in my daily for well over 9 months now, and no sight of it not being there anytime soon.
  44. sarah
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    this cd is great, absolutly amazing!
  45. sonja
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    i really never liked techno..pop...dance...but i absolutely LOOVE this cd...they are so great..its beautiful music
  46. bobby
    Aug 21, 2004
    9
    great cd. better than death cab, even better then all time quarterback, although great, they are still no comparison. i hope they will make another disc, although, i dont think ill be holding my breath.
  47. Tekelia
    Aug 12, 2004
    10
    if i could give this cd an 11 i would, shit ya
  48. RyantheMighty
    Aug 12, 2004
    9
    Really, I can't imagine how this album could be much better. I highly recomend drinking a decent bottle of red wine, lighting some candles and letting yourself get taken away by this album. Enjoy
  49. Kimberly
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The Postal Service can take you to a plane that is..beyond reality...the depth and heights of this music is incredible. You cannot pass up on this album. "The District Sleeps Alone Tonight" is one of the most incredible songs I have ever heard and probably ever will. These guys deserve their props.
  50. JeanL
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    The is the most amazing album. One of my favorites of all time!
  51. alanj
    May 24, 2004
    10
    Awesome...
  52. Shane
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    Unmistakably amazing...
  53. gooseguy
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    BEST ALBUM OF 2003 BY FAR..pure heart and soul was put into this album..makes me feel happy and puts me in a great mood ... also makes you want to dance.... in this crazy world WE NEED MORE MUSIC LIKE THIS!!! these artists have got what it takes to become one band...only complaint i have is that it ends to soon:( lets hear it for the postal service... they delivered a great message and BEST ALBUM OF 2003 BY FAR..pure heart and soul was put into this album..makes me feel happy and puts me in a great mood ... also makes you want to dance.... in this crazy world WE NEED MORE MUSIC LIKE THIS!!! these artists have got what it takes to become one band...only complaint i have is that it ends to soon:( lets hear it for the postal service... they delivered a great message and sound to me. I will be waiting for postal service to deliver me many, many, many more c.d.'s in the near future!!!! thanx guys for one of the best musical experiences of my life!!!! Expand
  54. AnonymousMC
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    i hate dance music, but this is possibly the most beautiful collection of songs i've heard. can't stop listening to it
  55. WM
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Gibbard has the best voice ever. The music is perfect and every song on the CD is great. It's one of the most consistantly good CDs I've ever heard. You can listen to it alot, it's hard to get tired of. Death Cab is at the same level. People that complain about the lyrics need to buy a dictionary and actually pay attention to what he's saying!
  56. BenM
    Sep 26, 2003
    7
    Although the music and vocals sound excellent, the lyrics are often quite ridiculous. I would be embarrassed if Sleeping In popped up on iTunes while I had people over!
  57. DanielE
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    I have listened to other music since I found the Postal Service three months ago, but I would rather have been listening to PS. It's the most fulfilling sound I have ever heard. I plan to pay these guys to make more myself if I ever get rich.
  58. cliffh
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    They got such an awesome sound.
  59. [Anonymous]
    Jul 21, 2003
    10
    by far the greatest cd of 2003!
  60. JCP
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    an absolute addiction. The only problem with the disc arises when you ask what will happen if they don't make another. 3 hours with this and you'll have the month's music sorted.
  61. Loren
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    This album is brilliant..amazing. It makes you fel like you're floating. Makes you want to cry, makes you want to dance. Makes you want to sing. It's incredible.
  62. TrevorC
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    The best synthpop I've heard in years!
  63. colinm
    Apr 21, 2003
    10
    there only one thing to say about this cd rock.............simple rock
  64. NicholasK
    Mar 19, 2003
    9
    Simply put, this album is the most charming synth pop album in many years. The catchy melodies perfectly match the adorable lyrics, and the experience is utterly irresistable. I love this album...
  65. saturnh
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    lovely, just lovely.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Some people who liked the more experimental side of Tamborello's DNTEL project will simply find it a little too boppy for their liking, but it's one of those little discs that practically drills down into your subconscious.
  2. The core tension between Tamborello's complex, almost impossibly dense production and Gibbard's cutting voice makes Give Up a pretty damned strong record, and one with enough transcendent moments to forgive it its few substandard tracks and some ungodly lyrical blunders.
  3. Mojo
    80
    Somewhere between Faultline's bedroom-boffin invention and Stephen Merritt's pensive elegance. [May 2003, p.99]