Glass Swords Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length album for the Scottish producer Russell Whyte.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    It all makes Glass Swords a vivid, liberating experience (and, as a by-product, makes the canned wobble of dubstep seem oppressive).
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    90
    Glass Swords feels and sounds like a cohesive statement, and a strong one at that.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    I found hooks I hadn't noticed while playing it worming through my head days later, and there's no better testimonial to Rustie's managed moreness than that.
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    This album is loud, obnoxious, personal, and a hell of a lot of fun.
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Glass Swords shows just the right amount of restraint to prevent total disarray.
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    An exhilarating brand of digital soul. [Nov 2001, p.103]
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    60
    Glass Swords places him squarely out there on his own, programming the kind of computer-game fluoro-rave crunk that's easy to admire but hard to love. [Nov 2011, p.97]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    There is nothing out there that comes even close to this. I mean where else can you get Hip Hop, The Legend of Zelda, Prog-rock and Daft Punk all in the same place? Collapse
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Glass Swords is like a 12 puppies wrapped up in a cybernetic ball of cookie dough. It's the epitome of fresh. Horrible review, I know, but it needed to be said. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    lolololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololo Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Freshman 15: 2011's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2011's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 6, 2011
    Which new artists impressed critics the most in 2011? Find out inside, where we rank the 15 best-reviewed debut albums of the year.
  2. October's Best New Music

    October's Best New Music Image
    Published: November 1, 2011
    Last month's best new albums include the latest from Tom Waits, Russian Circles, The Field, and more. Get the full list inside, where you can find out more about each LP, listen to a track from each one, and get links to stream the full albums at Spotify.