Glasvegas

  • Record Label: SonyBMG
  • Release Date: Jan 6, 2009
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 56
  2. Negative: 8 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KymP.
    Jan 7, 2009
    5
    Musically, it's not too bad. It has some catchy, well fleshed out hooks and reasonable song progression. But, just as Jay K mentioned, the lyrics are atrocious. Daddy's Gone is indeed, juvenile...but listening to the track 'Stabbed' is simply painful. Also, the multiple quoting of known rhymes or pop references "You are my sunshine, my only sunshine..", "Liar liar Musically, it's not too bad. It has some catchy, well fleshed out hooks and reasonable song progression. But, just as Jay K mentioned, the lyrics are atrocious. Daddy's Gone is indeed, juvenile...but listening to the track 'Stabbed' is simply painful. Also, the multiple quoting of known rhymes or pop references "You are my sunshine, my only sunshine..", "Liar liar pants on fire" "What's the story, morning glory" etc is sickening. Ugh. Expand
  2. JimP.
    Dec 26, 2008
    3
    If ever there was proof that newspaper music critics are sheep this is it. A flailing, overbaked, simplistic, cowpat of an album - sung by a dreadful 80-style vocalist. But praised to the hilt by newspapers/magazines/websites. The man from Sputnikmusic rightly pointed out that no less than seven "proper" reviewers compared this to Definitely Maybe. Nonsense.No one will be listening to If ever there was proof that newspaper music critics are sheep this is it. A flailing, overbaked, simplistic, cowpat of an album - sung by a dreadful 80-style vocalist. But praised to the hilt by newspapers/magazines/websites. The man from Sputnikmusic rightly pointed out that no less than seven "proper" reviewers compared this to Definitely Maybe. Nonsense.No one will be listening to this in five years' time. I promise. Expand
  3. MatthewW.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    It's not often that I feel compelled to review an album, or get wrapped up in hype for a new band, but I gave Glasvegas a chance as it was only a fiver on 7digital. I can say, without doubt, it is worth every penny, and then some. Quite frankly, one of the most surprisingly brilliant debuts I've ever had the pleasure to listen to, a masterpiece.
  4. JonathanB.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    A once in a generation fantastic album.
  5. ShazK.
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    Simply put - a totally stunning album.
  6. MojoPin
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    Genuine and sincere, that's what makes it stand out against all the other copy-cat crap that's out there.
  7. WesM.
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    The tunes are like Oasis-meets-the-Jesus-and-Mary-Chain-meet-the-Kooks, good lyrics, though I admit I think the Scottish brogue is only really charming when not wailing over music.
  8. JayK
    Oct 22, 2008
    4
    Despite all the hype, this album is not that good. Musically, it does stop you in your tracks when you hear its sound. Lyrically, however, it is brain-dead. Most 14-year old children of divorced parents could write more meaningful lyrics than those of "Daddy's gone". This song reminds me of Mike Myers singing "Just the two of us" in Austin Powers.
  9. Will
    Oct 24, 2008
    6
    I was dissappointed. The first few songs are excellent but the rest is a bit uninspiring and the music becomes a little bland and predictable.
  10. GM
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    Dynamite album, one of the only albums to capture Glasgow....period. Love the fact that theu don't change the slang words to suit other places.
  11. markp.
    Nov 3, 2008
    4
    As overrated as Oasis, and just as mediocre. Middle of the road stuff, yawn. America is making the most interesting Indie music these days, by far.
  12. WilliamE.
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    Add a real drum kit and I'd give it a 10. Great music, great lyrics, great band.
  13. Axident
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    Good thing!
  14. MaciejW.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Flat out, this album is a beautiful, atmospheric trip through the mind of a Scottish lad who doesn't know any better but to put his heart on his sleeve and into each melody. The record has seamless flow from track to track, it really gives you the chance to see what was going on in James Allen's mind when he wrote it and musically it's just plain brillaint. A bit Jesus and Flat out, this album is a beautiful, atmospheric trip through the mind of a Scottish lad who doesn't know any better but to put his heart on his sleeve and into each melody. The record has seamless flow from track to track, it really gives you the chance to see what was going on in James Allen's mind when he wrote it and musically it's just plain brillaint. A bit Jesus and Mary Chain, a bit Joy Division and a hell of a lot of heart. Could one ask for more? I definitely couldn't. Expand
  15. TBone
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    Ok, better than most. At it's best, it's a mix of U2-Joshua Tree with the Killers-Sam's Town. With UK accents. I'll give it the benefit of the doubt. Geraldine is definitely definitely great, worth a download if nothing else is.
  16. MusicM.
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    It takes a bit of time for American ears to get used to James Allan's thick Scottish accent, but the emotion and urgency of his vocals comes through clearly. Musically the band sounds like an anthemic, stadium-sized Jesus And Mary Chain. Not all the songs are great, but even the weaker songs have some good ideas. If they can build on this solid debut, Glasvegas have a fine future ahead.
  17. JyotirmayaD.
    Dec 3, 2008
    7
    It has a big sound - new -wave-meets-U2 's "Joshua Tree". The lyrics of working class struggles with death, violence and despair are a little covered over by the sound of the big musical production, but the melodies are very enjoyable, and, overall, I like the overall feel and sound of this album. It's a good listen.
  18. JojjeJ.
    Dec 12, 2008
    1
    Typical british overrated crap! NME gave this a 10/10 and that's no surprise at all. They've never cared about music before so why start now.
  19. discombobulator
    Dec 17, 2008
    8
    A great album from a band that Im definitely going to keep an ear out for in the years to come. Great lyrics and poppy tunes with dark subject matter. Real good.
  20. KlausH.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    All killer. No filler.
  21. craig
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Simply the best debut record to come out of the UK since franz ferdinand if not oasis. brilliant!!!
  22. danielw
    Jan 6, 2009
    7
    The Brit music press seems able to generate a "band of the century" every six months. Glasvegas is the latest. Not bad, simply not up to the ridiculous hype. There are some arresting musical moments, though.
  23. LaunceR.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    This is a powerful piece of holiday counter-programming.
  24. StevieB
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    James Allen is a gifted songwriter and Glasvegas may just have released a perfect album. These songs just won't leave after sitting in yours ears a couple times. Sounds like a 50'S band recorded in the 80's for the 2000's. Magnificient.
  25. Brian
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    Outstanding Scottish indie guitar pop. Lush production and a thick Scottish accent make the songs envelope you like a thick sweater. Lyrics are less allegorical than what you get from the current hipster North American indie bands like Fleet Foxes, but the music won't put you to sleep like the latter will. If you like Oasis, The Editors, JAMC, Pablo Honey-era Radiohead, Snow Patrol, Outstanding Scottish indie guitar pop. Lush production and a thick Scottish accent make the songs envelope you like a thick sweater. Lyrics are less allegorical than what you get from the current hipster North American indie bands like Fleet Foxes, but the music won't put you to sleep like the latter will. If you like Oasis, The Editors, JAMC, Pablo Honey-era Radiohead, Snow Patrol, etc, you probably will like this a great deal. Expand
  26. MattW
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Flat out the best release of 2008. Why? It had great melodies, genuine sincerity and passion, grandiose and blissful sound layering and without question one of the most unique and talented vocalists of the decade. I'm picky as hell with my tunes and I don't buy into hype and shite, so I say without hesitation that this is a record that will last through the ages. Hands down.
  27. SamF
    Jan 20, 2009
    0
    Utter sh*t and GROSSLY overrated.
  28. DW
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    Fantastic album - go buy it!
  29. JoeyD
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    Best U2 cover band I've heard in a while!
  30. Jan 11, 2012
    7
    I think this record and this band are over rated big time. While it's not a bad record, and it does have some good stuff on it, I'm not sure I agree with the acclaim it got. It get's a bit repetitive after a while and the vocals get old pretty quick. Geraldine is a good song and the standout track for me, the rest of it kind of blends in together.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Glasvegas maybe won't change lives but with its rich indie wall-of-sound nostalgia trip, it should get a few kids delving through their influences and forming space-rock bands.
  2. It's another debut album laid low by ravages of hype.
  3. So believe it: this is the real thing, no-one’s crying wolf, not even Alan McGee.