Glitter

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2001
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 91
  2. Negative: 23 out of 91

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. carlas
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Love thisalbum because it sounds diferent. good party songs and beautiful ballads and uptempos. for me, it's one of the best of her carrer.
  2. JayM
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Despite the negative aura around this album, it is Carey's best work. A fresh blend of bubble-gum pop, hip-hop and 1980's beats, and a different feel to each song, "Glitter" is much more than gold
  3. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    A wronged album. Once for all, its one of the most inteligent work of pop music. The Way Mariahs wanted to make the music match with movie is so fantastic. And finally the best dance album of her, differentiating her from boring singer of R&B Like Celine Dion.
  4. Jul 3, 2015
    9
    Glittler is an album ahead of its time. Definitely She combined R & B and Hip-Hop and Pop, also disco music in '' Last Night a DJ Saved My Life '' In a way it have never done before on her last Albuns.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    Besides the deadly mistake of this soundtrack be released precisely on the 11th of September, Mariah wrongdoing with the overflow of guests on your disk, end up leaving it as an guest to their own work. Mariah brings the your best 90s in "Lead the Way" and "Never Too Far", rescues the disco era on tracks like "Wanted You" and 1982 cover the Indeep group, "Last Night DJ Saved My Life".
  6. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    Despite everything that happened on September 11, the material had a great dance and retro footprint which was later used by Madonna, Brunno Mars and others, it is amazing how she can go from one extreme to another.
  7. LegereB
    Aug 7, 2002
    10
    Glitter rocks and so does the movie! Go mariah
  8. RafaelS
    Aug 24, 2004
    7
    As Mariah Carey was out of the spotlight working in her first movie and her world tour, she was working hard to make this soundtrack ("Glitter" is not one of her regular albums), she didn't really put all her soul in this work. The remakes she did of the 80s songs weren't that good, but the stuff she wrote on her on were worth at least a Grammy nomination. Songs like Lead The As Mariah Carey was out of the spotlight working in her first movie and her world tour, she was working hard to make this soundtrack ("Glitter" is not one of her regular albums), she didn't really put all her soul in this work. The remakes she did of the 80s songs weren't that good, but the stuff she wrote on her on were worth at least a Grammy nomination. Songs like Lead The Way and Never Too Far are the best off the album, and if they were released in a wise way, thy could become as famous as "Hero" is. This is NOT a bad album, but the choices Mariah and her staff made in it's release resulted in all these bad reviews she and the album have received. Expand
  9. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    Obviously, this album is stereotyped because of the movie with the same name. Yes, the movie wasn't good, but the album sure is. This CD mixed the best of the '80's with the best of the '00's, making it something extremely unique and very interesting. The standout track is 'Never Too Far' as well as 'Lead The Way'. The worst song on this album Obviously, this album is stereotyped because of the movie with the same name. Yes, the movie wasn't good, but the album sure is. This CD mixed the best of the '80's with the best of the '00's, making it something extremely unique and very interesting. The standout track is 'Never Too Far' as well as 'Lead The Way'. The worst song on this album is 'Loverboy' and the remix to it. Oh, and I didn't like the Eric Benet song either. Point is, this album is her best vocally. Take a listen to 'Lead The Way', she holds a huge long note for a good 15 seconds, probably more. Also, if you can manage to find this over the internet, she recorded a fabulous song entitled 'There For Me'. It can also be found on the Never Too Far/Hero benefit single. This album is underrated and stereotyped and deserved much better. And many forget to mention 'Glitter' is the best selling soundtrack EVER in Japan and also went Platinum in the US. Expand
  10. CrystalH.
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    Mariah Carey has hit it off with this one. It's alot different from her other albums and I LOVE IT. All the critics talking it down... well, I don't see any of them working their butts off and I don't think any of them are the best-selling female artist of the nineties with 10 AMAZING albums out. Mariah has got the best voice this world has ever heard, and this album shows Mariah Carey has hit it off with this one. It's alot different from her other albums and I LOVE IT. All the critics talking it down... well, I don't see any of them working their butts off and I don't think any of them are the best-selling female artist of the nineties with 10 AMAZING albums out. Mariah has got the best voice this world has ever heard, and this album shows all it can do!! Expand
  11. JoeT.
    Nov 6, 2001
    10
    She's great. I think I'm in love
  12. LesM.
    Oct 30, 2001
    10
    I think this album is great. Mariah Carey is glowing in this glitter album! It is not true she is going down because I think that all this negative commentaries are just making her triumph at this point. It is just a matter of publicity. I think her voice is awesome and the songs are sang with lots of heart.
  13. UweL.
    Aug 24, 2001
    10
    it's her best since "Butterfly"
  14. markj
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    One of her best efforts to date
  15. jimk
    Jul 6, 2004
    7
    a few good songs, and a plenty of bad make this MC's worst yet. "Never too Far" and "Lead the Way" are awesome, but then comes "Loverboy," the pathetic song that was a wanabe Heartbreaker, although it was not too good either. Still a huge fan!
  16. EdS.
    Sep 18, 2001
    10
    I think it is one of her best work, she really captured the essence of the 80's. As for all the critic trashing it, nothing new to me I've yet to see them appreciate even one album of hers.
  17. Luke
    Sep 19, 2001
    10
    GLITTER is one of Mariah´s best albums to date...I would call the album Mariah´s dance album, but ballad fans don´t have to worry, because LEAD THE WAY and NEVER TOO FAR have Mariah´s beautiful and strong voice and are unbelieveble ballads!!! For the RnB fans we´ve got IF WE, a collabration with Nate Dogg and Ja Rule - a funky song! And don´t forget ALL GLITTER is one of Mariah´s best albums to date...I would call the album Mariah´s dance album, but ballad fans don´t have to worry, because LEAD THE WAY and NEVER TOO FAR have Mariah´s beautiful and strong voice and are unbelieveble ballads!!! For the RnB fans we´ve got IF WE, a collabration with Nate Dogg and Ja Rule - a funky song! And don´t forget ALL MY LIFE and DIDN´T MEAN TO TURN YOU ON which are by far the best songs on the album. All I can say is: Go Mariah!!!! Collapse
  18. DawnK
    Nov 16, 2001
    8
    If you were a fan then, you'll still be a fan now, you won't be disappointed!!
  19. Jun 17, 2015
    7
    it's not her best work, neither is the worst, and it was the boldest move in her entire career, sadly after the failure of this album, she never dare to step out of her comfort zone
  20. May 10, 2015
    7
    Released on September 11 by Virgin Records America in 2001, the horrific day we all remember when America was being attacked, the album features a more upbeat sound and is more directive than her past efforts with Sony Music and Tommy Mottola (her ex-husband). Overall, the album is filled with too many songs that are unoriginal and that samples other songs from the past. Highlights of theReleased on September 11 by Virgin Records America in 2001, the horrific day we all remember when America was being attacked, the album features a more upbeat sound and is more directive than her past efforts with Sony Music and Tommy Mottola (her ex-husband). Overall, the album is filled with too many songs that are unoriginal and that samples other songs from the past. Highlights of the album are "Loverboy (Remix)", "Don't Stop (Funkin' 4 Jamaica), and "Never Too Far". Expand
  21. Mar 27, 2016
    10
    Nice album, beautiful ballads, sounds different. good work Carey, 80s style, R&B, pop, hip-hop.a good dance album. I Love Mariah's albums, always good work.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 1, 2014
    60
    While the album may have its flaws, it is for the most part a successful period piece that clearly displays Carey's appreciation for all that has come before her.
  2. While Carey has never been a particularly confessional musician, Glitter seems a step in a more cathartic direction, from which subsequent albums should no doubt benefit.
  3. Blender
    60
    After years of trading her signature flourishes for a radio-ready purr, she's left with almost no presence at all. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.118]