• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2001
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 73
  2. Negative: 19 out of 73

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LegereB
    Aug 7, 2002
    10
    Glitter rocks and so does the movie! Go mariah
  2. carlas
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Love thisalbum because it sounds diferent. good party songs and beautiful ballads and uptempos. for me, it's one of the best of her carrer.
  3. CrystalH.
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    Mariah Carey has hit it off with this one. It's alot different from her other albums and I LOVE IT. All the critics talking it down... well, I don't see any of them working their butts off and I don't think any of them are the best-selling female artist of the nineties with 10 AMAZING albums out. Mariah has got the best voice this world has ever heard, and this album shows Mariah Carey has hit it off with this one. It's alot different from her other albums and I LOVE IT. All the critics talking it down... well, I don't see any of them working their butts off and I don't think any of them are the best-selling female artist of the nineties with 10 AMAZING albums out. Mariah has got the best voice this world has ever heard, and this album shows all it can do!! Expand
  4. JoeT.
    Nov 6, 2001
    10
    She's great. I think I'm in love
  5. LesM.
    Oct 30, 2001
    10
    I think this album is great. Mariah Carey is glowing in this glitter album! It is not true she is going down because I think that all this negative commentaries are just making her triumph at this point. It is just a matter of publicity. I think her voice is awesome and the songs are sang with lots of heart.
  6. UweL.
    Aug 24, 2001
    10
    it's her best since "Butterfly"
  7. markj
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    One of her best efforts to date
  8. EdS.
    Sep 18, 2001
    10
    I think it is one of her best work, she really captured the essence of the 80's. As for all the critic trashing it, nothing new to me I've yet to see them appreciate even one album of hers.
  9. Luke
    Sep 19, 2001
    10
    GLITTER is one of Mariah´s best albums to date...I would call the album Mariah´s dance album, but ballad fans don´t have to worry, because LEAD THE WAY and NEVER TOO FAR have Mariah´s beautiful and strong voice and are unbelieveble ballads!!! For the RnB fans we´ve got IF WE, a collabration with Nate Dogg and Ja Rule - a funky song! And don´t forget ALL GLITTER is one of Mariah´s best albums to date...I would call the album Mariah´s dance album, but ballad fans don´t have to worry, because LEAD THE WAY and NEVER TOO FAR have Mariah´s beautiful and strong voice and are unbelieveble ballads!!! For the RnB fans we´ve got IF WE, a collabration with Nate Dogg and Ja Rule - a funky song! And don´t forget ALL MY LIFE and DIDN´T MEAN TO TURN YOU ON which are by far the best songs on the album. All I can say is: Go Mariah!!!! Expand
  10. JayM
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Despite the negative aura around this album, it is Carey's best work. A fresh blend of bubble-gum pop, hip-hop and 1980's beats, and a different feel to each song, "Glitter" is much more than gold
  11. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    A wronged album. Once for all, its one of the most inteligent work of pop music. The Way Mariahs wanted to make the music match with movie is so fantastic. And finally the best dance album of her, differentiating her from boring singer of R&B Like Celine Dion.
  12. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    Obviously, this album is stereotyped because of the movie with the same name. Yes, the movie wasn't good, but the album sure is. This CD mixed the best of the '80's with the best of the '00's, making it something extremely unique and very interesting. The standout track is 'Never Too Far' as well as 'Lead The Way'. The worst song on this album Obviously, this album is stereotyped because of the movie with the same name. Yes, the movie wasn't good, but the album sure is. This CD mixed the best of the '80's with the best of the '00's, making it something extremely unique and very interesting. The standout track is 'Never Too Far' as well as 'Lead The Way'. The worst song on this album is 'Loverboy' and the remix to it. Oh, and I didn't like the Eric Benet song either. Point is, this album is her best vocally. Take a listen to 'Lead The Way', she holds a huge long note for a good 15 seconds, probably more. Also, if you can manage to find this over the internet, she recorded a fabulous song entitled 'There For Me'. It can also be found on the Never Too Far/Hero benefit single. This album is underrated and stereotyped and deserved much better. And many forget to mention 'Glitter' is the best selling soundtrack EVER in Japan and also went Platinum in the US. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 1, 2014
    60
    While the album may have its flaws, it is for the most part a successful period piece that clearly displays Carey's appreciation for all that has come before her.
  2. While Carey has never been a particularly confessional musician, Glitter seems a step in a more cathartic direction, from which subsequent albums should no doubt benefit.
  3. 60
    After years of trading her signature flourishes for a radio-ready purr, she's left with almost no presence at all. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.118]