• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2011
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    60
    Radical tech rockers' microshift to the center ground. [July 2011, p. 100]
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    60
    Previously, their appeal was an alien fusion of ferocious single-mindedness and forbidding complexity. Here, Battles often struggle to sound strange enough. [July 2011, p. 107]
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    60
    Despite its problems, Gloss Drop is a mild accomplishment.
  4. Jun 3, 2011
    60
    That it's the track here [Ice cream] that most closely resembles Battles with Braxton in the fold is evidence enough that this band is missing a vital organ. Sadly, it would appear to be the heart.
  5. Jun 3, 2011
    60
    There is no question that this is a technically adept, well realised and urgent recording, but what seems to be a lacking is the je ne sais quoi that made Mirrored such a colossal debut album.
  6. Jun 3, 2011
    60
    Elsewhere, hints of Brazilian and Trinidadian rhythms suggest a loopy robot carnival. But, unlike Mirrored, there are dry, impenetrable patches, making Gloss Drop an album that ultimately impresses more than it charms.
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    50
    In a word, Gloss Drop just sounds confused, and its structures don't challenge or excite.
  8. 40
    Clearly, these New York math-rockers have yet to learn the values of de- cluttering, with most of these dozen pieces involving furious industry to no great advantage.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    I've been waiting to hear this record for years. Mirrored is my favourite album of the 00s and Gloss Drop seems to raise the bar even further.I've been waiting to hear this record for years. Mirrored is my favourite album of the 00s and Gloss Drop seems to raise the bar even further. After several listens I can safely say that this will be the record of the year, no matter what is released in the other 6 months of 2011. This is how the future of music sounds and it sounds damn good. Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2013
    10
    Despite the loss of their frontman, Battles still maintain that hyper math/experimental rock they had in their previous LP Mirrored. And thisDespite the loss of their frontman, Battles still maintain that hyper math/experimental rock they had in their previous LP Mirrored. And this time, they've put out a more dance-rock like outfit with guest vocalist coming it. It's technically making a friendly, easy-to-listen yet complex album. I can't stop dancing! Must listen. Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2012
    9
    While the album lack vocals, it's reinforced with plenty tweaked guitar strums, rad bass lines and constant beat. The tracks that really standWhile the album lack vocals, it's reinforced with plenty tweaked guitar strums, rad bass lines and constant beat. The tracks that really stand out for me is Futura and Ice Cream. Full Review »