Gloss Drop - Battles
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    I've been waiting to hear this record for years. Mirrored is my favourite album of the 00s and Gloss Drop seems to raise the bar even further. After several listens I can safely say that this will be the record of the year, no matter what is released in the other 6 months of 2011. This is how the future of music sounds and it sounds damn good.
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    Great album, enjoyed it much more that Mirrored; however just like Mirrored Gloss Drop is a grower. Gloss Drop sees Battles employ guest vocalists in order to make up for the loss of frontman Tyondai Braxton, and this approach works quite well. The instrumental tracks are also good with africastle and wall street being standouts. Overall Gloss Drop is a great album; however it isn't for everyone.
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Excellent album. Took me a couple of gos to really get into it. Best to try the track Ice Cream (featuring Matias Aguayo ) to get a feeling for what is in store. Its a grower and joins my list for 2011 along with destroyer, antlers and wild beasts. Go for it. You will enjoy it. Play it loud !
  4. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    This album is on my short list for best album of 2011. So....infectious, it just gets underneath your skin. I haven't stopped listening to it all week.
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    These guys do some serious experimenting with their guitars. Some of it works and overall the album has it's merits but it's not the easiest of listens. Not too many songs with vocals and there are very few songs you'll like instantly. It's not for everyone but if you like instrumental guitar bands with a bit of quirkiness then it's worth getting into. Just about gets an 8.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    A very good album; it definitely comes across as better than Mirrored, though I haven't heard that album enough to make a proper comparison. Some brilliant instrumental tracks here, it just feels like the whole album lacks a little bit of refinement to make it truly outstanding.
  7. May 18, 2012
    9
    While the album lack vocals, it's reinforced with plenty tweaked guitar strums, rad bass lines and constant beat. The tracks that really stand out for me is Futura and Ice Cream.
  8. May 11, 2013
    10
    Despite the loss of their frontman, Battles still maintain that hyper math/experimental rock they had in their previous LP Mirrored. And this time, they've put out a more dance-rock like outfit with guest vocalist coming it. It's technically making a friendly, easy-to-listen yet complex album. I can't stop dancing! Must listen.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 70
    Gloss Drop is a definitely strong final outcome.
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    80
    The disc's closing one-two punch of "white Electric" and "Sundome," render Glass Drop a triumph, and a major evolutionary leap. [July 2011, p.44]
  3. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    Like those early EPs, Gloss Drop relies more heavily on complex rhythms and wonky melodies to get its point across.