Gloss Drop - Battles
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    I've been waiting to hear this record for years. Mirrored is my favourite album of the 00s and Gloss Drop seems to raise the bar even further. After several listens I can safely say that this will be the record of the year, no matter what is released in the other 6 months of 2011. This is how the future of music sounds and it sounds damn good.
  2. May 11, 2013
    10
    Despite the loss of their frontman, Battles still maintain that hyper math/experimental rock they had in their previous LP Mirrored. And this time, they've put out a more dance-rock like outfit with guest vocalist coming it. It's technically making a friendly, easy-to-listen yet complex album. I can't stop dancing! Must listen.
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    Great album, enjoyed it much more that Mirrored; however just like Mirrored Gloss Drop is a grower. Gloss Drop sees Battles employ guest vocalists in order to make up for the loss of frontman Tyondai Braxton, and this approach works quite well. The instrumental tracks are also good with africastle and wall street being standouts. Overall Gloss Drop is a great album; however it isn't for everyone.
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Excellent album. Took me a couple of gos to really get into it. Best to try the track Ice Cream (featuring Matias Aguayo ) to get a feeling for what is in store. Its a grower and joins my list for 2011 along with destroyer, antlers and wild beasts. Go for it. You will enjoy it. Play it loud !
  5. May 18, 2012
    9
    While the album lack vocals, it's reinforced with plenty tweaked guitar strums, rad bass lines and constant beat. The tracks that really stand out for me is Futura and Ice Cream.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 70
    Gloss Drop is a definitely strong final outcome.
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    80
    The disc's closing one-two punch of "white Electric" and "Sundome," render Glass Drop a triumph, and a major evolutionary leap. [July 2011, p.44]
  3. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    Like those early EPs, Gloss Drop relies more heavily on complex rhythms and wonky melodies to get its point across.