Gloss Drop - Battles
Gloss Drop Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length album for the New York rock band features Matias Aguayo, Gary Numan, Kazu Makino, and Yamantaka Eye as guest musicians.
  • Record Label: Warp
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Post-Rock, Experimental Rock, Math Rock, Neo-Prog, Prog-Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. So much better than a Ferrari that never needs a tune-up, muse I. In the studio they're less accident prone, and they still tintinnabulate some. But now they also grunt.
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    90
    Braxton's clever, found-sound loops are missed, but the remaining members' rampant ideas and inexorable groove keep Battles engrossing.
  3. Gloss Drop may be a less solid and coherent album than Mirrored, but it is still a remarkably promising follow-up. As always, the music is cerebral, engaging, technically stupefying, and utterly original.
  4. Gloss Drop is powered by a tireless, ingenious sense of play. Admittedly, it is sometimes the sort of playfulness displayed by quantum physicists and pure mathematicians. But hey, get the numbers right and everything else just slots into place.
  5. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    Gloss Drop may be more accomplished than the band's debut; even if it's not quite as much of a powerhouse as Mirrored was, it shows that the trio version of Battles is lean, creative, and surprisingly adaptable.
  6. Jun 6, 2011
    74
    The record stands as a solid collection from a trio of exceptionally talented individuals.
  7. 40
    Clearly, these New York math-rockers have yet to learn the values of de- cluttering, with most of these dozen pieces involving furious industry to no great advantage.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. May 11, 2013
    10
    Despite the loss of their frontman, Battles still maintain that hyper math/experimental rock they had in their previous LP Mirrored. And this time, they've put out a more dance-rock like outfit with guest vocalist coming it. It's technically making a friendly, easy-to-listen yet complex album. I can't stop dancing! Must listen. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    I've been waiting to hear this record for years. Mirrored is my favourite album of the 00s and Gloss Drop seems to raise the bar even further. After several listens I can safely say that this will be the record of the year, no matter what is released in the other 6 months of 2011. This is how the future of music sounds and it sounds damn good. Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    9
    While the album lack vocals, it's reinforced with plenty tweaked guitar strums, rad bass lines and constant beat. The tracks that really stand out for me is Futura and Ice Cream. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    A very good album; it definitely comes across as better than Mirrored, though I haven't heard that album enough to make a proper comparison. Some brilliant instrumental tracks here, it just feels like the whole album lacks a little bit of refinement to make it truly outstanding. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    These guys do some serious experimenting with their guitars. Some of it works and overall the album has it's merits but it's not the easiest of listens. Not too many songs with vocals and there are very few songs you'll like instantly. It's not for everyone but if you like instrumental guitar bands with a bit of quirkiness then it's worth getting into. Just about gets an 8. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.