Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Go Away White sounds like the four were trying one last time to reclaim the idea of Bauhaus as band and ethos from all the many limiting clichés heaped on it, something which the album title, taken from the song "Black Stone Heart," slyly hints at.
  2. The proceedings sound loose, yet focused but never disappointing. [Apr 2008, p.160]
  3. It picks up right where Bauhaus left off: a wet dream for original fans and a blast of recognition for the newly eye-lined.
  4. Those aforementioned past tense references are telling, because that’s exactly where Go Away White sounds as if it belongs: in the past.
  5. White doesn't quite make good on that potential, the guitar fuzz is too restrained, while Peter Murphy's vocals evoke David Bowie doing funny grandpa voices. [7 Mar 2008, p.93]
  6. 80
    It's so extravagant, trecherous and cocksure that it could almost make Interpol sound like a pleasant chamber quartet. [Mar 2008, p.94]
  7. While the new material will hardly tarnish the band's legacy, it won't add much, either.
  8. 60
    Preposterous, but this time knowingly so. [May 2008, p.114]
  9. Go Away White is an unevenly inspired valediction.
  10. Sadly, this is a posthumous offering that sounds half-finished and, considering they must have known this would be their final statement, like a missed opportunity.
  11. Frontman Pete Murphy overdoes the drama, leaving little space for the songs to breathe, while his colleagues fail to access the mystique that at their peak, in the early Eighties, served to distinguish them from goth's also-rans.
  12. Bauhaus can hold their head high, mission accomplished; but with no victory-lap tour, no more studio albums, and several awesome new tunes pointing at an un-actualized future, it all feels rather anti-climatic and lacking closure.
  13. The end result is an album that’s one half decent (even if it is a bit indebted to Ash, Haskins, and Haskins’ post-Bauhaus career) and one half incredible.
  14. A quarter of a century on, that still holds, right down to the same old ponderous rhythms, Daniel Ash's screaming guitar fuzz and Peter Murphy's ridiculously portentous vocals. [Apr 2008, p.102]
  15. Like true vampires, Bauhaus still manage to pull off being melodramatic and wickedly energetic even in old age. R.I.P. again.
  16. 70
    A tastefully matured Bauhaus produce enough fractured guitar and howling melodrama to wake the undead.
  17. Go Away White is more than a swansong. It's a minor masterpiece that proves Bauhaus has been nicely preserved.
  18. Their comeback kicks off in ebullient fashion, with little of the inconsistency that once overshadowed their importance.
  19. 60
    It sounds alive and kicking almost to its own detriment. [Mar 2008, p.83]
  20. It's disappointing that this epilogue couldn't have been crafted with more care. [Spring 2008, p.82]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. CaieL.
    Jan 25, 2010
    7
    Bauhaus has ranked in my top 5 of all time since I first heard them in 1987. I was naturally excited when I found out they were making a new Bauhaus has ranked in my top 5 of all time since I first heard them in 1987. I was naturally excited when I found out they were making a new album. This album has most of the hallmarks of Bauhaus but it is missing something, actually it has too much of something. Bauhuas, like their namesake, focused on function over form, stripping away the frivolity to produce a stark black and white soundscape. There are echoes of that for sure on this album, Saved, Mirror Remains and Black Stone Heart exhibit some of their former imagination with disjointed melodies and Daniel Ash's signature guitar, and sax work. As a whole it's a decent album, but take any song off of this album and play it next to Dark Entries, Silent Hedges or Slice of Life and you'll quickly the new songs missing that old Bauhaus magic. Full Review »
  2. Alessandro
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    I'm still trying to understand how old I am and where I am. Ah, my child's voice, and this, this is a pc. It' s seems all I'm still trying to understand how old I am and where I am. Ah, my child's voice, and this, this is a pc. It' s seems all right, this music may come from some corner in my head or from a incubus. Fan-ta-s-tic. Full Review »
  3. BobV
    Dec 10, 2008
    8
    It's good Bauhaus. It's a bunch of old guys, so what can you expect? (I'm an old guy, too) -- it isn't groundbreaking -- It's good Bauhaus. It's a bunch of old guys, so what can you expect? (I'm an old guy, too) -- it isn't groundbreaking -- that's for sure. It stands up very well with the rest of their (limited) work. I was very pleasantly surprised and the record has gone into my regular rotation. Nice work! Full Review »