Go

  • Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    80
    [Motion City Soundtrack has] created one of the best releases so far this year and shown themselves to still be residing in the upper echelon of the pop rock world.
  2. Alternative Press
    Jun 12, 2012
    80
    If Go is any indication of their future, MCS will have plenty to say, five albums from now. [Jul 2012, p.100]
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    it sounds like Motion City Soundtrack are warming up for an absolute classic. This isn't it--but it'll serve just fine in the meantime.
  4. Kerrang!
    Jun 15, 2012
    80
    The result is a fresh, pavement-referencing quirk on tracks Like Son Of A Gun and Boxelder. [2 Jun 2012, p.52]
  5. It's ... very much worth your while. Many bands should wish that their most impressive work was as good as Motion City Soundtrack's least impressive.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    This album provides some crisp variety among the tunes and each song is almost quite similar in theme. It is confusingly blurred principleThis album provides some crisp variety among the tunes and each song is almost quite similar in theme. It is confusingly blurred principle wise and sometimes they get lost among each other. A few of them are radically different such as the low, slow tunes which are few in number and the swift ones that provide some light-heartedness, but that's only in tune as the lyrics feel more like they are repeating themselves. It is wise to understand what your songs are trying to say before you publish them. Despite that, the melodies are crystalline and feel almost perfectly matched with the voices behind the lyrics, which helps to create any mood they want. Full Review »
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    Double singled, fifth album from Motion City Soundtrack titled "Go" is a compilation of typical pop rock songs - very exuberant and melodic,Double singled, fifth album from Motion City Soundtrack titled "Go" is a compilation of typical pop rock songs - very exuberant and melodic, but somehow not very distinguished. Release maybe presents an interesting accents and is easy to perceive, however, in comparison with the rest of the competition does not show any new solutions, which makes album quickly falls out of memory. Mostly proposal for the fans of the band. Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    I cannot believe that this album has been available for a few weeks now and nobody has reviewed it yet.

    I will keep my review brief. This
    I cannot believe that this album has been available for a few weeks now and nobody has reviewed it yet.

    I will keep my review brief. This is yet another excellent album from MCS. The same vibe of love, loss and self medication prevail. This album reminds me of bands like The Cure or The Smiths because of the heavy, deep and sometimes dark lyrics delivered in a cheery pop-punk package. There isn't a bad song on the album and if you get the deluxe version you get 3 bonus tracks (or if like me you still like CDs - buy the physical album and download the 3 bonus tracks).

    Five albums in now, I only hope MCS start receiving the recognition they richly deserve.
    Full Review »