God Forgives, I Don't

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jul 31, 2012
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 67
  2. Negative: 18 out of 67
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    5
    The album is okay! Nothing great or spectacular. Just like most albums today there are hits and misses. From a lyrical standpoint he does have songs that have meaning, but then you hear song talking about hoes, money, and b***! Its and album to listen to since it out. Everyone is going to have different opinions! But worth a listen to see what the listener likes.
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    4
    You don't listen to rap music and expect anything short of expensive cars, seductive women, and bling bling. In short, money, cash, hoes-money, cash, hoes. And the best rappers are somewhat believable. Their grand stories of drug dealing, killing people and being involved in Italian cosa nostra sit well with the average listener. But along comes a guy who's exposed but yet still getsYou don't listen to rap music and expect anything short of expensive cars, seductive women, and bling bling. In short, money, cash, hoes-money, cash, hoes. And the best rappers are somewhat believable. Their grand stories of drug dealing, killing people and being involved in Italian cosa nostra sit well with the average listener. But along comes a guy who's exposed but yet still gets the luxury of rapping about the same thing. For me, I like my rap music realistic. And if you try to tell me some **** story about how gangster you are, you better fit the part in my head at least. Rick Ross doesn't. I laugh at all the tracks because after everything he says, i say to myself; "says the police officer" Are most rappers story tellers? Yup. Is this one good? Nope. As Jay Z would put it; "We don't believe you, you need more people." Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    5
    Meh, nothing here to really see. The album is not dreadful, but as a non-Rick Ross fan, this doesn't change my opinion on him. Save your time and move on.
  4. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    From a Rick Ross standpoint his album, God Forgives, I Don't, is probably the best album yet for him. Now, you have to wonder who was ghost writing this one? My vote is Meek Mill because the rest of his artists are trash.
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    4
    You have to give him credit- he has a helluva ear for beats. He can go toe-to-toe with some of the best on his features although Andre 3000 obviously 'renegades' him on the stand-out track "Sixteen." All that aside, this album still relies too heavily on features and hard-hitting beats which attempt to cover up Rozay's inability to consistently deliver quality rhymes. A lack of substanceYou have to give him credit- he has a helluva ear for beats. He can go toe-to-toe with some of the best on his features although Andre 3000 obviously 'renegades' him on the stand-out track "Sixteen." All that aside, this album still relies too heavily on features and hard-hitting beats which attempt to cover up Rozay's inability to consistently deliver quality rhymes. A lack of substance is the only lasting legacy from GFID; it really entrenches him in this definable role. It lives up to expectations, and after the initial frenzy to listen to one of rap's heralded superstar, this album should probably fade away into oblivion as much of Ross's other music has. God forgives (with reviews), I don't Officer Ricky. Collapse
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    Tracks 8-13 are the only tracks that prevent me from giving this album a higher score. Aside from those tracks, production is excellent anchored by JUSTICE LEAGUE. Gems on this album are Sixteen and of course, my favorite, Triple Beam Dreams.
  7. Duu
    Oct 11, 2013
    6
    This album is a good album because it manages to avoid having BAD songs. That doesn't mean the songs are all good. However when the songs are good, they are really good. The beats are cinematic/dramatic. Ross's voice sounds great and he has key guest appearances (by the likes of Omarion and Meek Mill) that help carry this album during its best moments. There are only about 8 respectableThis album is a good album because it manages to avoid having BAD songs. That doesn't mean the songs are all good. However when the songs are good, they are really good. The beats are cinematic/dramatic. Ross's voice sounds great and he has key guest appearances (by the likes of Omarion and Meek Mill) that help carry this album during its best moments. There are only about 8 respectable songs and 5 of those songs are very good and 3 of those songs are excellent/classic. 8 out of 15 respectable songs is decent showing. This is not Rick Ross's best album, but it maintains my interest in him so that I will listen to the next one he puts out. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The Wire
    Dec 5, 2012
    70
    Lyrically it is all shamelessly hollow, but Ross's album is seductively swish, its production sophisticated and strings and saxophone abound. [Oct 2012, p.75]
  2. 60
    It's thrilling. It's pantomime. It's what Ross does best.
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    God Forgives' best moments... are fine examples of how big-budget rap can skilfully avoid crass clich├ęs, and even convey no little emotion.