God Forgives, I Don't

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jul 31, 2012
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 69
  2. Negative: 19 out of 69
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    Bon ben voila après un bon temps d'attente, l(album est enfin dispo !

    Dans l'ensemble l'album est bien, j'aime pas trop les sons "lent" mais la il etait pas mal .

    Sinon ben c'est du Rozay après je trouve que sa mixtape "rich forever" est meilleur...
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Rick Ross is no stranger to storytelling in his music and God Forgives, I Don't certainly will not change anything in that aspect. We all are well aware of Ross C.O. past and for the most part people with common sense have moved on to accept it. GFID see Ross at his storytelling best over expansive productions from J.U.S.T.I.C.E League, Cardiak, Jake One & Pharrell to name a few. What RossRick Ross is no stranger to storytelling in his music and God Forgives, I Don't certainly will not change anything in that aspect. We all are well aware of Ross C.O. past and for the most part people with common sense have moved on to accept it. GFID see Ross at his storytelling best over expansive productions from J.U.S.T.I.C.E League, Cardiak, Jake One & Pharrell to name a few. What Ross excels at is on display here, from the amazing flow, ad-libs (Hughhh!!) to the ability to pick out just the right beat. But where the album fails slightly is the predictability of the whole thing, tracks like 911, Hold Me Back and Touch'N You are nothing new for Ross and could have been replaced with other more creative songs I'm sure. Overall it's a solid hip/hop album and deserves a listen but it falls short of the classic Ross claimed it would be. Expand
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    8
    Incredible album.

    The music on this album is lush, soulful and melodic and the rhymes are grandiose, boastful and remorseful. It's a very cinematic album that plays out almost like a movie. The musical elements shift from Soulful, to Jazzy, to Rhythm & Blues to aggressive HipHop. Highlights include Andre 3000 & JayZ, and my favorite songs are the incredible "Amsterdam" the symphony
    Incredible album.

    The music on this album is lush, soulful and melodic and the rhymes are grandiose, boastful and remorseful. It's a very cinematic album that plays out almost like a movie. The musical elements shift from Soulful, to Jazzy, to Rhythm & Blues to aggressive HipHop. Highlights include Andre 3000 & JayZ, and my favorite songs are the incredible "Amsterdam" the symphony styled "MM4" & "the soulful "Ashamed". This album is definitely worth the purchase.
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    For me this album shows Ross' growth in lyrical maturity, especially his storytelling ability. This, accompanied by his 'on the point' beat selection makes this an album that you can play over and over again and still be enticed on each repeat. Tracks to note include '911', 'Ashamed' and '3 Kings' featuring Dr. Dre and Jay Z.
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This is not only the greatest rap album of all time, but the greatest music album of all time. Rick Ross totally outdid himself, he is the greatest rapper/musician of all time.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    I had high hopes for this album, but in the end it didnt live up to its billing. Some of the tracks are hot (Ice Cold, Diced Pineapples) but others not so much, particulary when the beats are too similar (911 and Hold me Back, I am looking at you). I like Rick Ross and I wanted to like this album more than I do, but its no Teflon Don.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    as Billy explained I didnt know that a stay at home mom able to get paid $7613 in a few weeks on the computer. have you read this webpage NuttyRichdotcom
  8. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    It takes several listens to get what Rick Ross intends to deliver with his latest offering. Its a very real attempt to step away from the Teflon don style album. More features with some serious heavy hitters. A departure from the banging dope beats of teflon don to a more musical delivery.
    It takes some listening to get into and my four best tracks on the album - (sixteen is not one of
    It takes several listens to get what Rick Ross intends to deliver with his latest offering. Its a very real attempt to step away from the Teflon don style album. More features with some serious heavy hitters. A departure from the banging dope beats of teflon don to a more musical delivery.
    It takes some listening to get into and my four best tracks on the album - (sixteen is not one of them at all) are Rich forever and Ice cold with soaring and smooth vocals provided by john legend and o'marion. Diced pineapples with wale who has grown into his own and triple beam dreams with nas. Extras would be signature boss tunes like So Sophisticated with meek mill and ten jesus pieces. FANS OF TEFLON DON WILL BE DIS-APPOINTED - A move from hyperbole verse and massive beats to something more 'sophisticated' will be hard to take. God Forgives and I dont - from the beats, to the collabo's on almost every single track and even the beats is a welcome departure and a solid album. LISTEN TO IT. This album comes from a different place - post struggle to we made it and its great.
    Expand
  9. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Rick Ross is becoming one of the leading in Hip-Hop mainstream. This album is the proof. His sound more original than the others, making Rick Ross the boss music which he aspired. God Forgives, I Don't is a fantastic mix of perfect rhymes and excellent production.
  10. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    2 years since the masterful Teflon Don album which successfully stamped Rick Ross into the elite of Hip-Hop/Rap; The boss is officially back with another luscious produced project that continues and grows upon the strong points of the previous album.

    There are times when listening to the album where you can
  11. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    Unfortunately for Mr. Ross, The hype surrounding God Forgives, I Don't really set the bar as high as what we expect from Kanye. This would be a good album, unfortunately there is very little cohesion. Teflon Don was an amazing album, but Ross diverted from his tried and true style. Fortunately he is able to ride the success of Diced Pineapples and other solid songs to a Gold Album!Unfortunately for Mr. Ross, The hype surrounding God Forgives, I Don't really set the bar as high as what we expect from Kanye. This would be a good album, unfortunately there is very little cohesion. Teflon Don was an amazing album, but Ross diverted from his tried and true style. Fortunately he is able to ride the success of Diced Pineapples and other solid songs to a Gold Album! The worst song on this album was definitely Presidential, while the best was 911. 911 reminded me of old school Ross, and the 2 Chainz verse would have perfected the song. All in all, Ross didn't dissapoint, but he didn't impress that well either. I expect a huge comeback with the new Self Made this summer Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The Wire
    Dec 5, 2012
    70
    Lyrically it is all shamelessly hollow, but Ross's album is seductively swish, its production sophisticated and strings and saxophone abound. [Oct 2012, p.75]
  2. 60
    It's thrilling. It's pantomime. It's what Ross does best.
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    God Forgives' best moments... are fine examples of how big-budget rap can skilfully avoid crass clich├ęs, and even convey no little emotion.