User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 60
  2. Negative: 16 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Duu
    Oct 11, 2013
    6
    This album is a good album because it manages to avoid having BAD songs. That doesn't mean the songs are all good. However when the songs are good, they are really good. The beats are cinematic/dramatic. Ross's voice sounds great and he has key guest appearances (by the likes of Omarion and Meek Mill) that help carry this album during its best moments. There are only about 8 respectable songs and 5 of those songs are very good and 3 of those songs are excellent/classic. 8 out of 15 respectable songs is decent showing. This is not Rick Ross's best album, but it maintains my interest in him so that I will listen to the next one he puts out. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    Unfortunately for Mr. Ross, The hype surrounding God Forgives, I Don't really set the bar as high as what we expect from Kanye. This would be a good album, unfortunately there is very little cohesion. Teflon Don was an amazing album, but Ross diverted from his tried and true style. Fortunately he is able to ride the success of Diced Pineapples and other solid songs to a Gold Album! The worst song on this album was definitely Presidential, while the best was 911. 911 reminded me of old school Ross, and the 2 Chainz verse would have perfected the song. All in all, Ross didn't dissapoint, but he didn't impress that well either. I expect a huge comeback with the new Self Made this summer Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    God Forgives, I Don't is so very weak of an album. All of his other albums are better than this one, and his mixtape to build anticipation for this album, (Rich Forever), was far superior to the album. The album started off pretty good with the song "Pirates", but it goes downhill straight after that. "3 Kings" is such a bad song overall. With features from Dr. Dre and Jay-Z I expected something good, but didn't get that. The beat was bad and all the verses were pretty bad. "Ashamed" had a good beat but not good verses. "So Sophisticated" is just a typical rap beat, and features a Meek Mill verse that just sounds like every other Meek Mill Verse. "Maybach Music IV" is the worst in that series of songs and the Ne-yo feature is horrible. "Diced Pineapples" once again has big features, and once again disappoints. Andre 3000 has a good feature, and "Ten Jesus Pieces" is one of the best on this album, but that can't save this entire project. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    2 years since the masterful Teflon Don album which successfully stamped Rick Ross into the elite of Hip-Hop/Rap; The boss is officially back with another luscious produced project that continues and grows upon the strong points of the previous album.

    There are times when listening to the album where you can
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Rick Ross is becoming one of the leading in Hip-Hop mainstream. This album is the proof. His sound more original than the others, making Rick Ross the boss music which he aspired. God Forgives, I Don't is a fantastic mix of perfect rhymes and excellent production.
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    3
    poor album... im so disappointed...classic my ass!!!! so far teflon don is his best work, it had much more quality beats and better lyrics on it... this album is just one of those overrated albums of 2012!!
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    One of the most overhyped, overrated albums of the year. GFID sucks. There's no artistic progression or evolution. It's the same **** he's done with Deeper Than Rap and Teflon Don. A fake dude using a fake persona to sell records. The beats were dope and the features did alright, but everything else about this album is **** First off, Rick Ross cannot rap; **** what you've heard. He sucks on the mic with his basic ABC rhymes and uses the same flow all the time. Second, he's a one-dimensional artist who can't evolve out of his drug lord box. He talks about the same **** on every song; drugs, money, women, "real **** **** etc. And finally, HE'S FAKE!! Dude used to be a cop. Everyone knows. Why does he keep talking about being a drug kingpin when he hasn't even done any of that **** People who gives Rick Ross and his albums like this one praise are ****ing retards who don't know good music and just follows what the mainstream says is hot just like sheep. Rick Ross is not as good as people say he is. HE SUCKS!! HE CAN'T RAP!! HE'S A FAKE GANGSTA WHO'S ACTUALLY A C.O.!! -10/10 Expand
  8. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    It takes several listens to get what Rick Ross intends to deliver with his latest offering. Its a very real attempt to step away from the Teflon don style album. More features with some serious heavy hitters. A departure from the banging dope beats of teflon don to a more musical delivery.
    It takes some listening to get into and my four best tracks on the album - (sixteen is not one of
    them at all) are Rich forever and Ice cold with soaring and smooth vocals provided by john legend and o'marion. Diced pineapples with wale who has grown into his own and triple beam dreams with nas. Extras would be signature boss tunes like So Sophisticated with meek mill and ten jesus pieces. FANS OF TEFLON DON WILL BE DIS-APPOINTED - A move from hyperbole verse and massive beats to something more 'sophisticated' will be hard to take. God Forgives and I dont - from the beats, to the collabo's on almost every single track and even the beats is a welcome departure and a solid album. LISTEN TO IT. This album comes from a different place - post struggle to we made it and its great. Expand
  9. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    Tracks 8-13 are the only tracks that prevent me from giving this album a higher score. Aside from those tracks, production is excellent anchored by JUSTICE LEAGUE. Gems on this album are Sixteen and of course, my favorite, Triple Beam Dreams.
  10. Aug 6, 2012
    4
    You have to give him credit- he has a helluva ear for beats. He can go toe-to-toe with some of the best on his features although Andre 3000 obviously 'renegades' him on the stand-out track "Sixteen." All that aside, this album still relies too heavily on features and hard-hitting beats which attempt to cover up Rozay's inability to consistently deliver quality rhymes. A lack of substance is the only lasting legacy from GFID; it really entrenches him in this definable role. It lives up to expectations, and after the initial frenzy to listen to one of rap's heralded superstar, this album should probably fade away into oblivion as much of Ross's other music has. God forgives (with reviews), I don't Officer Ricky. Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    as Billy explained I didnt know that a stay at home mom able to get paid $7613 in a few weeks on the computer. have you read this webpage NuttyRichdotcom
  12. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    From a Rick Ross standpoint his album, God Forgives, I Don't, is probably the best album yet for him. Now, you have to wonder who was ghost writing this one? My vote is Meek Mill because the rest of his artists are trash.
  13. Aug 5, 2012
    1
    Poor Album, **** ass **** Money Negga...Thats all you know Ross

    True Lyrics and Rick Ross don't Fitt in the same Sentence (double entendre)

    and i feel like MMG is falling
  14. Aug 3, 2012
    5
    Meh, nothing here to really see. The album is not dreadful, but as a non-Rick Ross fan, this doesn't change my opinion on him. Save your time and move on.
  15. Aug 2, 2012
    8
    Incredible album.

    The music on this album is lush, soulful and melodic and the rhymes are grandiose, boastful and remorseful. It's a very cinematic album that plays out almost like a movie. The musical elements shift from Soulful, to Jazzy, to Rhythm & Blues to aggressive HipHop. Highlights include Andre 3000 & JayZ, and my favorite songs are the incredible "Amsterdam" the symphony
    styled "MM4" & "the soulful "Ashamed". This album is definitely worth the purchase. Expand
  16. Aug 2, 2012
    0
    Bad, Just Bad, Lyrics Are All The Same, Money, Money, Money All The Songs Are About The Same, 0 Originality, I Mean Its Sounds Like Unused Tracks From Teflon Don
  17. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    I had high hopes for this album, but in the end it didnt live up to its billing. Some of the tracks are hot (Ice Cold, Diced Pineapples) but others not so much, particulary when the beats are too similar (911 and Hold me Back, I am looking at you). I like Rick Ross and I wanted to like this album more than I do, but its no Teflon Don.
  18. Aug 1, 2012
    0
    Horrible Album, Ross Forgets What Solo Album Means, He Depends On The Guest Stars Too Much, The Only Thing That Is Not Garbage Are Some Beats But Ross Is Just Not A Decent Rapper
  19. Aug 1, 2012
    5
    The album is okay! Nothing great or spectacular. Just like most albums today there are hits and misses. From a lyrical standpoint he does have songs that have meaning, but then you hear song talking about hoes, money, and b***! Its and album to listen to since it out. Everyone is going to have different opinions! But worth a listen to see what the listener likes.
  20. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    For me this album shows Ross' growth in lyrical maturity, especially his storytelling ability. This, accompanied by his 'on the point' beat selection makes this an album that you can play over and over again and still be enticed on each repeat. Tracks to note include '911', 'Ashamed' and '3 Kings' featuring Dr. Dre and Jay Z.
  21. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This is not only the greatest rap album of all time, but the greatest music album of all time. Rick Ross totally outdid himself, he is the greatest rapper/musician of all time.
  22. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    Bon ben voila après un bon temps d'attente, l(album est enfin dispo !

    Dans l'ensemble l'album est bien, j'aime pas trop les sons "lent" mais la il etait pas mal .

    Sinon ben c'est du Rozay après je trouve que sa mixtape "rich forever" est meilleur...
  23. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Rick Ross is no stranger to storytelling in his music and God Forgives, I Don't certainly will not change anything in that aspect. We all are well aware of Ross C.O. past and for the most part people with common sense have moved on to accept it. GFID see Ross at his storytelling best over expansive productions from J.U.S.T.I.C.E League, Cardiak, Jake One & Pharrell to name a few. What Ross excels at is on display here, from the amazing flow, ad-libs (Hughhh!!) to the ability to pick out just the right beat. But where the album fails slightly is the predictability of the whole thing, tracks like 911, Hold Me Back and Touch'N You are nothing new for Ross and could have been replaced with other more creative songs I'm sure. Overall it's a solid hip/hop album and deserves a listen but it falls short of the classic Ross claimed it would be. Expand
  24. Jul 31, 2012
    0
    This album will be overrated. So even if it's average at best, publications will hail it as something it is not (ive heard the album).
    This album will be overrated. So even if it's average at best, publications will hail it as something it is not (ive heard the album).
    This album will be overrated. So even if it's average at best, publications will hail it as something it is not (ive
    heard the album). Expand
  25. Jul 31, 2012
    2
    This album is overrated. The lyrics on this album by Rick Ross aren't very good, and neither the production. The whole album is an edited version of scarface, that shows only the moments when al pacino is living well and getting laid. The end product just comes out as boring.
  26. Jul 31, 2012
    4
    You don't listen to rap music and expect anything short of expensive cars, seductive women, and bling bling. In short, money, cash, hoes-money, cash, hoes. And the best rappers are somewhat believable. Their grand stories of drug dealing, killing people and being involved in Italian cosa nostra sit well with the average listener. But along comes a guy who's exposed but yet still gets the luxury of rapping about the same thing. For me, I like my rap music realistic. And if you try to tell me some **** story about how gangster you are, you better fit the part in my head at least. Rick Ross doesn't. I laugh at all the tracks because after everything he says, i say to myself; "says the police officer" Are most rappers story tellers? Yup. Is this one good? Nope. As Jay Z would put it; "We don't believe you, you need more people." Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    Lyrically it is all shamelessly hollow, but Ross's album is seductively swish, its production sophisticated and strings and saxophone abound. [Oct 2012, p.75]
  2. 60
    It's thrilling. It's pantomime. It's what Ross does best.
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    God Forgives' best moments... are fine examples of how big-budget rap can skilfully avoid crass clich├ęs, and even convey no little emotion.