God Hates Us All

God Hates Us All Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Matt Hyde, 'God Hates Us All' is the eighth studio album (and first in three years) for the Southern California thrash-metal band. Originally set for a July 2001 release, the album was delayed so that American Recordings head Rick Rubin and producer Sean Beavan could remix eachProduced by Matt Hyde, 'God Hates Us All' is the eighth studio album (and first in three years) for the Southern California thrash-metal band. Originally set for a July 2001 release, the album was delayed so that American Recordings head Rick Rubin and producer Sean Beavan could remix each of the tracks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Alternative Press
    90
    The most powerful, viscerally brutal album the quartet have released to date. [Sep 2001, p.100]
  2. Slayer remains an elemental metal band, continuing to surge on something high-grade and uncut.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    They're still racing through their riffs with the velocity of a NASCAR winner. [21 Sep 2001, p.84]
  4. Q Magazine
    80
    As feral and ferocious an album as they've made in years. [Oct 2001, p.130]
  5. Spin
    80
    Don't worry--eight albums into their reign, Slayer still sound like Slayer. [Sep 2001, p.158]
  6. God Hates Us All is Slayer's most brutal record since 1986's immortal (or undead) Reign in Blood.
  7. Blender
    60
    It's not as good as 1988's South of Heaven, but there's enough speaker-shredding guitar noise to make up for any vocal deficiencies. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.128]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. SeamusS
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Okay, I dont listen to metal ever, and I'm not sure as to what their other albums are like but I'm pretty sure this is probably the Okay, I dont listen to metal ever, and I'm not sure as to what their other albums are like but I'm pretty sure this is probably the most (tastefully) progressive metal album I've ever heard. Beyond how exhausting it is, it's a thrillride with (most importantly) something to say. It puts alot of other bands that have hid behind their image to shame. (For anyone who cares, I normally listen to Wilco, The Beach Boys, Big Star and Sonic Youth to put it things into persepective, for the "non-fan"I guess) Expand
  2. MartinK.
    Nov 19, 2001
    10
    Slayer are back !!!!!!!!
  3. AaronP.
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    Slayer is, and always will be the one who would remain after nuclear winter and slaughter the poseurs where they may still remain. This album Slayer is, and always will be the one who would remain after nuclear winter and slaughter the poseurs where they may still remain. This album goes to show that its not about the nookie or the motherfucking end of everything.....This is real metal, refined metal and if you are anything close to human and have a rebellious mind...I highly recommend this satanic relic Expand
  4. GeoffreyK
    May 8, 2004
    10
    Absolutely excellent album, this and Diabolous are different from the prior albums - but both have full rich and nasty sounds.
  5. Sep 15, 2015
    9
    One of the best albums in their discography!
    Every song is cool.Pure Slayer through and through!
    I like Disciple most of all. Energetic ,
    One of the best albums in their discography!
    Every song is cool.Pure Slayer through and through!
    I like Disciple most of all.
    Energetic , awesome job!
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2016
    8
    This was Slayer's first album in years that sounded truly legitimately angry. After the nu metal tendencies of Diabolus in Musica, fans wereThis was Slayer's first album in years that sounded truly legitimately angry. After the nu metal tendencies of Diabolus in Musica, fans were left wondering if Slayer had begun to ababdon their roots, and this album quickly eradicated those fears. Songs such as "Disciple" and "Bloodline" are right up there with classics such as "Angel of Death" and "War Ensemble". "Payback" is one of the angriest, least commercial sounding songs to be released by a band with this much recognition. The lyrics are full of profanity on some tracks, unlike earlier albums, but this tends to work to the band's advantage, as Tom Araya sounds like he's far beyond his breaking point on these songs, like he's legitimately going to emerge from your speakers and tear out your eyes and rip off your flesh. God Hates Us All is terrifyingly brutal. Expand
  7. JoshS.
    Dec 18, 2001
    0
    slayer sucks and always sucked they should fall dorment and ill and have his larynics carved out with a spoon

See all 39 User Reviews