God Loves Ugly

God Loves Ugly Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Minneapolis underground hip-hop duo of rapper Slug and producer Ant offer up 18 new tracks.

Top Track

Godlovesugly
I wear my scars like the rings on a pimp I live life like the captain of a sinking ship The one thing that i can guarantee I'm like a stepping razor,... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    A record that gamely tries to get with mainstream hip-hop concerns. [Listen 2 This supplement, Aug 2002, p.14]
  2. Though the lo-fi D.I.Y. production slows the momentum on a handful of tracks, when Slug's rhymes and producer Ant's beats click, the results are as good as underground hip-hop gets.
  3. Blender
    80
    [Slug is] suddenly one of the best alt-rappers around. [#9, p.143]
  4. Mixer
    80
    Atmosphere creates hip-hop that is more than the sum of its parts. [Aug 2002, p.82]
  5. In a hip-hop landscape littered with studio gangsters, pimps on wax, and thugs in need of hugs, Slug proves yet again on God Loves Ugly that the bravest move a rapper can make is simply to be himself.
  6. It's as close to emo as hip-hop gets.
  7. God Loves Ugly ends up as the worst kind of inconsistent album--inconsistent not because of any lack of knowledge, creativity or heart on the part of the artists, but because they can't decide whether they want to use that knowledge to showcase their own voice or mimic someone else's.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 92
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 92
  3. Negative: 1 out of 92
  1. kevinw
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    nice dude, not a fan of rap, but this is a great cd
  2. EfrainM.
    Oct 14, 2002
    10
    Slugs best underground cd out yet....
  3. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    Great album. Lyrically, this seems to be when Slug was at his peak. The production value of the instrumentals has improved steadily with eachGreat album. Lyrically, this seems to be when Slug was at his peak. The production value of the instrumentals has improved steadily with each Atmosphere album, but the depth of lyrical content seems to have just continued to wane away post G.L.U. I feel like this was an album Slug was making because he loved rhyming and lyrical depth. He was willing to get abstract, he was willing to dive deep into metaphors, etc, while the next albums seemed to be aimed more at relating to the masses and dumbing things down to be understand by more casual listeners. So, if you like Atmosphere but haven't heard his earlier albums, don't miss out on them, they are the best Slug has to offer. Expand
  4. DestineyB
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    Fucking rocks
  5. Tlomoney
    Jun 13, 2004
    10
    Man a dope friend turned me on to atmosphere ya hear me and i cant stop listening to it. Most rappers need to talk about bitch's and Man a dope friend turned me on to atmosphere ya hear me and i cant stop listening to it. Most rappers need to talk about bitch's and bling bling but the come with a message and thats tight to me. peace out g's pimps up hoes down. lata Expand
  6. coreys
    May 13, 2005
    10
    ive always been a fan of slug, i went to a concert in rhode island and loved it. even my friends that dont listen to hip hop or underground ive always been a fan of slug, i went to a concert in rhode island and loved it. even my friends that dont listen to hip hop or underground ion general like atmos. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    3
    I like atmosphere, but I find the hooks corny beyond belief. Slugs flow is not up to par with his lyrics, and some of these tracks are justI like atmosphere, but I find the hooks corny beyond belief. Slugs flow is not up to par with his lyrics, and some of these tracks are just kind of forgettable. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews