• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: May 8, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Morgan
    May 20, 2007
    8
    Whenever The Clientele release a CD, you just know there won't be a more lovely album all year. This is no exception. True bliss although nothing here quite displaces 'Impossible' (the Ariadne EP version) as my favourite song of theirs.
  2. pimpap
    May 10, 2007
    10
    On a par with Strange Geometry, at times unforgettable.
  3. Daniel
    May 21, 2007
    8
    Strange Geo. was a great album. There was so much discovery and wonder, both childlike and uniquely mature. It was subtly profound. That said, God Save The Clientele expands on those successes to varying results. I found some of the more dance-oriented numbers a little out of place. There is a little more pushing of genre here. More noise, more beats, more heavy guitar. There are many Strange Geo. was a great album. There was so much discovery and wonder, both childlike and uniquely mature. It was subtly profound. That said, God Save The Clientele expands on those successes to varying results. I found some of the more dance-oriented numbers a little out of place. There is a little more pushing of genre here. More noise, more beats, more heavy guitar. There are many beautiful moments here. This is their greatest strength, capturing beauty in the ordinary. While I like it, I think The Clientele is in the midst of a development spurt. Where it leads may be back to where they started. That would be a good thing. God Save The Clientele & Long Live Merge Recors! Expand
  4. ToddW
    May 24, 2007
    7
    These guys aren't shoegaze; they're recline in your chair and gaze at your stereo. The Clientele make music to cool out after a long day spent navigating the nabobs in your neighborhood. Their latest does not disappoint. If you crave calming vocals, exquisite musicality, and uncluttered production, these guys are worth saving your money to purchase this latest.
  5. JustinB
    May 3, 2007
    10
    To follow up "strange geometry" with something that is better is quite the accomplishment, the clientele are amazing.
  6. calgal
    May 9, 2007
    10
    These guys rock, and I can't wait to see them in Chicago on June 2nd. This group has only begun!
  7. DarrinF
    Jun 3, 2007
    7
    I'd compare The Clientele to The Strokes in the sense that they will probably continue to make enjoyable music until the day they call it quits but with every new release something of their original magic leechs away. Perhaps its to their credit that they can release three LPs each poorer than the last and still be head and shoulders above most of the competition but in a few months I'd compare The Clientele to The Strokes in the sense that they will probably continue to make enjoyable music until the day they call it quits but with every new release something of their original magic leechs away. Perhaps its to their credit that they can release three LPs each poorer than the last and still be head and shoulders above most of the competition but in a few months time when I reach for a Clientele album it will almost certainly be 'The Violet Hour' rather than this one. Expand
  8. LaunceR.
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    This is simply beautiful. The deceptively straightforward melodies are wonderfully enriched with instrumental staples of American country music. One would suspect a crossover effect from label mates Lambchop -- but The Clientele continues to embrace a traditional pop song structure more than the countrypolitan mainstays, and that's a good thing. I love these guys. What are the This is simply beautiful. The deceptively straightforward melodies are wonderfully enriched with instrumental staples of American country music. One would suspect a crossover effect from label mates Lambchop -- but The Clientele continues to embrace a traditional pop song structure more than the countrypolitan mainstays, and that's a good thing. I love these guys. What are the chances they will ever play Las Vegas? Slim drifting towards none, probably. Expand
  9. LawrenceP
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Joe L, a 5, come on now, bookshop cassanova is perfect, but all the other tracks are just as good. I think this upbeat and lovely long player is their best yet!
  10. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    9
    Subject to a change to a 10 later - I'm being cautious - but they're like a modern day Bee Gees! I'm comparing them to the Bee Gees' classic rock stuff more than the disco stuff. Meaningful lyrics and striking melodies.
  11. DaveF.
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    Just a gorgeous, richly melodic album full of beauty and inspired song writing.
  12. [Anonymous]
    May 11, 2007
    10
    A great follow up to Strange Geometry. This album is just as good, mixing back in the their old tricks, in with all their new tricks learned from Strange Geometry.
  13. strangebluenova
    May 12, 2007
    10
    The mainstream media might choose to continue to overlook this band, especially in the UK, but there's a reason why their fans are unswerving in their loyalty - they know when a group cares as much about music as they do and approach it like an art. And God Save The Clientele is further testimony to that. The professional reviewers might not be so feverish in their praise, but then The mainstream media might choose to continue to overlook this band, especially in the UK, but there's a reason why their fans are unswerving in their loyalty - they know when a group cares as much about music as they do and approach it like an art. And God Save The Clientele is further testimony to that. The professional reviewers might not be so feverish in their praise, but then that's because they insist on bands wanting to be loved, being shallow, apparently 'pressing back the boundaries of new music' and all that rubbish. What you music lover actually really wants, is good music crafted with care, and an artistic statement that isn't just a cash in. And that's why we love The Clientele so much. Thanks to Alasdair and the guys (and girl). Expand
  14. JoeL
    May 15, 2007
    5
    Bookshop Cassanova is brilliant, but the rest of the album sounds nothing like it....
  15. MichaelS.
    Aug 28, 2007
    5
    extremely boring. don't know why they bothered making it. not worth anybody's time. their most useless album to date.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Under The Radar
    70
    This is the sound of a band energized and fearless, starting to savor the precision, to move around a bit within their own tight parameters. [#17, p.83]
  2. Billboard
    70
    A number of songs significantly pick up the pace for a change. [12 May 2007]
  3. There's nothing to object to and much to admire on God Save The Clientele, but there's also little to celebrate.