Gods And Monsters - I Am Kloot
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. This time, [Bramwell] transcends that reference [to Robyn Hitchcock], with angular arrangements and a darkly romantic wit that's all his own. [26 Aug 2005, p.61]
  2. 83
    Eventually it hits you just how godlike catchy these banalities are. [Aug 2005, p.103]
  3. It’s all rather marvellous.
  4. 80
    Where Kloot's self-titled second had moments of glowing, maximalist production, here the sound is pared back. [May 2005, p.106]
  5. Thinking-person's Britpop. [Oct 2005, p.166]
  6. Admirers will likely crown Gods and Monsters the band's best yet, while the lilting chorus of the single, Over My Shoulder, might make even the unititiated cock an ear.
  7. No BIG message here; I Am Kloot simply made a good, heartfelt rock record and, without sounding like they had to try too hard, pulled it off.
  8. Though on the whole, Gods And Monsters is a lesser record than I Am Kloot, what it lacks in great songs, it gains in stylistic advancement.
  9. After two albums of post-Britpop mediocrity, Manchester trio I Am Kloot kick things up a notch (or think they do), and suffer from bipolarity and an ambition that outstrips their ability.
  10. 60
    A charming composite of Damon Gough's homespun insight and Edith Piaf's anguish. [May 2005, p.106]
  11. 'Gods And Monsters' isn't a bad album, merely average which is a real shame.
  12. This diverse album's eerie ambience and astute songwriting more than compensate for its periodic uneventfulness. [Oct/Nov 2005, p.145]
  13. Bramwell strings together fine, grabbing lyrics, but he's become too enamored of his literary bent, trying to pack together poetic devices that head off to nowhere.
  14. While the bulk of Johnny Bramwell's songwriting attempts to match the gothic fairground swirl of their new sound, the best tracks... remain the most straightforward and acoustic. [May 2005, p.112]
  15. 40
    Consider this follow-up one step back. [#69, p.98]
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. martynp
    May 15, 2006
    10
    marvellous
  2. matta
    Jan 19, 2006
    8
    This album is criminally underrated. I really don't get all of the 40 scores from so many reviewers. This album is catchy and poppy but This album is criminally underrated. I really don't get all of the 40 scores from so many reviewers. This album is catchy and poppy but at the same time manages to be very clever and even complex at times. It's not one of the very best albums of 2005, but it's still one of the top 50. Full Review »
  3. BenJ
    Jun 1, 2005
    5
    Whilst this has very good production, song-for-song it doesn't match their earlier albums, and many songs lack strong melodies and John Whilst this has very good production, song-for-song it doesn't match their earlier albums, and many songs lack strong melodies and John Bramwell's usually more literate lyrics. Quite disappointing overall. Full Review »