Golden Delicious

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Feb 19, 2008
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SpearsD.
    Mar 2, 2008
    7
    Good but not as good as Haughty Melodic.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    Interesting production, some excellent song writing. Most Soul Coughing of any of Doughty's solo work yet. In my opinion, better than Haughty.
  3. HeckE.
    Mar 9, 2008
    7
    Not as strong as Haughty Melodic, but a good record with some great moments stretched out across too much average material. Short running time and lack of any really stellar material earn this record a 7 for me. "More Bacon..." feels like a last minute filler for older SC fans and only has half the feel of the original band.
  4. DSquared
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    It's not easy to write megahits like Mike does, too bad the general public is missing out on such great work. He's a genius and this album small-rocks.
  5. John
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    Best album of the year, in my mind. I've listened to it so many times... it's a fluff album, depressing in the lyrics, but coated in a pop-happy melodic structure. Honestly... I can't recommend this album enough. (Listen to "I Wrote A Song About Your Car" -- if you like the song, you'll dig the album, and if not, you'll hate it.)
  6. R.L.
    Mar 4, 2008
    7
    Dan Wilson, primarily, was the frontman for Semisonic. I think that's a bit more important than writing songs for the Dixie Chicks. Give the guy some credit.
  7. JohnT.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This album is fantastic!!!!! I wrote a song about your car, fort hood, Wednesday. Lots to like here.. great summer jams. Lighten up folks!
  8. Andy
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    There was about a month where I couldn't get enough of this album. Yes, its a bit watered down with pop, but for pop theres enough substance to keep things interesting. Maybe its that I'm of a younger generation, but Soul Coughing is too damn smug for me. On this album, Doughty settles down a bit. All this said, "More Bacon than the pan can handle" is one of the worst songs of the year.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. There are still some moments that show what Doughty is capable of, where he holds back on the production and instrumentation and lets his acoustic guitar chords and voice take over, like in the darker 'I Got the Drop on You,' which references his Soul Coughing days while still coming across as an original, but this is a rarity among the slick and silly tracks that make up the rest of Golden Delicious.
  2. It may be his poppiest and slickest work to date, but Golden Delicious is more proof that Mike Doughty still knows where to make the melodies twist and turn to find the sweet spot among the ridiculous, the sublime and the sad.
  3. For fans who’ve followed the singer/songwriter since the demise of Soul Coughing, there’s a lot to recommend on Golden Delicious.