Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Volume One: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third emo-sci-fi album from the prog-rock foursome fronted by Claudio Sanchez.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Finally, Coheed have made an album worthy of repeat listens, rather than a monster you skim through to hit the interesting parts. [Nov 2005, p.218]
  2. C&C's music factory comes across as a unique, modern perspective of both rock's past and present.
  3. 80
    [A] dense, inventive disc. [Oct 2005, p.134]
  4. While the overlong album sometimes threatens to bury C&C with its own excess, the craftsmanship suggests the band is more than capable of breaking into the mainstream. [24 Sep 2005]
  5. 60
    Stupendously silly but... indisputably proficient. [Nov 2005, p.103]
  6. Next time, Coheed could do with less prog and more rock.
  7. Bleak and despairing... gloomy and numbing. [23 Sep 2005, p.86]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 59
  2. Negative: 4 out of 59
  1. KennyM
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    i would have given this epic album an eleven but ten is the highest that is offered. From the first through the last song, claudio i would have given this epic album an eleven but ten is the highest that is offered. From the first through the last song, claudio sanchez's beautifully crafted lyrics fit perfect with double guitar harmonies and delicately crafted vocal melodies. This album showcases influence from pink floyd, led zepplin, and rush. Is is refreshing to hear bands like coheed & cambria and the mars volta. Absolutely amazing! Expand
  2. sierram
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    First thing is first. coheed and cambria has all my respect. they are def my favorite band and i get so sick of people saying they are not First thing is first. coheed and cambria has all my respect. they are def my favorite band and i get so sick of people saying they are not prog enough or too much prog! get over it! Expand
  3. MarshaR
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    sheer brilliance.
  4. CoryS
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Great album. Must have.
  5. NathanD
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums I have ever heard in my life. It's original, it's everything that as a musicsian wants to hear in rock One of the best albums I have ever heard in my life. It's original, it's everything that as a musicsian wants to hear in rock n' roll music. Coheed is argurably the best band ot there today, alot better than most of the stuff out know and even up and coming. I highly recomend this album to any one Expand
  6. StephenW
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    Grows on me with every listen, and live its even better. But unless you're really into them, please dont spoil it for the rest of us Grows on me with every listen, and live its even better. But unless you're really into them, please dont spoil it for the rest of us with your half-arsed support. Collapse
  7. Ugh
    Oct 10, 2005
    0
    The sound of a generation of idiot suburbanites barfing in unison. Ugh.

See all 59 User Reviews