User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 119
  2. Negative: 33 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VirgilR.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    The people who gave zeros to this album are the only sane people here.
  2. BiffT.
    Dec 7, 2007
    0
    Like taking a drill to your forehead.
  3. AwesomeO.
    Nov 27, 2007
    0
    You guys! You just don't get it, you guys! Too DEEP for you? You guys are so ignorant. I mean, "The End Complete"? That's so profound, you guys. It's like saying it's "the end", but it's really "the end" because it's "complete". Good luck writing deeper lyrics than that, you guys!
  4. ApolloCreed
    Dec 11, 2007
    0
    Anybody giving this album more than a 4 just doesn't know what good music is.
  5. AllenB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    One word: Meh...
  6. CedricZ
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Claudio has been copying my voice since the late nineties. It's time he stop writing sci-fi stories that belong on a cereal box, cut the hair and retire. I did like him as Goldberg from The Mighty Ducks though.
  7. ScottyT.
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Terrible. Just terrible. How can people listen to this? No soul at all.
  8. ConradL.
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Instrumentally talented, but the rest is pure garbage. This band could be good if they sacked that disease named Claudio. His vocals ruin otherwise decent songs and his epic sci-fi drama is an epic bore. Please break up again, Coheed, if only for the sake of the other more deserving members of the band. Let Claudio go release another solo bomb like Prize Fighter Inferno and ruin himself.
  9. RyanA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    0
    Lame!
  10. ChesterQ.
    Oct 27, 2007
    0
    A bloated emo turd. Just because you're poetic, doesn't forgive your whiny, trying too hard to be edgy ways. Somebody drown that lead singer.
  11. BusterJ.
    Oct 27, 2007
    0
    The guy from Spin magazine is right.
  12. BobO.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    Utter shite!
  13. ClaudioS.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    How this got anywhere above a 30 is beyond me.
  14. TunakR.
    Oct 30, 2007
    0
    If I wanted a boring sci-fi story, I'd read a book. If I wanted sterile music, I'd have a computer construct a mathematically perfect, yet boring song. With Coheed, you get both in one!
  15. MarkT.
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    Total shite.
  16. ReggieV.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Would somebody stop beating that cat? Thank you, The Management
  17. StephenC.
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    Emo crap is emo crap.
  18. SethC.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    Just as bad as their other crap. Sterile instrumentation and a singer who sounds like Geddy Lee screwing a chipmunk. Add in an overly pretentious sci-fi storyline, so every geek in Geektown raves about it even more, thus creating a rabid fanbase that'll defend their crap to no end and you've got one of the most over-rated bands in existence.
  19. GaspardA.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    *yawn*
  20. TitoF.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    Gah, another overrated piece of garbage on Metacritic. Worse than that CD by The Field.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Alternative Press
    60
    Coheed's fourth album simply doesn't deliver on the suspense that's been loaded into it. [Nov 2007, p.155]
  2. 70
    Coheed have found their sweet spot.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    C&C infuse their expansive music with enough grit and melody that you don't give a hoot what, say, 'The Hound (Of Blood And Rank)' is about. [26 Oct 2007, p.67]