Good Bad Not Evil

  • Record Label: Vice
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2007
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Spin
    60
    It's gleefully cheeky, but a little safe. [Oct 2007, p.96]
  2. Alternative Press
    60
    Longtime Black Lips fans will notice a more polished production compared to past albums, but it also seems apparent that these boys have barely begun to scratch the surface when it comes to showing us what they've made of. [Nov 2007, p.170]
  3. Uncut
    60
    Their fourth studio album combinds poignant odes to former drummer Ben Eberbaugh with a joyous refusal to take itself seriously. [Oct 2007, p.83]
  4. Mojo
    60
    Black Lips conjure not only the riffs of the early garage squallers, but their very spirit. [Dec 2007, p.108]
  5. At times, it feels far too self-consciously hip; at others, the roughness of their songs is fantastically ready.
  6. Q Magazine
    40
    Entertaining in the flesh maybe, but a considerably less engaging proposition on record. [Jan 2008, p.105]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. WesselK.
    Oct 5, 2007
    8
    This is what i wanted from the black lips. An consisted album, without the childless fooling around (it's fun to see that live but not This is what i wanted from the black lips. An consisted album, without the childless fooling around (it's fun to see that live but not on the album). The only problem is that it doesn't have the real killers like 'buried alive' and 'sea of blasphemy'. The black lips made a proper pop album and it's a sidestep from their previous material. The next album should be the classic Garage rock album of the new millennium. Full Review »
  2. MarkR
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Absolutely great and quite funny....great if your into the genre
  3. JohnnyT.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    The best band to come out of Atlanta . . . um, ever. Most reviews have been a little too lukewarm for my blood. I don't know how you The best band to come out of Atlanta . . . um, ever. Most reviews have been a little too lukewarm for my blood. I don't know how you feel lukewarm about a band like this, you should either love them or hate them. One of the top 5 albums of the year. Full Review »