Good Kid, M.A.A.D City

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1365 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, and it is amazing how his album follows a story line, often resulting in songs that have unique beat changes or skits in them. Overall this really is a 10/10 album, an instant classic, and the official crowning of a new king of hip hop. King Kendrick Lamar.
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    this album is by far the best west coast album since doggystyle. storytelling is mind-blowing, production is excellent, and its only scary that he's just getting started. well done king kendrick.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Instant classic. That's all I can say. Everything on this album is perfect. Great message and amazing execution. Kendrick is one of the most promising MC's in the rap game right now. There isn't much I can say about this album other than this is amazing and is a must listen for anyone who just simply enjoy's genuine music whether you are a hip-hop head or an indie fan. Get your hands onInstant classic. That's all I can say. Everything on this album is perfect. Great message and amazing execution. Kendrick is one of the most promising MC's in the rap game right now. There isn't much I can say about this album other than this is amazing and is a must listen for anyone who just simply enjoy's genuine music whether you are a hip-hop head or an indie fan. Get your hands on this album. All I can say. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers. With his Lyrical themes and cohesive rapping abilities that is what makes "Good Kid, M.A.A.D City" one of those rare hip-hop albums that is good enough to be praised as a whole as a Classic. Collapse
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    I am happy to be alive when this album came out. Kendrick Lamar had so much hype behind this album and he more than delivered, he created a masterpiece that might just be the greatest concept rap album ever. Even as a proud Kendrick Lamar diehard fan, I did not expect good kid, mAAd city to bring it to this level, this is the album of the year (sorry channel ORANGE). Lyrics, production,I am happy to be alive when this album came out. Kendrick Lamar had so much hype behind this album and he more than delivered, he created a masterpiece that might just be the greatest concept rap album ever. Even as a proud Kendrick Lamar diehard fan, I did not expect good kid, mAAd city to bring it to this level, this is the album of the year (sorry channel ORANGE). Lyrics, production, story-telling, flow, ability, this album has a track for anyone. The highlights of this album include "mAAd city" and "Sing About Me, I'm Dying of Thirst" and the only somewhat weak song on this album is "Real". And even then, it's not that bad. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This thing was widely anticipated considering how hot K Dot has become-jumping on everyone's remixes and all the singles he was putting out. Now an entire album which is FIRE. I liked the addition of old school Spice One on the record. However the album seemed kinda limited versus his wide array of styles shown on his singles. A bit too limited at times (Yes, we get it, Pyrus are in yourThis thing was widely anticipated considering how hot K Dot has become-jumping on everyone's remixes and all the singles he was putting out. Now an entire album which is FIRE. I liked the addition of old school Spice One on the record. However the album seemed kinda limited versus his wide array of styles shown on his singles. A bit too limited at times (Yes, we get it, Pyrus are in your 'hood) and would have liked to seen more TDE contributions on this CD but it is a banger and a tribute to know hip hop isn't dying. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This is a great rap album. Artistically its a masterpiece. That's not something you can say about a rap album too often. Kendrick paints a picture of a day in his life of a young guy living in a rough city. The real story!
  8. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Words cannot describe how amazing this album is. One of the most anticipated this year, and it delivers everything perfectly. Kendrick isn't your average rapper, he's more than that. Kendrick tells a story in this album, and boy does he do it amazingly. The lyrics are witty, beats are fantastic, and the way the songs just flow into each other is simply beautiful. I can't recommend thisWords cannot describe how amazing this album is. One of the most anticipated this year, and it delivers everything perfectly. Kendrick isn't your average rapper, he's more than that. Kendrick tells a story in this album, and boy does he do it amazingly. The lyrics are witty, beats are fantastic, and the way the songs just flow into each other is simply beautiful. I can't recommend this album enough. It's honestly on comparable to Illmatic or something of that caliber, go and grab this album! Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I am going to go ahead and repeat what everyone else has been chanting--instant classic. First, his style is "west coast" at its finest, with obvious, but not overwhelming, influence from Tupac, Eminem, Snoop, Dre, Nas. Now, the ALBUM. It is, in fact, a short film by Kendrick Lamar. It has an over-arching narrative throughout the entire record, never compromising the story, spit like silkI am going to go ahead and repeat what everyone else has been chanting--instant classic. First, his style is "west coast" at its finest, with obvious, but not overwhelming, influence from Tupac, Eminem, Snoop, Dre, Nas. Now, the ALBUM. It is, in fact, a short film by Kendrick Lamar. It has an over-arching narrative throughout the entire record, never compromising the story, spit like silk and with some of the most thoughtful and deep and complex displays of rap in recent time. Simply, it's not enough to call it a classic. Dark. Personal. Compelling. Linear. Just when I thought that Kanye West owned the "album business" and that nobody else could /create/ and compose an entire project the way he does, Kendrick Lamar proved us wrong. I was convinced the east coast ruled rap with recent legends like J Cole. But, again, Kendrick Lamar refutes all of that. It's the best album of the year--among Illmatic, Reasonable Doubt and Ready To Die as the greatest debut's (major label) in all of hip hop, and the potential to be one of the best and most important albums of the genre's lifetime. Expand
  10. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    Good Kid, M.A.A.D City is both entertaining and poetic - proof that hip-hop can be an art form and that an album can be more than just fun music. The album unfolds like the perfectly planned script of a Quentin Tarantino movie - Kendrick Lamar switches flows as well as perspectives, and every detail within the lyrics and production seems to be important to the story. The excellentGood Kid, M.A.A.D City is both entertaining and poetic - proof that hip-hop can be an art form and that an album can be more than just fun music. The album unfolds like the perfectly planned script of a Quentin Tarantino movie - Kendrick Lamar switches flows as well as perspectives, and every detail within the lyrics and production seems to be important to the story. The excellent production makes you feel like you're riding along with Kendrick through Compton. "Backseat Freestyle" puts the listener in the car with Kendrick as he busts a freestyle with his friends, while songs like "The Art of Peer Pressure" puts you inside Kendrick's head to reveal his wiser lyrical efforts. The hard, trunk-banging production on "m.A.A.d. city" sets the perfect atmosphere of a dangerous city, and the MC Eiht feature on this song is bones-chilling. All of the features, including Drake, seem to be perfectly placed. Kendrick is on point & in his zone, ultimately making listeners think deep with cuts like "Sing About Me, I'm Dying of Thirst". Themes of life, death, and humanity make this album memorable. Meanwhile, chilled out, atmospheric songs like "B*%&^ Don't Kill Me Vibe" and "Money Trees" make this album fun to return to. As far as I'm concerned, after hearing this album, any rap song with Kendrick Lamar on it is worth listening to. Expand
  11. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    Album of the year. good kid brings a thematic quality that 2012 rap albums all lacked this year. Production is on point, Kendrick's raps are top notch, and all of the stories that intertwine the album come together for one beautiful Compton drama. One after another, each song carried the story into a deeper, darker place, accumulating to that climax at "Sing For Me, I'm Dying OfAlbum of the year. good kid brings a thematic quality that 2012 rap albums all lacked this year. Production is on point, Kendrick's raps are top notch, and all of the stories that intertwine the album come together for one beautiful Compton drama. One after another, each song carried the story into a deeper, darker place, accumulating to that climax at "Sing For Me, I'm Dying Of Thirst." Without those little stories in the middle/end of songs, this would be one of the most disjointed rap album I would ever hear. However, Lamar puts out his best verses, his best beats, and his story out there into this beautiful tapestry known as good kid, m.A.A.d. city, a rap album that will be talked about going into the next decade. Expand
  12. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Playing this album's tracks individually results only in a sense of isolated disappointment. As a whole, this album is pure gold. Listen to this album one track after another and you, like me, will be inclined to call it a masterpiece. Instant classic. Production values that are sky high but don't eradicate the heart and soul of the artist. Lyrics that are meaningful. Beats that arePlaying this album's tracks individually results only in a sense of isolated disappointment. As a whole, this album is pure gold. Listen to this album one track after another and you, like me, will be inclined to call it a masterpiece. Instant classic. Production values that are sky high but don't eradicate the heart and soul of the artist. Lyrics that are meaningful. Beats that are memorable. This is next to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, The Marshall Mathers LP, Illmatic and Glass Swords as one of the finest albums (hip-hop or not) of all time. Expand
  13. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Album of the year.... Instant classic, anyone else agree? With this album, Kendrick Lamar not only solidifies himself as a true lyricist, but he proves he can take on the difficult task of delivering a concept album and brings together the best of both worlds
  14. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This short film escapade, has really given Hip Hop its respect and intelligence back. Kendricks story telling are to perfection, with his rhymes and hooks giving you the front seat view of his film. The features are well chosen giving the theme to each song to suit the story. The production is incredible, giving every track a individual remembrance of gold. This masterfully constructedThis short film escapade, has really given Hip Hop its respect and intelligence back. Kendricks story telling are to perfection, with his rhymes and hooks giving you the front seat view of his film. The features are well chosen giving the theme to each song to suit the story. The production is incredible, giving every track a individual remembrance of gold. This masterfully constructed album has really put Kendrick on top of hip hop this year, and set the bar for rappers releasing albums soon. Expand
  15. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Cats need to focus on making great albums, not great mixtapes, not great singles, not great verses on other people stuff

    At the end of the day if you want to be remember in music history, you're gonna be judged by the retail body of work you leave behind. Kendrick seems to be the only newcomer who really gets this good kkid maad city is very complex, well structured & cohesive...
    Cats need to focus on making great albums, not great mixtapes, not great singles, not great verses on other people stuff

    At the end of the day if you want to be remember in music history, you're gonna be judged by the retail body of work you leave behind. Kendrick seems to be the only newcomer who really gets this

    good kkid maad city is very complex, well structured & cohesive... this is a classic.
    Expand
  16. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    The production oozes Dre, and Kendrick's flow and vocal variance (e.g. m.A.A.d city vs. Art of Peer Pressure) contribute a more complex, multi-faceted approach to gangsta rap. GKMC is like no other album out there, and how it revived and evolved 90s hip-hop makes this an instant classic.
  17. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard from any genre. Kendrick Lamar just might be the savior hip hop needs. Best word to describe this album: Perfection.
  18. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    This album is brilliant, its well structured and each song is interesting no repetitiveness just pure talent form kendrick (as always) a potential classic
  19. May 30, 2015
    10
    I didn't like this album for over two years after it came out. It wasn't until early 215 when I gave it a re-listen after probably 6 months that I realized it was miles ahead of any other rap album I had heard. If only "Real," which is a terrible song, hadn't been included...
  20. Jul 9, 2015
    10
    The Great hip-hop album. That one the revitalised the genre and gave it a new life with impeccable wordplay and storytelling. The spacious and layered beats, the songwriting, the skits, the perfect way that the track-list is lade out. Almost 3 years later, no album came close to matching the conceptualized beauty of "good kid, m.A.A.d. city".
  21. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    Best album of 2012 deffinietly. 2013 yeezus.. And these two albums are the best so far. Lamar is a genius. Great lyrics, great flow, great production. Perfect album. M.A.A.D city fav track. :)
  22. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    This album tells the story of Kendrick growing up in Compton surrounded by gang violence and other personal problems. The story telling on this album is stunning and the outstanding instrumentals are complemented by Kendrick's in depth lyricism which perfectly paints the images he is portraying. Highlights include 'MAAD City' and 'Money Trees', both of which have great guest features. ThisThis album tells the story of Kendrick growing up in Compton surrounded by gang violence and other personal problems. The story telling on this album is stunning and the outstanding instrumentals are complemented by Kendrick's in depth lyricism which perfectly paints the images he is portraying. Highlights include 'MAAD City' and 'Money Trees', both of which have great guest features. This album is an instant classic and one of the best albums to ever come out in recent years. Expand
  23. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    By contemporary standards, this album was almost beyond reproach. Just a note - if you thought that (with regard to content) "Swimming Pools" was like "every other rap song," you clearly missed the point of the record. In fact, if somebody suggested that it diametrically opposed "every other rap song" about drinking, it'd be a more valid (yet still flawed) statement. If you don't see howBy contemporary standards, this album was almost beyond reproach. Just a note - if you thought that (with regard to content) "Swimming Pools" was like "every other rap song," you clearly missed the point of the record. In fact, if somebody suggested that it diametrically opposed "every other rap song" about drinking, it'd be a more valid (yet still flawed) statement. If you don't see how the song coheres to the larger narrative of the album, you clearly didn't get it conceptually. Expand
  24. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, and it is amazing how his album follows a story line, often resulting in songs that have unique beat changes or skits in them. Overall this really is a 10/10 album, an instant classic, and the official crowning of a new king of hip hop. King Kendrick Lamar.
  25. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Whether it's story-telling, production, lyrics or just rapping skill, this album delivers it all. After 'section.80', its very clear that Kendrick's ability to bring together a concept over the course of an album is something he excels at. This album goes even further: every track is relevant to the story-line and thought provoking, even the skits are incredibly interesting, something rareWhether it's story-telling, production, lyrics or just rapping skill, this album delivers it all. After 'section.80', its very clear that Kendrick's ability to bring together a concept over the course of an album is something he excels at. This album goes even further: every track is relevant to the story-line and thought provoking, even the skits are incredibly interesting, something rare in hip hop. Listening to this album from start to finish resembles a film, hence the 'A short film by Kendrick Lamar' on the cover. What's truly brilliant is that this album ticks all the boxes without sacrificing anything, and every feature, even the Drake one, was superbly done and fits the albums themes and story perfectly. It's difficult to find a fault in this album. A rare classic in an era where the direction of hip hop is unclear, Kendrick has definitely stamped his foot as the new king of hip hop. Its now up to the listeners to crown him. 10/10. Expand
  26. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Dear Zeus, I don't normally write reviews, but for you I'll make an exception. You completely missed the point. I hope one day you wake up and understand the concept of a story. Till then, enjoy your ignorance. It's a blessing. To everybody else, every beat, lyric, and guest appearance is absolutely necessary to complete the "film". This is in every respect a classic hip hop album. I'm notDear Zeus, I don't normally write reviews, but for you I'll make an exception. You completely missed the point. I hope one day you wake up and understand the concept of a story. Till then, enjoy your ignorance. It's a blessing. To everybody else, every beat, lyric, and guest appearance is absolutely necessary to complete the "film". This is in every respect a classic hip hop album. I'm not a hip hop guy, but everyone should listen to this album. You won't regret it. But make sure you don't forget that every once in a while, a real artist makes a piece that needs to appreciated as a whole. Some of the songs stand out as odd if not appreciated as part of quite a complex plot.
    Listen with open ears...
    Expand
  27. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    This is the work of a true artist. This album is pieced together from one main theme: A day in the life of what seems to be 17 year old Kendrick. Kendrick does a great job of setting the tone of each songs with his unique voice. Backseat Freestyle is probably the best example of Kendrick putting himself into the mindset he once had as a kid who just graduated high school. The skits areThis is the work of a true artist. This album is pieced together from one main theme: A day in the life of what seems to be 17 year old Kendrick. Kendrick does a great job of setting the tone of each songs with his unique voice. Backseat Freestyle is probably the best example of Kendrick putting himself into the mindset he once had as a kid who just graduated high school. The skits are incredibly interesting even after countless times of hearing them. The skits bring the album to the level where it could almost be considered a concept album. This is a great rap album, my favorite of the year, and probably one of my favorites of the year in general. Expand
  28. N10
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Surely he is the king of west coast right now and a big name in hip hop, overall just something music lovers would appreciate, and this album surely know it's roots, he did a big favor to todays hip hop, an instant classic it is with production and storytelling on-point, and as a lyricist he's great, fantastic, he's on a league that not many artists are. Kendrick has a nice flow and aSurely he is the king of west coast right now and a big name in hip hop, overall just something music lovers would appreciate, and this album surely know it's roots, he did a big favor to todays hip hop, an instant classic it is with production and storytelling on-point, and as a lyricist he's great, fantastic, he's on a league that not many artists are. Kendrick has a nice flow and a really interesting, thought-provoking and a heart warming conecpt. "good kid, m.A.A.d city" is incredible, and according to me the best hip hop album this year and the year's best with Frank Ocean's "channel ORANGE". The album is a favourite, one of my favourite hip hop albums of all time's, yes I really said it, one of the best for sure, have played this over a hundred time's since the release of it!
    K. Dot, Kendrick Lamar, thanks for making this, thank you, I really appreciate this.
    Expand
  29. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I, like so many other people, I waited a long time the release of this album and I wasn't disappointed. Kendrick Lamar will become one of the godfathers of hip-hop thanks to his talent and what he has to say. Speaking of Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City you can say that is a mix of excellent production (Hit-Boy, Just Blaze) and large collaborations like Drake, Dr. Dre and MC Eiht. Kendrick Lamar inI, like so many other people, I waited a long time the release of this album and I wasn't disappointed. Kendrick Lamar will become one of the godfathers of hip-hop thanks to his talent and what he has to say. Speaking of Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City you can say that is a mix of excellent production (Hit-Boy, Just Blaze) and large collaborations like Drake, Dr. Dre and MC Eiht. Kendrick Lamar in his lyrics speak a lot about economic disenfranchisement, gang violence, and downtrodden women but does so with a style so original, to be envied by Jay-Z. The West Coast Hip-Hop is reborn, Brooklyn attention. Expand
  30. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    With this album, Kendrick Lamar not only solidifies himself as a true lyricist, but he proves he can take on the difficult task of delivering a concept album and brings together the best of both worlds. The album plays like a real movie going into the life of a good kid lost in a place where violence, drugs and lust is everywhere. Showing you the highs and lows he goes through on thisWith this album, Kendrick Lamar not only solidifies himself as a true lyricist, but he proves he can take on the difficult task of delivering a concept album and brings together the best of both worlds. The album plays like a real movie going into the life of a good kid lost in a place where violence, drugs and lust is everywhere. Showing you the highs and lows he goes through on this audio tour of Compton. Section.80 was my favorite rap album last year. And yet somehow, some way the major label debut was actually better then the indie album. A feet that as of recent I haven't seen yet especially with someone who had their hype built up as big as Kendrick's hype was. Congrats to Kendrick for the success he's been receiving. He deserves it. #HiiiPoWeR Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    89
    The quotidian problems and longings of the title track making up the real heart of the album, a rough and tumble struggle to the top.
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    90
    In another rapper's hands the concepts might have been overcooked or the messages too self-righteous, but Kendrick manages to achieve scale while remaining firmly grounded on two feet.
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    90
    This is the best rap album of 2012--not just because of champion verses and immaculate drops, but because they recognize that the most brilliant foreground only shines against a well-defined backdrop.