Good Kid, M.A.A.D City

Good Kid, M.A.A.D City Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The official major label debut studio album for the Compton rapper features guest appearances from Dr. Dre, Drake, Jay Rock, And MC Eiht.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    100
    Lamar's invincible on good kid, and reveals just how deft his hand is.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    100
    Good Kid, m.A.A.d City impresses with its diversity and scope, but it's not just a record to admire: put simply, there's an embarrassment of killer material here.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    94
    Surely there's despair and persistent uncertainty, but there's an unspoken beauty to the struggle.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    With Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City, Compton's flag bearer unveils a group of songs equally potent individually and collectively, meeting the mainstream and rabid fans in the middle, improbably touching that thinnest slice between mass appeal and mass respect.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    83
    Good Kid is an exercise in tasteful restraint, with Lamar employing his boundless budget in creative ways.
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Lamar has once more asserted a great and formidable talent, and good kid is triumphantly and unmistakably his, but the artists that stick around longest are the ones who let us make their art our own.
  7. 60
    It might lack the raw appeal of Kendrick's 2011 mixtape 'Section.80', but it's also a big-budget reminder that the 25-year-old hasn't forgotten his roots.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 163
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Fantastic album. Really. Most of mainstream rap has become incredibly monotonous but good kid, m.A.A.d. city revitalized by hope. A compellingFantastic album. Really. Most of mainstream rap has become incredibly monotonous but good kid, m.A.A.d. city revitalized by hope. A compelling album that guides your from beginning to the end with an interesting story. Each song taken in context is simply superb. The beats are brilliant and Kendrick's flow and voice carry. The only lesser moment on the album is the closer Compton which seems out of place. Dr Dre's rap is the only guest appearance seeming to drag the album down. Real the track preceding Compton tells of a real man. caring for family and responsibility. Great listen. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, andAbsolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, and it is amazing how his album follows a story line, often resulting in songs that have unique beat changes or skits in them. Overall this really is a 10/10 album, an instant classic, and the official crowning of a new king of hip hop. King Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    The best recent rap album in memory, Kendrick Lamar combines lyricism, storytelling, and production masterfully to create an instant classic.The best recent rap album in memory, Kendrick Lamar combines lyricism, storytelling, and production masterfully to create an instant classic. The story, told immediately as the album begins, explores Kendrick's day in Compton. He delves into issues, such as gang violence, love (or lust), stereotypes in this day of a 17-year-old. The skits accentuate the songs, songs loop into each other, and the beats between songs keep the listener hooked. The album itself is an experience similar to watching a great movie. Its only negatives are the hooks can be a little strange, and some may find his voice annoying, though these are very insignificant issues when looking at the album as a whole. Multiple listens are advised. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has probably one of my favorite albums of all times. Kendrick hit all the key points into making a great album. His album contains a great lyrical content, the beats are on point, its relatable, and the whole album has somewhat of a story line;

    Lyrical content;
    Its not rare to see (or hear) Kendrick uses big and elaborate words in his songs. But that's what exactly separates him from other artist. his use of words adds a certain detail that may be missed using real basic words. I as a hip-hop/rap fan, I'm glad i can see an artist spitting more intellectual rhymes

    Beat;
    The beats were great with each song. It was very "scene setting", almost felt like i was rollin' around with Kendrick in Compton. If a beat doesn't make you feel like you're there, in the setting of the song, it's NOT the beat for the song. But Kendrick Lamar did this very well.

    Relatable;
    I know I can't relate to the situations that Kendrick portrays that he went through exactly. But in the vague sense of what happened, most, if not all of us can relate to his actions. For example in " The Art of Peer Pressure" I, myself have faced and well into peer pressure. Being able to kind of relate to the artist really makes the album more pleasant to listen to.

    Background story;
    This album's story is just amazing. It shows the kinda young, money hungry side of Kendrick. Not necessarily a bad kid but gets into bad situations he knows it's wrong. and The album shows how Kendrick mindset if changing from "I gotta get this money" to " I gotta get out, and make a change for my city."
    Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    this album is by far the best west coast album since doggystyle. storytelling is mind-blowing, production is excellent, and its only scarythis album is by far the best west coast album since doggystyle. storytelling is mind-blowing, production is excellent, and its only scary that he's just getting started. well done king kendrick. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I, like so many other people, I waited a long time the release of this album and I wasn't disappointed. Kendrick Lamar will become one of theI, like so many other people, I waited a long time the release of this album and I wasn't disappointed. Kendrick Lamar will become one of the godfathers of hip-hop thanks to his talent and what he has to say. Speaking of Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City you can say that is a mix of excellent production (Hit-Boy, Just Blaze) and large collaborations like Drake, Dr. Dre and MC Eiht. Kendrick Lamar in his lyrics speak a lot about economic disenfranchisement, gang violence, and downtrodden women but does so with a style so original, to be envied by Jay-Z. The West Coast Hip-Hop is reborn, Brooklyn attention. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    this album is the most overrated album of all time, yes the production was good but i think people are the whole story board of the albumthis album is the most overrated album of all time, yes the production was good but i think people are the whole story board of the album overshadow the music itself. personally i prefer section 80. gkmc heavily influence by Andre 3000 Expand

See all 163 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.
  3. October's Best New Music

    October's Best New Music Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    Kendrick Lamar's major-label debut leads the pack of October's best new albums. Get the full list inside, and find streaming audio for most of this month's picks.