Good Kid, M.A.A.D City

Good Kid, M.A.A.D City Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The official major label debut studio album for the Compton rapper features guest appearances from Dr. Dre, Drake, Jay Rock, And MC Eiht.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    100
    Lamar's invincible on good kid, and reveals just how deft his hand is.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    100
    Good Kid, m.A.A.d City impresses with its diversity and scope, but it's not just a record to admire: put simply, there's an embarrassment of killer material here.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    94
    Surely there's despair and persistent uncertainty, but there's an unspoken beauty to the struggle.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    With Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City, Compton's flag bearer unveils a group of songs equally potent individually and collectively, meeting the mainstream and rabid fans in the middle, improbably touching that thinnest slice between mass appeal and mass respect.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    83
    Good Kid is an exercise in tasteful restraint, with Lamar employing his boundless budget in creative ways.
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Lamar has once more asserted a great and formidable talent, and good kid is triumphantly and unmistakably his, but the artists that stick around longest are the ones who let us make their art our own.
  7. 60
    It might lack the raw appeal of Kendrick's 2011 mixtape 'Section.80', but it's also a big-budget reminder that the 25-year-old hasn't forgotten his roots.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 162
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Greatest debut I heard in a long time probably since Em's Slim Shady LP. I listened to all the tracks and it just sounds like the perfectGreatest debut I heard in a long time probably since Em's Slim Shady LP. I listened to all the tracks and it just sounds like the perfect hip-hop that we needed. Lyrics are really good, the production is also good and the little skits in the songs goes well with the album. If you have not picked up this album I suggest you do so. This album will be talked about for years Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, andAbsolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, and it is amazing how his album follows a story line, often resulting in songs that have unique beat changes or skits in them. Overall this really is a 10/10 album, an instant classic, and the official crowning of a new king of hip hop. King Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    wow, classic album.
    Very few rappers can tell a story like that over a complete album. He takes a rather simple concept and transforms it
    wow, classic album.
    Very few rappers can tell a story like that over a complete album. He takes a rather simple concept and transforms it into a unique introspective story that draws the listeners in by connecting with its audience. Not one song is alike, each song is in a different style and delivery. And the song mAAd city has out of this world flow.
    Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2016
    10
    What a start to a mainstream career this is. The production on point, Kendrick's wordplay always on point and especially the subject matter ofWhat a start to a mainstream career this is. The production on point, Kendrick's wordplay always on point and especially the subject matter of the album. We heard the story of Compton in many ways and with many different people but his story is fascinating. Keep up the good work, Kendrick!!!!! Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    this album is by far the best west coast album since doggystyle. storytelling is mind-blowing, production is excellent, and its only scarythis album is by far the best west coast album since doggystyle. storytelling is mind-blowing, production is excellent, and its only scary that he's just getting started. well done king kendrick. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This thing was widely anticipated considering how hot K Dot has become-jumping on everyone's remixes and all the singles he was putting out.This thing was widely anticipated considering how hot K Dot has become-jumping on everyone's remixes and all the singles he was putting out. Now an entire album which is FIRE. I liked the addition of old school Spice One on the record. However the album seemed kinda limited versus his wide array of styles shown on his singles. A bit too limited at times (Yes, we get it, Pyrus are in your 'hood) and would have liked to seen more TDE contributions on this CD but it is a banger and a tribute to know hip hop isn't dying. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    this album is the most overrated album of all time, yes the production was good but i think people are the whole story board of the albumthis album is the most overrated album of all time, yes the production was good but i think people are the whole story board of the album overshadow the music itself. personally i prefer section 80. gkmc heavily influence by Andre 3000 Expand

See all 162 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.
  3. October's Best New Music

    October's Best New Music Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    Kendrick Lamar's major-label debut leads the pack of October's best new albums. Get the full list inside, and find streaming audio for most of this month's picks.