Good Morning Revival

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2007
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 122
  2. Negative: 44 out of 122

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JK
    Mar 27, 2007
    1
    So bad you'd think it was Panic at the Disco...
  2. AlexRoberts
    Jun 14, 2007
    0
    This is immaturity at its worst. Bands growing up is not the issue with this group... Thrice has grown tremendously, Linkin Park, 311... all bands that have changed and grown with good results. This band is for rebellious children who think that they know everything. Musically, these people barely know how to play their instruments.
  3. SamL
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    One of the best albums of the year//// for me to poop on.
  4. Devin
    Mar 26, 2007
    1
    Horrifyingly soulless, contrived, and talent-free. Do people older than age 14 honestly still listen to this trash?
  5. ScottR
    Mar 28, 2007
    0
    I am not a Good Charlotte fan. What self-respecting music lover is? But luckily for them, I watched Happy Feet before reviewing their album. It's not good, this new s*** storm they have delivered into the hands of the unsuspecting public. It's still the same old soullessly commercialized version of pop-punk, a style of music notorious for being soullessly commercialized. But I am not a Good Charlotte fan. What self-respecting music lover is? But luckily for them, I watched Happy Feet before reviewing their album. It's not good, this new s*** storm they have delivered into the hands of the unsuspecting public. It's still the same old soullessly commercialized version of pop-punk, a style of music notorious for being soullessly commercialized. But Good Charlotte just don't have the hooks and chops to make it fun. They take themselves too seriously as musicians, which is why I laughed through most of the album. When I couldn't understand lyrics, I made up my own, "Blap Lubbel Blubble The City!!!!" were the lyrics of one song. And when I could understand the lyrics they were bland little tidbits like, "I heard evil comes disguised as a city of angels," or "We live in a beautiful place, let love take away all this pain." And then more reasons started to surface for hating this album. The god-awful "Keep Your Hands Off My Girl" made me want to tear my eyes out and wear them as earplugs. But it got worse. They became more unoriginal than I ever imagined possible, as they blatantly rip-off Coldplay on "Where Would We Be Now." Then they top themselves by ripping off U2's sound and just changing a few lyrics to the Coldplay song they'd already ripped off and calling it "Beautiful Place." They can't even be original with their unoriginality. This album is nothing short of torture. I had to listen to Bjork just to forget about it. And this is me being easy on them. Good Charlotte and Good Charlotte fans, thank those f**king penguins. This could have gotten bloody. -SR Grade: F Expand
  6. TP
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    A Disgusting pile of rubbish, i pity my poor ears.
  7. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    2
    Oh...gosh, what do i say. This album is really quite...bad. Only good songs for me are Keep Your Hands Off and The River. 2 stars for 2 songs
  8. MichaelEssex
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    Go buy a screwdriver for your ears, its cheaper and a lot less painful.
  9. Donnieb
    May 5, 2007
    0
    They make looking fake seem soooooo so easy!
  10. JuliaAstarina
    Jun 3, 2007
    0
    I liked them on the self titled debut and The Young & The Hopeless (at least that album wasn't hopeless :),even I became a fan. And come The Chronicles...it washed a bit of their fascination to me. Now here's Good Morning Revival and there I had it, I erased GC from my favorite bands list.Their music might be not that bad,but I can't stand the lyrics,their approachment I liked them on the self titled debut and The Young & The Hopeless (at least that album wasn't hopeless :),even I became a fan. And come The Chronicles...it washed a bit of their fascination to me. Now here's Good Morning Revival and there I had it, I erased GC from my favorite bands list.Their music might be not that bad,but I can't stand the lyrics,their approachment seems never get too far from the memories of highschool stories or wrenched hearts at the Hollywood limelights. No thumbs up for this album. Expand
  11. AdemaRulez
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    a shit
  12. RalphP
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Stay away from this. They were crap then and they are crap now. No talent just bad music and awful lyrics.
  13. JonathanD
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Just go by a screwdriver for your ears, its cheaper and a lot less painful.
  14. CarlV
    Mar 26, 2007
    2
    This album is really good, but an elitist attitude towards certain types of music will blind you from realizing that.
  15. mattw
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    terrible
  16. Gregg
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    You know, Joel and Benji aren't from the streets like they sing about. They grew up in a gated community and are the definition of total phonys.
  17. ZapB
    Mar 30, 2007
    0
    Wretched crap.. good charlotte are the very definition of posers..
  18. jonnyb
    Apr 17, 2007
    0
    good Charlotte is baCk and they are shitter than ever.if you take pride and like listening to shit musiC then give the Cd a go otherwise stay a far away from not the lead singer girl but this so Called trash that is Classed as musiC
  19. CS
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    Good Charlotte et al are the very reason why middle aged people pass off modern music as crap. Why don't we give away all this radio space (which is only good for making cars crash) to decent bands like The Arcade Fire and Sigur Ros, and then people will realise that modern music is not all s***. Metacritic, I hope you'll have minus numbers ready if these wemos release another album...
  20. knomi
    Apr 24, 2007
    3
    and here i thought they would finally throw in the towel after the abysmal, self-important chronicles of life and death. let's just say they aren't reinventing THAT wheel here, and it shows. good morning revival is an ironic name, as it's hardly a revival. if anything, it's one of the most irrelevant releases of the year by an increasingly irrelevant, shamelessly and here i thought they would finally throw in the towel after the abysmal, self-important chronicles of life and death. let's just say they aren't reinventing THAT wheel here, and it shows. good morning revival is an ironic name, as it's hardly a revival. if anything, it's one of the most irrelevant releases of the year by an increasingly irrelevant, shamelessly talentless group of "musicians." an example of the lyrical genius at work: Take a look at my life: All Black. Take a look at my clothes: All Black. Like Johnny Cash: All Black. Like The Rolling Stones want to paint it black. if you're the sort who finds a callow proclamation of self-important "despair" to be poetic, you should read the lorax or the butter battle book. Expand
  21. KrisS
    Apr 5, 2007
    0
    Of all wells of influence to draw from, Coldplay!? Even they, themselves, can't do it well. What makes GC think they can? I thought Keane were a little derivative, but redigested turds like "Beautiful Place" (direct rip off of Speed of Sound) and "Where Would We Be Now" (direct rip off of Clocks, which the former is also a rip off of) prove that Good Charlotte have set a new low Of all wells of influence to draw from, Coldplay!? Even they, themselves, can't do it well. What makes GC think they can? I thought Keane were a little derivative, but redigested turds like "Beautiful Place" (direct rip off of Speed of Sound) and "Where Would We Be Now" (direct rip off of Clocks, which the former is also a rip off of) prove that Good Charlotte have set a new low standard that they've most certainly failed to meet. Expand
  22. TheCritic
    Apr 8, 2007
    0
    Wow these guys are gay
  23. PatR
    Jun 12, 2007
    0
    As a person who loves to listen to punk rock old and new.... i have no idea how any one could possibly classify these wannabes as punk rockers.. its so stupid because they are clearly pop rock crap
  24. Beelay
    Mar 31, 2008
    0
    If Johnny Cash were alive, he's kick the shit out of those Madden tools. The only thing more pathetic than this band is their fans. Talk about a bunch of empty-headed, superficial, vapid peons.
  25. [Anonymous]
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Will likely be in the running with the new Used album for worst album of the year. The lyrics are ATROCIOUS.
  26. touchemall
    Mar 26, 2007
    2
    gross
  27. KLN
    Mar 27, 2007
    1
    I have heard only one song from this album and that sucked so i'm pretty sure the rest will as well.
  28. nathans
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    haha, what did you expect? good charlotte has always sucked
  29. JoeP
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    I've had bowel movements more creative than this garbage.
  30. theTHING
    Mar 28, 2007
    0
    Vile; venal; venereal. Sublime in its suck-age.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Alternative Press
    40
    Good Charlotte have become caricatures of themselves. [Apr 2007, p.175]
  2. Their multiple piercings, shaved heads, and abundant tattoos have them labeled a punk band, but on [Revival], Good Charlotte... fall much more under the umbrella of 1970s arena rock and mainstream ballads.
  3. 60
    13 tracks of Disney-channel-ready pop, buffed and Pro-Tooled almost beyond recognition--and it's not half bad. [Apr 2007, p.111]