Good Morning Revival

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2007
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 122
  2. Negative: 44 out of 122

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    3
    For all the good albums released in 2007, there were two dissappointments, Linkin Park's Minutes To Midnight and this. The lyrics are poorly-written and the sound feels more like pop than pop punk. If you like it, that's fine.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    3
    Good Charlotte have once again become a rock band cliché by including electronic influences into their music like Radiohead and U2 before them. The only difference here is that the songs are dull with lyrics about fame and how shallow the band members lives are. Even with a cameo from Avenged Sevenfold (which is wasted) this is an album that can't be saved except by burning it.
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    Yes very fun album and great melody i believe this is one of their best, DFA really great song and the River very great singles . fun energetic great vocals from JOel himself overall a cohesive album and i cant believe also for the reviews this one is even better than Cardiology
  4. JoelW.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    While this isn't the most mature album they've done it is very catchy and does still have some songs that show depth. it is really catchy and i love take your hands off my girl and the river. good job good Charlotte! i look forward to seeing what you do next.
  5. Beelay
    Mar 31, 2008
    0
    If Johnny Cash were alive, he's kick the shit out of those Madden tools. The only thing more pathetic than this band is their fans. Talk about a bunch of empty-headed, superficial, vapid peons.
  6. KyleA.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    A brilliant, brilliant album. Never liked the band before but this is, I can't get enough of!
  7. Annaanne
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I like it.....a lot!!!At keast the most part of it....
  8. DAnA
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    Listened to the whole album again and again cant get enough of it, once again most of the bad reviews are because its different just give it a chance and it bloody grows on ya. Best song deff victims of love.
  9. MattS.
    Jun 25, 2007
    2
    Makes a decent drink coaster.
  10. BenjiM.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    GC are the best their songs are so meaningful, listen to beautiful place,misery,march on. These songs are incredible. What's wrong with u ppl? OK, all black sucks ass and keep your hands off my girl but they are so amazing and the messages in their music are awesome. They're just kids from Maryland living the dream...let them u selfish cunts(sorry distasteful but just making my GC are the best their songs are so meaningful, listen to beautiful place,misery,march on. These songs are incredible. What's wrong with u ppl? OK, all black sucks ass and keep your hands off my girl but they are so amazing and the messages in their music are awesome. They're just kids from Maryland living the dream...let them u selfish cunts(sorry distasteful but just making my point) GC 4 LIfe. OK im done. Expand
  11. jessical.
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Best album and if you have nothing good to say about them then dont say anything.
  12. kylef
    Jun 19, 2007
    7
    i thought they wud hav done betta with this album, but hey im not complainin it's worth listenin to (especccially "the river")
  13. AlexRoberts
    Jun 14, 2007
    0
    This is immaturity at its worst. Bands growing up is not the issue with this group... Thrice has grown tremendously, Linkin Park, 311... all bands that have changed and grown with good results. This band is for rebellious children who think that they know everything. Musically, these people barely know how to play their instruments.
  14. PatR
    Jun 12, 2007
    0
    As a person who loves to listen to punk rock old and new.... i have no idea how any one could possibly classify these wannabes as punk rockers.. its so stupid because they are clearly pop rock crap
  15. HHamster
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    Harshly Critiscised. 8 Crackers 5 Turkeys sums it up well.
  16. fredrice
    Jun 7, 2007
    7
    They rock!!! Although this album is kinda forgetable.. I love the river a lot though
  17. JuliaAstarina
    Jun 3, 2007
    0
    I liked them on the self titled debut and The Young & The Hopeless (at least that album wasn't hopeless :),even I became a fan. And come The Chronicles...it washed a bit of their fascination to me. Now here's Good Morning Revival and there I had it, I erased GC from my favorite bands list.Their music might be not that bad,but I can't stand the lyrics,their approachment I liked them on the self titled debut and The Young & The Hopeless (at least that album wasn't hopeless :),even I became a fan. And come The Chronicles...it washed a bit of their fascination to me. Now here's Good Morning Revival and there I had it, I erased GC from my favorite bands list.Their music might be not that bad,but I can't stand the lyrics,their approachment seems never get too far from the memories of highschool stories or wrenched hearts at the Hollywood limelights. No thumbs up for this album. Expand
  18. Dan
    May 31, 2007
    9
    i love this album!!! it got me back into good charlotte actually. certainly sounds different to what we're used to, but it's for the better. and to that last person who commented, just because you think good charlotte is shit doesn't at all make it shit. there are many people out there who might consider shit what you consider to be good music. anyway, my main point is, i i love this album!!! it got me back into good charlotte actually. certainly sounds different to what we're used to, but it's for the better. and to that last person who commented, just because you think good charlotte is shit doesn't at all make it shit. there are many people out there who might consider shit what you consider to be good music. anyway, my main point is, i reckon this is an awesome album! hats off to gc! Expand
  19. Mike
    May 28, 2007
    5
    It isn't a terrible album to say the least. There are some very catchy lines and riffs that can bob a few heads, but in all seriousness, this album, in its entirety, cannot last more than a few days to the most professed GC fan. You'll find as you replay the album that one song after the other starts developing a repetition that burns out the "music" sooner than you think. The It isn't a terrible album to say the least. There are some very catchy lines and riffs that can bob a few heads, but in all seriousness, this album, in its entirety, cannot last more than a few days to the most professed GC fan. You'll find as you replay the album that one song after the other starts developing a repetition that burns out the "music" sooner than you think. The only thing that I wonder about now is why actual talented artists like Avenged Sevenfold decided to chip in. Expand
  20. hok
    May 11, 2007
    10
    great album!!!
  21. Rosezanna=]Bacchus
    May 6, 2007
    8
    i havnt listened to the whole new album yet, but yes i have listened to there old stuff also. and just because they have decided for a new style of music, doesnt mean that they are "crap" or "sellouts" or "suck because they aren't 'punk' anymore" first of all, good charlotte are pop rock, NOT punk, 2ndly, dont be so narrowminded :@ fair enough people hate their new sounds, i havnt listened to the whole new album yet, but yes i have listened to there old stuff also. and just because they have decided for a new style of music, doesnt mean that they are "crap" or "sellouts" or "suck because they aren't 'punk' anymore" first of all, good charlotte are pop rock, NOT punk, 2ndly, dont be so narrowminded :@ fair enough people hate their new sounds, and i aint gonna rant on about how amazing the new album is-everyone has their own views, but thats just the most stupidest reason to hate them now ¬_¬ grow up, realise that bands change their music eventually, and if you wish to slap me in the face with a comment back-go ahead. I'm not aiming at anyone, just in general really. =] and yeah, i happen to like the new gc album alot. ^_^ Expand
  22. Donnieb
    May 5, 2007
    0
    They make looking fake seem soooooo so easy!
  23. SarahA
    Apr 30, 2007
    6
    Earlyier good charlotte was better
  24. knomi
    Apr 24, 2007
    3
    and here i thought they would finally throw in the towel after the abysmal, self-important chronicles of life and death. let's just say they aren't reinventing THAT wheel here, and it shows. good morning revival is an ironic name, as it's hardly a revival. if anything, it's one of the most irrelevant releases of the year by an increasingly irrelevant, shamelessly and here i thought they would finally throw in the towel after the abysmal, self-important chronicles of life and death. let's just say they aren't reinventing THAT wheel here, and it shows. good morning revival is an ironic name, as it's hardly a revival. if anything, it's one of the most irrelevant releases of the year by an increasingly irrelevant, shamelessly talentless group of "musicians." an example of the lyrical genius at work: Take a look at my life: All Black. Take a look at my clothes: All Black. Like Johnny Cash: All Black. Like The Rolling Stones want to paint it black. if you're the sort who finds a callow proclamation of self-important "despair" to be poetic, you should read the lorax or the butter battle book. Expand
  25. CS
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    Good Charlotte et al are the very reason why middle aged people pass off modern music as crap. Why don't we give away all this radio space (which is only good for making cars crash) to decent bands like The Arcade Fire and Sigur Ros, and then people will realise that modern music is not all s***. Metacritic, I hope you'll have minus numbers ready if these wemos release another album...
  26. jonnyb
    Apr 17, 2007
    0
    good Charlotte is baCk and they are shitter than ever.if you take pride and like listening to shit musiC then give the Cd a go otherwise stay a far away from not the lead singer girl but this so Called trash that is Classed as musiC
  27. LaurenC
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    wtf are you people talking about gc is the greatest band ever!
  28. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    2
    Oh...gosh, what do i say. This album is really quite...bad. Only good songs for me are Keep Your Hands Off and The River. 2 stars for 2 songs
  29. MattD.
    Apr 11, 2007
    4
    Unlike with My Chemical Romance, there's absolutely nothing here to set them apart. Even the choruses aren't punchy enough. Very dull.
  30. TheCritic
    Apr 8, 2007
    0
    Wow these guys are gay
  31. KathyM
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    wtf!? so many GC haters!
  32. JohnS
    Apr 6, 2007
    5
    I really dont think its as horrible as every1s saying...is this one of my favorite albums? no...are there awe inspiring lyrics? no...but there are a few good songs i dont mind listening to....
  33. KrisS
    Apr 5, 2007
    0
    Of all wells of influence to draw from, Coldplay!? Even they, themselves, can't do it well. What makes GC think they can? I thought Keane were a little derivative, but redigested turds like "Beautiful Place" (direct rip off of Speed of Sound) and "Where Would We Be Now" (direct rip off of Clocks, which the former is also a rip off of) prove that Good Charlotte have set a new low Of all wells of influence to draw from, Coldplay!? Even they, themselves, can't do it well. What makes GC think they can? I thought Keane were a little derivative, but redigested turds like "Beautiful Place" (direct rip off of Speed of Sound) and "Where Would We Be Now" (direct rip off of Clocks, which the former is also a rip off of) prove that Good Charlotte have set a new low standard that they've most certainly failed to meet. Expand
  34. tenzingw
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    heard two songs so far and they rocked....cant wait to buy the album
  35. MichaelEssex
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    Go buy a screwdriver for your ears, its cheaper and a lot less painful.
  36. ZapB
    Mar 30, 2007
    0
    Wretched crap.. good charlotte are the very definition of posers..
  37. Quaid
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    This album is amazing and fun to listen to. The songs are very catchy and I'm shocked the reviews have not been better. But that's okay, because it just shows us that reviews are stupid.
  38. RQuin
    Mar 29, 2007
    7
    I don't understand why people are bashing this album so much. It's not their best but there's still a few really decent tunes on this album. It seems like so many people can't accept change. If they recreated their second album people would still be complaining.
  39. throrntond
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    I actually liked it
  40. sarahb
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    I just wanna live!!!
  41. LL
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    I cant believe they get better every time!!!
  42. harveyQ
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    B-E-A-utiful!
  43. ss
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    love!
  44. jerreta
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    soooooo good!
  45. MelsW
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    I cant believe you people!!! Your so closed minded! ...your so blind to greatness, it makes me sick!
  46. Courneyt
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    I'm in love!!! Could they be any better!?
  47. bobb
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    sweetness!
  48. andreah
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing album, my little babies are growing up!!!
  49. TP
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    A Disgusting pile of rubbish, i pity my poor ears.
  50. RobertT
    Mar 28, 2007
    8
    Up until now I tended to trust the opinions of individuals - sometimes more so than those of the "Professional Critics" - up until now. I've never been a GC fan - my 20 year old son is though. So I thought I'd give this new CD a listen and have found it to be very listenable and enjoyable. There is a nice variety and mix of styles on this album to make it a repeat listen. I Up until now I tended to trust the opinions of individuals - sometimes more so than those of the "Professional Critics" - up until now. I've never been a GC fan - my 20 year old son is though. So I thought I'd give this new CD a listen and have found it to be very listenable and enjoyable. There is a nice variety and mix of styles on this album to make it a repeat listen. I don't understand the 0, 1 and 2 ratings other than to say - just read what they say...which isn't much....and figure that these adolescents got together to rag on this band for some juvenile reason. Expand
  51. theTHING
    Mar 28, 2007
    0
    Vile; venal; venereal. Sublime in its suck-age.
  52. ScottR
    Mar 28, 2007
    0
    I am not a Good Charlotte fan. What self-respecting music lover is? But luckily for them, I watched Happy Feet before reviewing their album. It's not good, this new s*** storm they have delivered into the hands of the unsuspecting public. It's still the same old soullessly commercialized version of pop-punk, a style of music notorious for being soullessly commercialized. But I am not a Good Charlotte fan. What self-respecting music lover is? But luckily for them, I watched Happy Feet before reviewing their album. It's not good, this new s*** storm they have delivered into the hands of the unsuspecting public. It's still the same old soullessly commercialized version of pop-punk, a style of music notorious for being soullessly commercialized. But Good Charlotte just don't have the hooks and chops to make it fun. They take themselves too seriously as musicians, which is why I laughed through most of the album. When I couldn't understand lyrics, I made up my own, "Blap Lubbel Blubble The City!!!!" were the lyrics of one song. And when I could understand the lyrics they were bland little tidbits like, "I heard evil comes disguised as a city of angels," or "We live in a beautiful place, let love take away all this pain." And then more reasons started to surface for hating this album. The god-awful "Keep Your Hands Off My Girl" made me want to tear my eyes out and wear them as earplugs. But it got worse. They became more unoriginal than I ever imagined possible, as they blatantly rip-off Coldplay on "Where Would We Be Now." Then they top themselves by ripping off U2's sound and just changing a few lyrics to the Coldplay song they'd already ripped off and calling it "Beautiful Place." They can't even be original with their unoriginality. This album is nothing short of torture. I had to listen to Bjork just to forget about it. And this is me being easy on them. Good Charlotte and Good Charlotte fans, thank those f**king penguins. This could have gotten bloody. -SR Grade: F Expand
  53. mattw
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    terrible
  54. JoeP
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    I've had bowel movements more creative than this garbage.
  55. nathans
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    haha, what did you expect? good charlotte has always sucked
  56. KLN
    Mar 27, 2007
    1
    I have heard only one song from this album and that sucked so i'm pretty sure the rest will as well.
  57. JK
    Mar 27, 2007
    1
    So bad you'd think it was Panic at the Disco...
  58. Gregg
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    You know, Joel and Benji aren't from the streets like they sing about. They grew up in a gated community and are the definition of total phonys.
  59. CarlV
    Mar 26, 2007
    2
    This album is really good, but an elitist attitude towards certain types of music will blind you from realizing that.
  60. JonathanD
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Just go by a screwdriver for your ears, its cheaper and a lot less painful.
  61. RalphP
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Stay away from this. They were crap then and they are crap now. No talent just bad music and awful lyrics.
  62. Devin
    Mar 26, 2007
    1
    Horrifyingly soulless, contrived, and talent-free. Do people older than age 14 honestly still listen to this trash?
  63. SamL
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    One of the best albums of the year//// for me to poop on.
  64. touchemall
    Mar 26, 2007
    2
    gross
  65. [Anonymous]
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Will likely be in the running with the new Used album for worst album of the year. The lyrics are ATROCIOUS.
  66. qdaj
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    you may look around but ull never find better than this one !!!!!
  67. AdemaRulez
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    a shit
  68. claudias
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    i really love this album :D
  69. MattS
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    This album is a welcome maturation of Good Charlotte. Good bouncy fun music. That's what Good Charlotte is all about. Much different from their past releases but one of the best albums so far of 2007
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Alternative Press
    40
    Good Charlotte have become caricatures of themselves. [Apr 2007, p.175]
  2. Their multiple piercings, shaved heads, and abundant tattoos have them labeled a punk band, but on [Revival], Good Charlotte... fall much more under the umbrella of 1970s arena rock and mainstream ballads.
  3. 60
    13 tracks of Disney-channel-ready pop, buffed and Pro-Tooled almost beyond recognition--and it's not half bad. [Apr 2007, p.111]