Good Mourning

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: May 13, 2003
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveA
    Jun 23, 2003
    8
    While quite good, it could of been better. Definitely worth buying, and listenting to over and over. Still doesn't compare to their self-titled album though
  2. Becca
    Jun 30, 2003
    8
    i'd give it top marks... but andriano's songs don't do much for me - skiba's rock though, and it was worth buying the album just for those! highlights include 'this could be love' and 'blue in the face'. v.good.
  3. Candace
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    Alkaline Trio is the sweetest Band ever! If you don't like them you should. This CD is awesome and so is everything else they do! I love them!!
  4. Lucas
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    fucking awesome
  5. Nadine
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    This Cd is great..But Yet I don't understand why everyone singles out matt for the band. Yes, Matt is a great guitarist and vocalist but so Is Dan. Lets not forget that alkaline trio is a TRIO band. So I can't say Matt is better than Dan or Dan is better than Matt. because there both great artist. Alkaline TRIO is a awesome Band.
  6. KaraS
    Apr 24, 2004
    9
    Not the best album of theirs, but it's great. If you want a great CD, get Maybe I'll Catch Fire
  7. chada
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    alkaline trio still remain the best. i very different sound than the rest of their cd's but the tracks are dark, but incredible
  8. JasonL
    Jul 30, 2003
    9
    Skiba has not been given due credit, nor has Adriano. Derek is so good its hard to tell how good he is.
  9. Alexis
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    rocks
  10. chipa
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    This is my first alkaline trio CD and i must say it kick serious ass
  11. MrMonkeyJizz
    Mar 1, 2004
    9
    While not as good as some of there previous albums, Good Mourning still is a very good CD. We've Had Enough is pure punk, and This Could Be Love is something you just cant forget.
  12. Brady
    Sep 11, 2004
    9
    Awesome!! Not my favorite album of theirs, but one of their best, everyone should listen to Every Thug Needs a lady, All on Black, and Blue in the Face, fantastic songs!
  13. DREWD
    May 13, 2005
    10
    alkaline with remain the best accept for green day of course
  14. jessicaf
    May 26, 2005
    10
    i love alkaline trio. icant wait to get crimson.fuckin awsum
  15. Stephanie
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    My introduction to the Alkaline Trio was this album. I can't say that the songs are my favorites (well, "Blue in the Face" is my favorite song of all time), but this album is perfect. Perfect. And you can't argue with that.
  16. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    Gloom-punk made ctachy better than anyone else.
  17. alkalinetriorocksass
    May 26, 2003
    10
    alkaline trio rocks ass!
  18. JackC
    May 31, 2003
    10
    Very Good.
  19. JuliaM
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    This album rocks, keep up the good work alk.
  20. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    Probably a much better album for their fans than the commercialised music later produced. Classic songs that can never be taken to seriously. Great listening music, much like the 2 albums before
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Spin
    91
    Their best by a mile. [Jun 2003, p.100]
  2. Mojo
    80
    For a genre whose young bands are increasingly concerned with girls and girls only, the Alkaline Trio have delivered an album offering far more than the pink blush of awkward adolescence. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  3. Q Magazine
    60
    Alkaline Trio subvert their perky, zinging three chord mall-punk with misanthropy, melancholy and alcohol-sodden, world-weary wisdom. [Jun 2003, p.92]