Good Mourning

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: May 13, 2003
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    Probably a much better album for their fans than the commercialised music later produced. Classic songs that can never be taken to seriously. Great listening music, much like the 2 albums before
  2. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    Gloom-punk made ctachy better than anyone else.
  3. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    2
    Shockingly bad, but then again, the Alkaline Trio were never an especially good band to begin with.
  4. Stephanie
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    My introduction to the Alkaline Trio was this album. I can't say that the songs are my favorites (well, "Blue in the Face" is my favorite song of all time), but this album is perfect. Perfect. And you can't argue with that.
  5. jessicaf
    May 26, 2005
    10
    i love alkaline trio. icant wait to get crimson.fuckin awsum
  6. DREWD
    May 13, 2005
    10
    alkaline with remain the best accept for green day of course
  7. Lucas
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    fucking awesome
  8. Alexis
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    rocks
  9. Brady
    Sep 11, 2004
    9
    Awesome!! Not my favorite album of theirs, but one of their best, everyone should listen to Every Thug Needs a lady, All on Black, and Blue in the Face, fantastic songs!
  10. chada
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    alkaline trio still remain the best. i very different sound than the rest of their cd's but the tracks are dark, but incredible
  11. JuliaM
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    This album rocks, keep up the good work alk.
  12. KaraS
    Apr 24, 2004
    9
    Not the best album of theirs, but it's great. If you want a great CD, get Maybe I'll Catch Fire
  13. MrMonkeyJizz
    Mar 1, 2004
    9
    While not as good as some of there previous albums, Good Mourning still is a very good CD. We've Had Enough is pure punk, and This Could Be Love is something you just cant forget.
  14. Nadine
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    This Cd is great..But Yet I don't understand why everyone singles out matt for the band. Yes, Matt is a great guitarist and vocalist but so Is Dan. Lets not forget that alkaline trio is a TRIO band. So I can't say Matt is better than Dan or Dan is better than Matt. because there both great artist. Alkaline TRIO is a awesome Band.
  15. chipa
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    This is my first alkaline trio CD and i must say it kick serious ass
  16. MS
    Jan 3, 2004
    6
    I still cannot understand why Dan Andriano sings. Matt Skiba does a much better job in my opinion but this album has maybe five or six stand out songs while the rest of the cd is just mediocre.
  17. Candace
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    Alkaline Trio is the sweetest Band ever! If you don't like them you should. This CD is awesome and so is everything else they do! I love them!!
  18. JasonL
    Jul 30, 2003
    9
    Skiba has not been given due credit, nor has Adriano. Derek is so good its hard to tell how good he is.
  19. Becca
    Jun 30, 2003
    8
    i'd give it top marks... but andriano's songs don't do much for me - skiba's rock though, and it was worth buying the album just for those! highlights include 'this could be love' and 'blue in the face'. v.good.
  20. DaveA
    Jun 23, 2003
    8
    While quite good, it could of been better. Definitely worth buying, and listenting to over and over. Still doesn't compare to their self-titled album though
  21. Sarah
    Jun 2, 2003
    2
    This album is perfectly polished pop crap. If you want to hear a good Alkaline Trio Album go out and buy Goddammit. I am extremely dissapointed in this record.
  22. JackC
    May 31, 2003
    10
    Very Good.
  23. alkalinetriorocksass
    May 26, 2003
    10
    alkaline trio rocks ass!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Spin
    91
    Their best by a mile. [Jun 2003, p.100]
  2. Mojo
    80
    For a genre whose young bands are increasingly concerned with girls and girls only, the Alkaline Trio have delivered an album offering far more than the pink blush of awkward adolescence. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  3. Q Magazine
    60
    Alkaline Trio subvert their perky, zinging three chord mall-punk with misanthropy, melancholy and alcohol-sodden, world-weary wisdom. [Jun 2003, p.92]