• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 8, 2011
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 127
  2. Negative: 12 out of 127

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    3
    Pop punk princess Lavigne has enchanting vocal chords and breathtaking talent, but throughout Goodbye Lullaby, there's a notorious struggle. The most simple critique is that all of her tracks sound the same. None of them "spark". But the greater problem is how real the tracks are. Lavigne constantly bragged about how "acoustic" Goodbye Lullaby was going to be. However, her lead single,Pop punk princess Lavigne has enchanting vocal chords and breathtaking talent, but throughout Goodbye Lullaby, there's a notorious struggle. The most simple critique is that all of her tracks sound the same. None of them "spark". But the greater problem is how real the tracks are. Lavigne constantly bragged about how "acoustic" Goodbye Lullaby was going to be. However, her lead single, "What The Hell", is nearly a complete clone of her lead single from her predecessor, The Best Damn Thing. The lyrics are merely shuffled and have no connection with the rest of Goodbye Lullaby. The finale track, "Goodbye", is the the only highlight, featuring Lavigne's angelic vocals accompanied by Evanescence-style piano and strings. But it's a mere sparkle, and cannot shine any light on this rainy parade.

    I'll always respect Lavigne as an artist, and I hope that she'll eventually find her "true self". But Goodbye Lullaby is conflicted between sounding mainstream and alternative. I'd prefer Lavigne to find her old roots, and possibly express them in a newer way. But Goodbye Lullaby is the "same ol', same ol'".
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    Avril has always had a tough way of putting her words. Some of her songs just being fun, head-banging rock songs, while others expressed personal relationships with people and how she felt about their opinions. Her punkish style continues in "Goodbye Lullaby", but after two years of quiet I expected Avril to come out with a more mature rock style--after hearing "What the Hell" it isAvril has always had a tough way of putting her words. Some of her songs just being fun, head-banging rock songs, while others expressed personal relationships with people and how she felt about their opinions. Her punkish style continues in "Goodbye Lullaby", but after two years of quiet I expected Avril to come out with a more mature rock style--after hearing "What the Hell" it is obvious she is still a child. But that is not why her newest album has not been as enjoyable. I was saddened that her music was just like many other recent top hits--"What the Hell"reflects Ke$ha's party-tude, which is fun--but already done. I, personally, respected Avril for her original piano and beats. Has she lost her composing skills? I can just imagine the top-hit lyric and music writers advising her about what other past songs used to get high scores in music ratings. "Bad Reputation" has the same electric guitar-based alternative rock as the popular Ramones. Avril has gone from life and music-loving punk teen to every other fame-seeking celebrity. Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Can't express how bad it is. It is as awful as watching a person falling from a building screaming WHAT THE HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELL. What the hell indeed.
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    4
    POSITIVE - She has matured some what, her songwriting has definatly taken a more serious path. Although 'What The Hell' still has that bubblegum rock feel, which may sound odd, but it's worked for her until now. NEGATIVE - Basically i found the entire album boring. It's such a shame really, although you can see how much work she has put in the output fails to deliver. Nothing stands out,POSITIVE - She has matured some what, her songwriting has definatly taken a more serious path. Although 'What The Hell' still has that bubblegum rock feel, which may sound odd, but it's worked for her until now. NEGATIVE - Basically i found the entire album boring. It's such a shame really, although you can see how much work she has put in the output fails to deliver. Nothing stands out, other than 'What The Hell' which compared to the rest of the album feels some what out of place. To be quite honest i'm not going to sit here telling you why i think it's bad, because this review is more of a personal opinion, i can see why some people may have praised it, but sadly, it just didn't work for me.
    OVERALL - A lacking album with no umff, not bad, not good...just, well, a record.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2011
    4
    Lavigne's biggest flaw in Goodbye Lullaby is her refusal to mature herself or her music. From its lack of cohesion - primarily due to Lavigne's indecision to make it a poppy record or an acoustic rock record - to its witless, filthy mouthed lyrics. The only redeeming quality in Goodbye Lullaby is Lavigne's doubtless vocals.
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    0
    I'll always respect Lavigne as an artist, and I hope that she'll eventually find her "true self". But Goodbye Lullaby is conflicted between sounding mainstream and alternative. I'd prefer Lavigne to find her old roots, and possibly express them in a newer way. But Goodbye Lullaby is the "same ol', same ol'".
  7. Apr 3, 2015
    3
    lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo lixo
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    50
    If you wanna know how NOT to do it, listen to the last five tracks on Goodbye Lullaby. Avril wrote them all herself, and let's just say she's an artist who benefits from collaboration.
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    40
    Faced with competing for "pop" ambitions this "rock" wannabe never really had, she instead strides toward brunette-dom on the new, stalwartly unfun Goodbye Lullaby, which--if you couldn't tell from the piano on the cover-means Vanessa Carlton and Michelle Branch. This is the death of Auto-Tune, moment of silence. Except, you know, for the single.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    60
    An effective, but ultimately generic, pop album.