Goodbye Lullaby

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Goodbye Lullaby Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A divorce and two-year break left Lavigne with plenty to ponder, and her newest album is one of her most personal and introspective albums to date.
Buy On

Top Track

What the Hell
You say that I'm messing with your head Yeah yeah yeah yeah All cause I was making out with your friend Yeah yeah yeah yeah Love hurts whether it's... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    70
    Goodbye Lullaby seems as much about the singer-songwriter's self-examination - she co-wrote all the tracks and is the sole author on many - as about any outward relationships.
  2. 70
    It's the pop-factory material, not Ms. Lavigne's own presumably more personal songs, that offers details, humor and a sense of letting go. Her grown-up seriousness could use a little more of them.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    69
    Consider it easing into the topic at hand, which turns out to be the songstress' most intimate and soul-baring set to date.
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    60
    Lavigne once again seems to be grappling with emotions just beyond her reach, never articulating her angst or crafting a melancholy melody, making Goodbye Lullaby feel affected, not genuine.
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    60
    Whether Goodbye Lullaby was all a tad over thought, or whether she's just holding back, the finished product falls significantly short of Avril Lavigne's own capabilities.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    50
    If you wanna know how NOT to do it, listen to the last five tracks on Goodbye Lullaby. Avril wrote them all herself, and let's just say she's an artist who benefits from collaboration.
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    40
    Faced with competing for "pop" ambitions this "rock" wannabe never really had, she instead strides toward brunette-dom on the new, stalwartly unfun Goodbye Lullaby, which--if you couldn't tell from the piano on the cover-means Vanessa Carlton and Michelle Branch. This is the death of Auto-Tune, moment of silence. Except, you know, for the single.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 46
  2. Negative: 4 out of 46
  1. Jan 10, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Goodbye Lullaby é um álbum simples, emotivo e que expressa todos os sentimentos de Avril Lavigne, nos mostrando uma ótima musicalidade. Aqui, Avril até produz algumas músicas e as compõe sozinha. As músicas são maravilhosas e o álbum em si também é maravilhoso.

    Pontos Altos: Everybody Hurts, Alice, Push
    Pontos Baixos: Goodbye, Stop Standing There
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Great album! After being quite for some time, Avril comes back with Goodbye Lullaby. It's not that big a departure from her previous albumsGreat album! After being quite for some time, Avril comes back with Goodbye Lullaby. It's not that big a departure from her previous albums and style, which is a good thing. Some would expect her to grow up, but they fail to realize one important key aspect of Ms. Lavigne: she's always being herself. She doesn't release music just to appease the current trends, just pours her emotions into what she makes. Most of the album are about her personal relationships (most probably her recent divorce) and the anger, frustration, and disappointment that comes after a failed relationship. She speaks to a lot of us, but most of all, to herself. Songs like "What The Hell" resemble her "The Best Damn Thing". It's catchy and fun. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Good Album, but a little too dull in the middle, anyway it's still a gd album and she finally put her own feelings in the album, well done,Good Album, but a little too dull in the middle, anyway it's still a gd album and she finally put her own feelings in the album, well done, Avril!! Keep Going, this is ur best album!!~ Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    This is by far Avril's most underrated album. Being the completely opposite of her previous effort, this album made me (and a lot of otherThis is by far Avril's most underrated album. Being the completely opposite of her previous effort, this album made me (and a lot of other people) fan again after a disappointing previous album/era. While you won't see her "trademark" aggressive sound, it's a very personal, meaningful album where she opened her heart after struggling in her personal life with a divorce. She also, for the first time, writes (even produces!) songs by herself, and some of them like Darlin' or Remember When are some of the best ones of her career. I don't give it a 10 because those shoehorned "hit songs" by Max Martin don't really belong, especially the first two singles What The Hell and Smile (the worst songs), which could've been included in her previous album, easily. Too bad that most of general public couldn't enjoy this great album, because its singles didn't represent what it really was and they probably they didn't even bother to listen to the rest of it.

    This album would've been a good transition from Under My Skin without alienating most of her original fan base with The Best Damn Thing. Goodbye Lullaby approaches relationship in a more mature, less angry way than previous albums were, and it shows how good she can be when she doesn't use gimmicks and uses more talent and meaningfulness.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This album has some slow parts but most of it is very beautifully done and the closing track, Goodbye, in particular is beautiful. You canThis album has some slow parts but most of it is very beautifully done and the closing track, Goodbye, in particular is beautiful. You can tell that Lavigne put more effort into that one track than any other track if not all her tracks combined. If at the very least you don't like Goodbye, one thing you have to appreciate is the effort that was put into it because the effort was extraordinary and in my opinion pays off. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    6
    An okay album. Eeeeh, when Avril said before this album was released that this time it's going to be deep in contrast with TBDT (which IAn okay album. Eeeeh, when Avril said before this album was released that this time it's going to be deep in contrast with TBDT (which I think, is a really terrible album), I thought she was going back to her Under My Skin days... only a lot more pop. But no. I don't think that this album came out the way she wanted it to. I have to say that the album showed only little genuine emotions and sincerity no matter how "deep" it sounds. I dunno. Also the progression of the songs in the other half of the album was for me, bad. It became too dull in contrast with its fresh start. However, some songs stood out in the dullness ("Wish You Were Here", "What The Hell", "Smile"). This album's good, well, at least it is better than her fifth album though and of course, her third.. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2014
    0
    I'll always respect Lavigne as an artist, and I hope that she'll eventually find her "true self". But Goodbye Lullaby is conflicted betweenI'll always respect Lavigne as an artist, and I hope that she'll eventually find her "true self". But Goodbye Lullaby is conflicted between sounding mainstream and alternative. I'd prefer Lavigne to find her old roots, and possibly express them in a newer way. But Goodbye Lullaby is the "same ol', same ol'". Expand

See all 46 User Reviews