Gossamer - Passion Pit
Gossamer Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sophomore release from the electro-pop band led by Michael Angelakos was again produced with Chris Zane.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    91
    Despite the emphasis on struggle, Gossamer couldn't sound more assured.
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    84
    Passion Pit is only getting better.
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    Luckily they are one of the few bands with stadium heft and the tunes to pull it off, rendering their big-heartedness euphorically justified. [Aug 2012, p.78]
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    The music shines brighter than most of his pop contemporaries. In fact, the album is so successful on this level that I could choose any given song and laud it as one of the best tracks on the album.
  5. 75
    If you can get behind all the cheery falsetto and high-on-life lyrics, their shiny, Flaming Lips-y thing works. [3 Aug 2012, p.74]
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    While this second album seems genuine, and at times very good, it just doesn't excite and satisfy in quite the same way as the spontaneous creativity of the debut. 'Gossamer' is one giant juxtaposition that can't quite sit comfortably.
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    30
    This wet blanket is a sheer bore. [No.89, p.57]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Passion Pit's best! This album really rocks! This gotta have to be in the best albums of 2012! Alonh with Lana del rey's Born to Die and Kimbra's Vows! Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I love the whole album. It is very good. I can't believe it was not up there with a Grammy nomination. This is pretty much my pick for #1 album of last year. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Superbe album de Passion Pit ! ideal pour partir en vacances c'est frais et joyeux!
    Je le trouve encore meilleur que manners.Un de mes albums
    preferé de l'année!!! Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Sometimes things aren
  5. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    To be honest, I thought the previous Passion Pit album was a little bit forgettable. After the brilliant Manners, Chunk of Change felt like a good effort but not a stand alone for me. Gossamer, on the other hand is their best attempt. Their second track I'll be Alright is one of the best tracks of the summer, the sound is so fresh, and I like the lyrics a lot too. Other great songs such as Cry Like a Ghost, On My Way are great alternatives for a great indie-mix. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    Passion Pit showcases their musical capabilities with excellent electronically alternative tunes. Some of the songs seem to make no sense due to the lead singer's rather obscure voice, however he doesn't put a damper on the excellence of this album. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2012
    3
    For me, this album is very bad. I know that's a bit harsh, but hey, I was just way disappointed. I didn't like the the music behind the lyrics. What he had to say was very in the now, and I think the lyrics impressed the most about this album, but that is about it. There were too many times I found myself. skipping to the next song and then to the next song. I gave it 3 tries, but in the end it just didn't work for me. Collapse

See all 14 User Reviews