• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Gossamer Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sophomore release from the electro-pop band led by Michael Angelakos was again produced with Chris Zane.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    91
    Despite the emphasis on struggle, Gossamer couldn't sound more assured.
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    84
    Passion Pit is only getting better.
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    Gossamer is still full of incredibly catchy choruses, dozens of layers of funky instrumental tracks, spazzy electronic flourishes and of course Michael Angelakos' sky-scraping falsetto. [Aug 2012, p.88]
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    The music shines brighter than most of his pop contemporaries. In fact, the album is so successful on this level that I could choose any given song and laud it as one of the best tracks on the album.
  5. 75
    If you can get behind all the cheery falsetto and high-on-life lyrics, their shiny, Flaming Lips-y thing works. [3 Aug 2012, p.74]
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    While this second album seems genuine, and at times very good, it just doesn't excite and satisfy in quite the same way as the spontaneous creativity of the debut. 'Gossamer' is one giant juxtaposition that can't quite sit comfortably.
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    30
    This wet blanket is a sheer bore. [No.89, p.57]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Passion Pit's best! This album really rocks! This gotta have to be in the best albums of 2012! Alonh with Lana del rey's Born to Die andPassion Pit's best! This album really rocks! This gotta have to be in the best albums of 2012! Alonh with Lana del rey's Born to Die and Kimbra's Vows! Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I love the whole album. It is very good. I can't believe it was not up there with a Grammy nomination. This is pretty much my pick for #1I love the whole album. It is very good. I can't believe it was not up there with a Grammy nomination. This is pretty much my pick for #1 album of last year. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Superbe album de Passion Pit ! ideal pour partir en vacances c'est frais et joyeux!
    Je le trouve encore meilleur que manners.Un de mes albums
    Superbe album de Passion Pit ! ideal pour partir en vacances c'est frais et joyeux!
    Je le trouve encore meilleur que manners.Un de mes albums preferé de l'année!!!
    Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Sometimes things aren
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    Anyone who expected a re-invention of Passion Pit is kind of stupid. Summer, summer, summer. Oh boy did Passion Pit nail summer with this LP.Anyone who expected a re-invention of Passion Pit is kind of stupid. Summer, summer, summer. Oh boy did Passion Pit nail summer with this LP. It's such a dark, powerful lyrically-driven glamourized and dramatically aesthetically changed to leave you basking in its loving sunlight. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    To be honest, I thought the previous Passion Pit album was a little bit forgettable. After the brilliant Manners, Chunk of Change felt like aTo be honest, I thought the previous Passion Pit album was a little bit forgettable. After the brilliant Manners, Chunk of Change felt like a good effort but not a stand alone for me. Gossamer, on the other hand is their best attempt. Their second track I'll be Alright is one of the best tracks of the summer, the sound is so fresh, and I like the lyrics a lot too. Other great songs such as Cry Like a Ghost, On My Way are great alternatives for a great indie-mix. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2012
    3
    For me, this album is very bad. I know that's a bit harsh, but hey, I was just way disappointed. I didn't like the the music behind theFor me, this album is very bad. I know that's a bit harsh, but hey, I was just way disappointed. I didn't like the the music behind the lyrics. What he had to say was very in the now, and I think the lyrics impressed the most about this album, but that is about it. There were too many times I found myself. skipping to the next song and then to the next song. I gave it 3 tries, but in the end it just didn't work for me. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews